07/26 TASHIE PMPS@ =13.25=290+2=374

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

BJM. I don't believe she's still on the a/b. looks like the last dose was 7/8.
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

OMG! +9.5 = 36 ........ GAVE KARO + 4 syringes of gravy! I am scared! really scared now.
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

OK

Breathe; your stress may stress her.

You know what to do and you can do it. Rinse and repeat.
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

How much karo are you giving? 2 big drops?

Don't panic.. She should be coming up soon anyway. dose decrease tonite!
Wendy
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

Bern! Calm down. Please also rub some karo on her gums....she will absorb it faster. BJM is right...you need to stay calm and not freak her out because you MUST test her in 30 mins.
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

YIKES TASHIE!!

what are you doing to your poor mum? Isn't it just like a cat to offer BLACK "HI"s one day and 15 hours later....hello 40's!!?? so confusing really
:?:
I know you are tired and feel badly for her locked in her jail cell ....but just think of this as healing time. that always makes me feel better

I am worried about your PMPS now!! can't wait to see what the others suggest.....

I am glad marje sent you BOB's SS.......looks just like Tashie today! just can't keep her up........

well, you are busy with serious stuff...so I will just say

WHAT A WELCOME BACK AND CONGRATULATIONS ON THE REDUCTION!!!

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

~Kelly

we may be keeping each other company tonight.......
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

just saw the latest value


SHE WILL RISE. SHE WILL RISE. REMEMBER YOU HAVE HANDLED LOWER BEFORE AND GOT HER UP.......

rub that syrup.......

you know the other alternative right

rub the back end too

I can't give advice....but just thought I would offer

also remember your famous line: ON AN ALPHA TRAK SHE IS REALLY ONLY...........
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

Okay, so I have my good friend & neighbor helper here - she is keeping me calm, I am poring her wine. Just can't fathom what Tashie is up to! And my GD vet said to dose her 2u and STOP ALL TESTING two days ago - really? Holy cow! I can't thanks you enough for "taking me back" I feel like I am such a hassle! yes, I am testing in 10 minutes - think I may have given her too much Karo though ......and her flippin ears are not bleeding well! I will TRY to chill ....... TRY! THANK YOU!
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

Try to be calm, and steady, and methodical in giving her Karo or gravy. You want it to stay down. T

oo much and/or too fast may trigger vomiting.
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

LOL just when you thought it can't get any worse and now you are being suggested to rub syrup on her bum.. She will love that.,!! My DH looked at me as if I was nuts as I did laugh out loud.

She will come up soon.. This is because u took away the dry and now the insulin is too much. Simple fix.. Reduce the insulin.

. U Have some wine too.

What did you do yesterday? I drank wine and rubbed my cats ass with syrup.. Lol!!!!!!!????!!!

Wendy
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

blinks

I do believe an oral syringe is advised in that case. It can work there, too.
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

Bern

Can you stall tonight? Jill is thinking it might be a thought to consider so we know that she starts rising on her own and you can shoot the rise. So stalling would be great if that's possible and we find you need to do it.

Also....can and will you test tonight if need be?
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

well, I was hoping to lighten the mood and give Bern a laugh...

glad it worked so well for you Wendy


:razz:

but I know I read that somewhere....you know....what the hell? gums, sphincters......?
 
Re: TASHIE +5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36

You did read that and in an emergency, that is an option.
 
Re: TASHIE 25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112

Update? Ok...I see it....112. Good. I'd test in an hour at this lint with all that HC on board. I'm afraid she will come back down again....but could start a bounce.

Please remember to put the 36 on the SS.

No food now, ok? Lets see if she rises on her own. Did you see my above questions?
 
Re: TASHIE 25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112

Oh! You guys! I didn't realize how much I've missed you! You are such a comfort throughout all this - although I did expect to visit some other condos and make friends again rather than go haywire this soon!

Okay - WE HAVE A BLUE - yes, a Karo induced BLUE but a blue! 112. I KNOW it's from the Karo and the 4 MORE syringes of HC but she is up for now. I have "released" her from jail and put LC food down in "her room" so she can be with her brother, the guardian. Yes, "technically" it's 2 hours from shot time but I don't think that is going to apply tonight.

Yes, I can stall - somewhat - Jim just got home :-) I will check her in an hour and report back, phew!

And - I am NOT rubbing KARO on a Himmy's bum! She already has has her tummy shaved ---- but, if I HAD to, I would!
 
Re: TASHIE 25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112

YES! Marge, I will do WHATEVER you say! PROMISE! ........okay, so I SMELL! I smell of fancy feasts and gravy lovers ...... and God knows what else! My kitchen is a train wreck! I must have 15 cans of FF open! BUT .... somehing fabulous just happened! JIM GOT HOME --- SAW THE WRECK, SAID NOTHING, CHANGED CLOTHES AND SAID HE WOULD TAKE MIKKO FOR A WALK ... it's a beautiful day for a change but I haven't seen any of it ........SO, SINCE TASHIE HAS BEEN ON THE MIRTAZAPINE, SHE HAS COME OUT OF HER SHELL AND I'VE BEEN "CALLING" HER AND BORIS DOWN WHEN MIKKO IS GONE FOR "TURKEY TREATS" ....... I DID THAT AND WITHIN A MINUTE, SHE WAS AT THE KITCHEN DOOR (something she hasn't done in YEARS) AND SHE HAS HEAD BUTTED BORIS OUT OF THE WAY TO EAT THE CHICKEN & TURKEY - IT'S STILL WARM - IT'S A WONDER I DIDN'T BURN IT, but that is ONE thing that didn't happen today! I want her to get her face stuffed and then the Karo to wear off and then we will test. Although I still think we should stall as it WILL BE FOOD INFLUENCED, right?
IT'S ALL ABOUT TASHIE - YOU SAY WHAT TO DO AND, WITHIN REASON, I WILL DO!
THANK YOU!!!!!!!
 
Re: TASHIE 25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112

Marge, sorry - the questions -? Yes, I can stall, yes, I can test ....... and ooops, I didn't see about the food. Let me let her eat, test and then guage 2 HOURS past the FOOD intake, is that okay - sorry - too much crap in my head and food on my shirt!
 
Re: TASHIE 25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112

Marje, ONLY if you will come and wash it / brush it out! Fortunately, she is not in "full coat"!!!
 
Re: TASHIE 25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112

I was joking, of course, but in reality, this is a peer review board and so anyone can offer you suggestions and that's all I do. You can take any suggestion from anyone or no ones suggestion ;-)

You are getting a+10.5 right?
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

I know Marje - was just joking with you! Hey - IF it came to that I'd slather her in Karo and worry about it later! Just got a +11.25 and she is 113. Not sure how much could STILL be influenced by HC & Karo? She did eat some FF & Turkey on her own - she is alert and perky. Will get another test in a hour to see where we are. Took ALL foods away at the +11.25.
Jim had a "talk" with me and is worried about shooting her - he's had a REALLY tough week and is not "up" for lots of testing ....... he will within reason though - he's pretty stressed out.

I am SO worried about what will happen - I am wondering is she should only get 1U because of the DRY food being gone? I know that is not "protocol" but neither is Tashie ........ I don't want to SPIKE her HIGH but she can dive bomb SO fast! I'm up for the challenge - I'll keep Kelly company but I NEED help with her!

>>>>>>>funny side line >>>>>> so, Susan SAW and HELPED me lock her in the bathroom - when we went in (the test right after the 36) I could not find her! I took a flashlight ...... she was nowhere to be found! I looked under the vanity, the sink, in the cupboards ...... she was nowhere! Susan said "Bern, she HAS to be in there - there is NO way she could have got out......." then - Susan sees the tiniest bit of fur poking out from under a floor towel rack - she was crouched down, so perfectly but that damn tail gave her away !

Not too comfortable shooting under like 175 or so? /////// Being a baby! Scared!
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

The HC could still wear off...I thought she might be headed up a bit more.

We did discuss this and Jill also suggested you shoot 1.25u if you will test.. If you aren't going to test, then you should shoot less.

I'm going to be candid, Bern. Tashie is recovering from DKA. Do you remember when she had ketones before and we suggested you shoot .75u and you decided to shoot a reduced dose? Her ketone level got higher. Thankfully, as far as I know, she is not throwing ketones now. But you have to be careful with cats who have had DKA...they can be prone to developing it again quickly. Ask Desi.

We are just giving our opinion and what we would do if she was one of our cats. As always, the syringe is in your hand and you make the decisions for your cat. Remember, though, that regardless of what dose you shoot, her depot is full and she will likely have the same kind of cycle if you shoot 1.25u or 1u. You will see the effects in subsequent cycles but probably not so much tonight.

I will be on tonight with several other members....you won't be alone.
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

Jim had a "talk" with me and is worried about shooting her - he's had a REALLY tough week and is not "up" for lots of testing

aren't those "talks" the worst.....!! hate those :roll:


I'm up for the challenge - I'll keep Kelly company but I NEED help

ummmmmm....you know something I don't know....are Tom and I in for another go'round tonight?

:roll:

we will keep each other company what ever way our babes decide to move........

long day for you Bern....long day......sorry but thrilled for you 2 as well

kelly
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

Marge, when you say

Remember, though, that regardless of what dose you shoot, her depot is full and she will likely have the same kind of cycle if you shoot 1.25u or 1u. You will see the effects in subsequent cycles but probably not so much tonight.

Can you explain that a bit more? Sorry.
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

No apologies needed...good question.

Lantus and Levemir are Depot Insulins where one shot builds upon the previous so you have a cumulative effect. Think of the depot as a bucket of water that you keep adding a set amount into. At some point, it will overflow. You can decrease the amount of water you put into it but you won't see the results of that (e.g. No water going over the top) for a bit.

It can take up to six cycles for the depot to drain from a higher dose. It doesn't mean it takes six cycles for every cat as ECID. But the higher dose can affect subsequent cycles and so the effect of draining the depot is not immediate. Whatever you shoot tonight, it will slowly start to drain the depot from the 1.5u dose but probably not significantly enough that you would see a difference in the cycle.

What might happen is she might bounce. And if she does, you will have a bit of a break but she might not bounce tonight.
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

Okay. I get that. Think we've been down this road before, sorry to have you go over it again. I am going to test in 15 minutes - BUT, that will only be like 1 1/2 hours after eating - IF she is at a comfortable number, is it okay to shoot 1.25U or do I need to wait out the FULL TWO HOURS FROM FOOD?
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

It's ok...it's not an easy concept and we all have to go over it many times to understand. It seems so.....hypothetical.

I would see what she is doing. If she's gone way up over 200, I'd shoot at +12. If she's still surfing, I'd stall just a bit and retest in 30 mins.
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

Marje, she was at 221 = +12.5. We have decided to WAIT another 1/2 hour to see if we can bring her up just a tad more - she is hungry but that is good as there is a good change she will pig out. We are thinking that if she comes up just a little more it will be the full 2 hours - NOT food influenced and gives her more "cushion" to fall from?
We can easily make up the time difference as it's the weekend - and:
Jim said "Okay, if we NEED to test, I'll do every 30 minutes but NOT every 20" ........ that is a good sign! She's being so luvvy lately that he can't resist!
 
Re: TASHIE +7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=45/9.5=36!/+10=112/+11.25=

Ok. I'm not typically a fan of 20 minute testing. It usually takes roughly 30 mins to see the effects of food.
 
Re: 07/26 TASHIE PMPS@ =13.25=290

Waited until +13.25 she was up to 290 and gave the dose reduction to 1.25U. Will test again at +2, right? She has her head buried in a bowl of FF 5% beef - thought she could use that extra 1% to help hold her up - I hope so! Daddy is in a better mood and little Tashie has been all over the place, downstairs and snooping around! She is feeling her oats and quite bold! Boris is mesmerized and has no clue what is going on but he's keeping close to her and making sure she doesn't get up to too much mischief! You know, I bet it's been 10 years since she snooped like this!
See you in a while, hopefully not freaking out! Tom is having a big drop so I hope to be able to stay with Kelly for a while to keep her mind off things!
 
Okay, guess my "fun" is over for today .... sad to see her go up but her little ears do need a break - the blood needs to regenerate - think I poked her 16+ times today and not counting the last few that have been 3x to get anything! I think I am done for the night, yeah? THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR ADVICE AND SUPPORT TODAY! There was a time today that I thought she'd never get above 50 ever again! I think she had fun in the greens though and wants to visit again real soon - but after her mum calms down a bit! She is snarfing away on yet another bowl of food --- just who is the Tashie that EATS?!!! Where is my shy "anorexic" kitty gone? I bet she'll be 7 pounds by this time next week! Now, wouldn't that be fab!

I'll wait for the Okay :cool: Before I go........
 
Hey Bern!! Bob and I had a day exactly like yours on wed! Good times!!! I saw u checked out his ss and he said he is happy to help Tashie any way he can. :-D

It was fun, Hu?? I felt exactly the same. - I literally had 20 cans of different food all over the place. I smelled like tuna and Bob smelled like pancakes from the maple syrup all over his little face. We were such a mess. I didn't read all ur condos, but I assume u switched to wet food. Made a big difference for Bob. It's only been less than a week.

The more experienced people must laugh at us!!!
 
Sorry...I was grabbing dinner.

I think she's starting the bounce so I'd grab some sleep. If you are up for a +11, that would be great.

Good night! :-D
 
Hi Dara! Well, when Tash was first diagnosed, I put her on wet no problem - but she has ALWAYS been a la la eater - meaning she ONLY eats to survive - has NEVER taken a piece of anything out of my hand and eats sporadically - that is why the dry worked for her (not) she is teeny tiny - at dx she was down to 4 pounds 10 ounces - last week I had her up to 5 pounds 6 ounces. Her "normal" weight is around 6 pounds. We're getting there!

So....had her on wet, we are doing "okay" but she was not a regular eater. Then, she got sick and was in the hospital for 6 days and REFUSED to eat - they had to syringe feed her until she was finally given the DM dry (18%) and she went to town.... but her insulin dose was put up a LOT due to that. I have been weaning her off the dry and just TWO days ago was able to completely take it away - and then TODAY - well, just like Bob, you see what happens! Boy was she hard to get up and stay up today! She is now on an appetite stimulant that is really helping her eat and has made her shy little personality bloom - she is 15 1/4 years old and is acting like a kitten! Her brother, Boris, doesn't know what to make of it all! But he is wide eyed and watching all the antics from afar!

Tashie says Hi to Bob and hopes they can have a green dance together once their mum's recover - hey, maybe we can plan it in advance and have them cooperate? yeah, right!

Stay in touch! Nice to meet you!

B
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top