07/26 TASHIE PMPS@ =13.25=290+2=374

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisV

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100801

Okay, so this was a SHOCKER! I was stunned to say the least! So, I thought about it, tested with ANOTHER meter and got 153 - so it was real. Thought about it some more and shot the dose. Will monitor carefully today - have to wonder if this is due to "cookie detox"? She is munching on LC wet right now so that is in my favor (for a change)
Maybe it's not the Mirtazapine but a combination of that PLUS dry food? Who knows!

Gees ---- did I get back on this board just in the nick of time! Stay tuned for the +2 .......nervous! But you have taught me what to do and I am loaded with the "tools" and have strained a can of Gravy Lover's and have it all ready to go if needed.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS = 152! Yikes!

I agree with you. I strongly suspect you'll see better numbers when Tashie isn't under the influence of the evil kibble! Looking at Tashie's SS, it also looks like these swings in numbers are bounces. You can see just where this dose brings her numbers (i.e., blues) and then her liver panics and she bounces. I'm hoping you start to see more time in the blues (and greens) and less time in those less attractive ranges.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS = 152! Yikes!

And here I was ...... so embarrassed to get back on the board as she ALWAYS has the highest numbers! Her SS has been so "black" that it's shameful! Interestingly enough, my vet asked WHY I was mixing the DM with the Young Again .... she saw nothing wrong with giving Tashie the straight DM and a higher dose of insulin .... really?!!!
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS = 152!+1.75=73 Holy Cow!

Okay, at +1.75 she is 73 ---- syringed 3 tsp. Med Carb. WIll test again @ +2.5 ........ but will keep a close eye on her. Have the Karo ready! Wow! It's been a while! Guess she wants to show off for you :cool:
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

Just tested and she was 41. Gave 3 syringes of HC GRAVY & a small amount of Karo - will re test in 30 min? Right? And then give more ......"rinse, lather, repeat" yeah?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

IF I get desperate - can I give DM Dry .... I mean, just a little?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS = 152!+1.75=73 Holy Cow!

Nice to see some green on that SS. Looks like she is serious about kicking the dry food habit. Good catch.

Looking at her SS, I also felt she had two things against her: dry food and probably some missed low numbers causing these crazy bounces. I know she's not crazy about being tested but the best way to know the right dose is testing.

Her phot yesterday was adorable. I've never seen her face up close like that...very striking!

Hope she has slowed down at the +2.5. She might not want to stay on this dose long.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

I don't WANT her to stay on this dose :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

We cross posted. No...please do not give dry. It takes way too long to bring the numbers up and then they stay there. Stick with your gravy and karo.

Lather, rinse, repeat..yes.

And there's the reduction!
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

Just took down the "911" ....... Thanks for being here !!!
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

Yes, we did cross post! I'm still not getting email notifications - I'm just keeping window open and refreshing the page. Thank you SO much for being here - I feel you have taught me what to do ..... I'm just a bit freaked that this is SO EARLY in her cycle ..... I think it shows just how "carb sensitive" she is ---- or, the Mirt is getting out of her system? The other appetite stimulant shipped yesterday - she is due for the Mirt tonight - I will wait for the other ... patiently.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

Oy! Seems I AM getting email notifications now but now they are going into SPAM folder - deal with that later.......
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

There is a difference between raising the BG and insulin resistance. I think she might do better overall without the mirtz but I'm still not certain it has anything to do with her numbers. Yes...as Sienne said...any cat can be sensitive to something other cats are not. But I don't see the connection on her SS.

Yes...it is too early for her to be this low and you are doing the right thing. Good job. :-D

You're welcome :-D

BTW...I've used Wedgwood Pharm. they are great.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

Testing again in 10 minutes - Jim isn't too happy as I called him and begged him to come home to help me - he's got tons on at work right now but I told him to get his priorities straight!

So - I am going to REPEAT the gravy & some Karo - at what point am I "out of the woods" and will the Karo just simply spike her and not be a "true" number?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

I'm with Marje -- don't use the dry DM. (How about donating it to a shelter?)

FWIW, when I see numbers dropping like you're seeing today, I test a bit more frequently. Usually I test every 30 min.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

Sienne, I am doing that now - needed to call in HELP! :roll:
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41

When she's above 50, lay off the karo. If she's in the 50s, I'd give her two more tsp of HC gravy.

I'd like to see her moving towards mid cycle and in the 60s for you to switch from HC to LC to try and keep her from dropping back down. Remember when the HC wears off, she could come down. Or...being Tashie, she might fire up.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99

Okay. In 30 minutes got her up to 99. It was probably the Karo - as I gave about 1/2 teaspoon. I just gave her 3 more syringes of HC Gravy - probably shouldn't have, huh? What I'll do now is grab some LC and blend it with some home made chicken broth and start giving her that .... think she's a bit too "bothered" to eat.
When we are "out of the woods" I'll have to share a great trick I learned at the hospital for syringe feeding ....... but you guys probably already know ALL the tricks in the book! :lol:

Should I wait and hour to test now?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99

Oh wow...that's a lot of karo ....usually just takes a drop. You just want to give enough to bump the put of the 40s but not send them too high. Yes, you can wait an hour but be sure it's not more than that. I don't know if she will come back down when the HC wears off or she will start to bounce.

When you manage the curve with food, the goal is to just give enough HC at low numbers to bring them safely up to surf. Look at Poe's Condo from last night. Karen did a great job of getting him stopped and onto a beautiful surf. That's the goal :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99

I KNEW I screwed up - she just dropped SO fast, SO early in the cycle that I panicked! Sorry! I SHOULD know better! I just put LC in the blender and have that ready to go as I can't rely on her to eat when she is this stressed out! Poor Tashie, she FINALLY gets into some good numbers and mummy ruins it for her! I was just SO afraid of that '33' happening ........ and, with Tashie, it can be a LONG day as she often doesn't nadir until =7!

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

Next test will be 12:00 EST :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99

I wish I had a dollar for every time we've done that. I understand. It's a learning tool :-D

Hopefully, it will wear off and she will come back down to a nice green number.

See you in a bit.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99

Wow what fun now.. Maybe just the threat of being on the board was enough to scare her into low numbers? Lol.

Didnt I tell you to freeze that dry for if you ever have eating issues? And I think it was yesterday I said we don't use dry in these circumstances? Don't make me come round there.. Lol
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69

Alrighty then .... I was armed with LC syringes but went to HC as she had dropped to 69. Jim HAD to go back to work - I have Sam coming @ 1:00 and she is locked in the bathroom with LC food & water. I KNOW you said LC but she is just scaring the pants off me - she's been HIGH for so long and I just want her "surfing" but it's STILL SO EARLY! Hell, this could go on for hours - she is being a "Tom cat" today - Yikes, how has Kelly done this SO much the last two weeks???!!!

I'm not at all sure she has eaten herself today with all this testing - I am just TRYING to make sure she doesn't dive bomb .......in Tashie style
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69

Marje - I don't have "help" until 1 O'clock so I'm sunk on the 30 min testing. As I posted - gave her HC until I can get some 30 minute help here - will ONLY do LC next - promise! Jim had to go so I'm sunk until Sam can get here at 1.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69

Wendy! yikes! I'm sorry! I DARE you to come round here! I SWEAR I won't used cookies - SWEAR! Just panicked and asking ..... didn't DO. Obviously, Tashie likes the board! She is SUCH a show off - even as shy as she is!
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5

Okay, put my big girl pants on and JUST gave LC = 4 x 2ml syringed. When to test next --- 45 min?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5

She didn't drop much although you did give HC last time. I'd say 30 mins is ideal but 45 mins works.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5

I'll try to have it on the early side of 30 - do my best! THANK YOU!
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5

No- REALLY - THANK YOU SO MUCH! This is just too odd that I got back on yesterday and then this happened so soon! You can see from her SS what I've been dealing with! I have a question, she would be due to have her Mirt tonight - the 72 hour mark. DO you think I should give it or wait until tomorrow and hope that the other stuff gets here? She was eating fabulously on it and VERY perky & fun. In your opinion, do you think it was the DRY DM that I just got her off or possibly a combination? I just saw a connection on the SS? ......Oh, and BTW, all of the ones I connected are hi lighted in the "remarks" column
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE **AMPS =152+1.75=73+3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5

I'll look at her SS again knowing you have highlighted areas where you saw a connection. I'll let you know shortly, ok?

My gut rxn is to say if the mirtz is letting her eat and feel better, then don't worry about the numbers for the short term (since you are going to switch appetite stimulants, one more dose won't matter if it keeps her eating).
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54

I see Tashie has been doing the limbo (How low can you go?)!
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54

She tested @ 54. Because she has SO far to go and she is not "stabilizing" I gave 2 2ml of LC and 2 2ml of HC ....... just to try to get her to stop dropping ...... I also left some poached chicken down in hopes that she will eat. She's been GREAT eating until now! I think there is just WAY too much action for her today. Will test again in 45 (2:30 EST)
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54

Go ahead and give her a little HC and test again in 30 mins.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

Okay, we are exactly at +7. She was 55. Gave her 4 2ml of HC as she is not moving - I know, it's a good thing but scary too.

So, I have a thought ....... she is due to get the Mirtazapine at 6PM today. What if, by 4PM she hasn't come up and I give it to her 2 hours early - then take her numbers an hour afterward and SEE if they sky rocket - if they do, we KNOW it's the Mirt, if not, there is a darn good chance she'll start eating the furniture. I have a feeling that she really hasn't eaten on her own today due to all the hoopla.

thoughts?

The other stuff will probably get here TOMORROW - so I have that to use at the END of the 72 hours with the Mirt?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

Because Tashie is bouncy, I'm just not sure that you can unequivocally say whether the mirtz is causing the issue. Sorry...I haven't had a chance to look at the SS yet; I've been dealing with a mom issue.

I think it's your decision on whether you give the Mirtz tonight knowing you can't give the cypro until 72 hours later (I'm assuming you don't want to overlap them but you could ask your vet) but also knowing it will keep her eating. OR don't give it to her and hope the cypro comes in tomorrow but deal with her potentially not eating and you having to continue to syringe her regardless if her numbers are up or down.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

Well, I'll have a long think about it ......I'm also starting to stress about her PMPS ........ but I guess I have until 7:30 to freak out about that one! Thanks for your time, sorry you are dealing with "mum" issues - hope all is okay! I am testing again at 3:30 - will keep the post updated.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

Sounds good.

No need to stress; you get the number, we deal with it :-D Remember how intuitive cats are to us. ;-)

Thanks..mom is fine; just hurt her leg again.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

+8=45. Gave 4 2ml syringes of HG Gravy. Also dosed the Mirt in hopes it will get her eating. She has a bowl of LC FF Chopped Grill and some fresh poached chicken in the bathroom. Sam is coming back @ 4:15 - in about 1.2 hour. DID NOT GIVE KARO - should I have?
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

Oh...I thought you were supposed to dose the mirtz at 4:30 your time! Sorry if I misunderstood. FWIW, I would have recommended that you do.....just finished her SS review. I think eating is more important now. I still am not convinced the mirtz was the high numbers culprit.

Well that's kind of low for late in the cycle but I know Tashie sometimes does this. I would absolutely test in 30 and see if the HC/gravy brings her up. This late...it really should....even in a bounce breaking cycle.
 
Re: 7/26 TASHIE AMPS +3=41+3.5=99/+4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+

Freaking out in advance .... okay, so her dose this morning was 1.5U - she has more than earned the reduction to 1.25U. But here is my concern - as I have absconded ALL dry matter and now I'm back to just wet LC food - could this dose me too much for her? Meaning, the higher doses may have been "somewhat okay" when she was eating dry but now they may be WAY too much?
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45

It might be but I'd try to stick with .25u decreases for now. She's also clearing a bounce and so it's difficult to tell if it is that, if it's just the dry food, or if it's both.

Look at Bob's SS. He's coming down the dosing scale really fast due to a change from dry to wet food. We had her stick with small decreases until 7/24 and now we are modifying the decreases and having her skip shots to drain the depot.

Let's just see how she does for a cycle or two.
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

Okay, thanks! Just did =8.75 and got her up to 62. Just syringed 4 2ml of LC into her - she still hasn't touched her fud's but I have to think that a "bathroom" thing - also, not so sure she likes the TV channel I left on for her :-D But Ellen is on now and who doesn't like Ellen? Think the show before that was The Doctor's - no wonder she didn't like it! Plan on doing a +9.5 to see where we are headed and hope I can let her out of the bathroom!
Sorry to have taken up SO much of your time today - I am SURE you have other things you could be / should be doing! I SO SO SO appreciate!
i haven't done a thing other than walk in circles and watch the clock and worry! About the ONLY thing the vet said that I agree with is "she is one tough little girl" ....... and that, she is. She has become such a trooper about being syringe fed - I ALMOST think she likes it! Well, almost!
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

Okay, so I checked out Bob's SS and see that she skipped some shots - if I can't get her up to a comfortable number, what happens if you skip? Just asking as it's getting closer and closer and I want to have all my ducks in order :mrgreen:
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

She skipped one shot because she was exhausted and we thought it would be good to drain the depot. She skipped the second one because he was just too low to shoot. But Bob never had DKA.

You said the vets thought she might have had cholangitis or a bile duct infection? Did they give her antibiotics like either clavamox or metronidazole (flagyl). Once a kitty has had DKA, we need to be very careful about skipping shots and making sure they eat and that, hopefully, the source of the infection is resolved.

I know you like to be prepared ahead of time but she still has three hours until PMPS. I also want to get some other input. We will get back to you before shot time.

Your welcome. I'm around doing stuff in between her tests. I know you know how to bring her up.
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

They gave her Ampacillin (30mg?) and I continued with Amoxicillin when she came home. I also now have some Famotidine in transdermal that I also give her pre food - it was the vets idea and they also gave it to her via IV.
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

I'm not sure that Amoxicillin and ampicillin would target cholangitis without a long course of it...but who knows for sure? I wonder why they had you give an a/b with sugar, too?

Famotidine is just Pepcid AC.
 
Re: TASHIE +4.5=69/+5.5=66/+6.25=54/+7=55/+8=45/+8.75=62+8=4

Antibiotics can do a number onf the GI tract (which you may well know already). Have your got some probiotics - ex FortiFlora - you might be able to give a couple hours after the antibiotic?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top