07/26 Shmee AMPS 68, +1 90, +3 50, +3.5 54, +4 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo

Good morning everyone,
Shmee had me up again last night, got down to 59 during the day and at night... I was debating reducing him but decided not to. Its hard to know what the "cutoff" should be for him. We shall see how today goes, I assume another reduction to 4.5 is in our near future.
I hope everyone has a nice day, its almost Friday, woohoo :smuggrin:
@Jill & Jade Shmee can't wait to come to your party!! He has been busy all night making his famous catnip surprise!

Replies from last night:

SRT for Leo was Austin - Ft.Collins. Two days each way. And 5 days stay in, shall we say, a "budget hotel". That hotel probably was a crash house for many college parties, but hey it was cheap!

Leo didn't mind the hotel so much. But the car ride was not fun for him. Check Leo's SRT thread. There are pics. Also pics in his 2016 flickr page, about half way down https://www.flickr.com/photos/13779628@N05/sets/72157670996705412
@JeffJ Awh I just took a look and saw the photo of him in the car with his mouth open haha, poor guy. But I'm sure he doesn't even remember it now :cat: the one right next to it with him cuddling his brother was so cute. Five days is a long time in the car, excellent job for going through that!! :eek: Did you have a litterbox in the cage with him at all times? Curious about that.

I am so sorry for such a long delay on my response! Its been a rough couple of days, for sure.

Now, I did things a bit, um, extravagant for our travels since we were going so very far away. Here is the link to the YouTube Video that shows exactly how I set the car up. I did get him a pretty big kennel, but it fit nicely in the car. I used cardboard flats for temporary litterboxes and those were the perfect size for traveling with.

Here is the link for the Kennel that I bought through Chewy.


I am so thrilled you decided to go through with the surgery! You certainly cannot beat that price! It is not easy to take them for these things, but we know it is for the best! You will do just amazing and Schmee will be a superstar! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I cannot wait to hear of all your adventures! Please, ask them all the questions you can! I am so curious to see how they do things! This is invaluable data for us!

I am sooooo excited!
@LuvinThisPig Oh no please don't apologize. Thank you for sharing this video! I did not see it in the link for the SRT vlog, but omg I just figured it out I feel so dumb but I did not realize there was an arrow for more videos!!! :banghead: I thought it was just those four that pop up with the link. I want to call off work to watch all of them now LOL! Anyway, that crate is so big and great! I was looking for one large enough, I thought the Amazon one I was looking at was good but with the litterbox in there I feel like it would take up so much room... the chewy one is much longer. I went for my loan appointment yesterday and I didn't get quite as much as I was hoping for, so I am going to keep shopping in case I come across any bargains. But I put that one in my cart just in case until I look around. Thanks for the encouragement, it means a lot. I have been sick to my stomach thinking about this nonstop... I am so scared. I do not want to lose him, or anything to go wrong, or see him so sad for that week-long stay in the hospital. But.. I am trying my best to be strong because like you said I am just trying to do what is best for him. I have to keep reminding myself of that.

I wish I had gotten to you before you had a run in with her. Honesty, she means well and in reality, she was the first person to pin Pig as an Acro. However, I will say this... I have had many conversations with her and when you get through it, she actually is a big old softy. I get the impression she has been hurt by many people and therefore has this massively large and insensitive shell. She does not have any bedside manners, I agree and many of times I wish that she would be a bit more gentle. We lose a great many people over that.

But, I will say this... I came to the FDMB after I had joined that group. While I still post the group and find some very valuable information there - I have learned far more here on the FDMB and from @Wendy&Neko . Her advice is a little calmer and based out of solid logic. And I have said this once and will say it again, I have yet to catch Wendy in a falsity. The knowledge and character that this woman has is untouchable. I trust her word more than most anybody around.

With that being said, there are several incredibly worthy people on the group for sure. There are 3 ladies from Alaska that I converse with on a regular basis. I call them my Alaskan Angels because they actually helped me with a very large chunk of the cost for Pig's procedure. If you, Amanda, can get past the 'woman' then you will find a lot of support there, just as here. In fact, I had the same dilemma with the group as you and was seriously concerned about getting booted from the FDMB when I mentioned it and I asked one of those Alaskan Angels what she thought I should do. She told me something that I will never forget... She said, "Sarah, I think at some point in all of this, we all just sort of learn to do what we must". That is exactly what you are doing and never doubt that! Both of you are strong and you both are just inspirations! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

And, @Wendy&Neko I have heard tale of the story you mentioned above and genuinely want to apologize, even though I was not involved. I have encountered the brashness and to be honest, I had no idea that that deal was between the two of you... :(:(:( It is sad when we cannot set things aside for logic and the betterment of care for our kitties. I am sorry that you had to deal with that. Regardless, you have an enormous fan base that would be lost without you! Please.... Do not ever leave!
Thanks for taking the time to write that out. I got the same vibe, like someone has done her wrong. When I asked people to update the acrotracker, she got totally defensive and would not stop with the negativity and I have literally zero clue what I did wrong. No one else commented on the post, so I assumed everyone else agreed or just did not want to go against her opinions. I did not leave the group and am sticking through it, I have tough skin and I plan to post in there about my decision because I have found that others have been nice and helpful. That is so incredible about your Alaskan Angels! I love to hear stories like that... stories about genuinely good people. We need more of those in this world.

I know, off topic, but I used to moderate a wood turning forum. We had to boot old dudes off every 6-8 weeks for something that was supposed to be fun. Jeez.
Haha … some people!! When I encounter people like that nowadays I say to myself "I am so happy I have the brain that I do". :rolleyes:

Just checking in to wish you and Shmee all the best of luck in this venture. I'm glad you made the decision.
Rusty was always a perfect traveler on long trips. We expected him to be a good traveler and he listened. We have an SUV, so his litterbox went in the very back and the rear seats were down. His carrier was about midway back, with the door always propped open with the seatbelt. He sometimes slept in his carrier, but mostly sat on top of it to look out the windows. He also enjoyed sitting on the armrest between Edward and me. He never tried to sit on my lap while the car was in motion.

We always used newspaper rather than pee pads, even though he rarely got sick. Vomit or pee on newspaper can be easily dealt with: just tear off the soiled part. We carried his travel food in a plastic dish with lid in a separate lunch carrier with it's own cool block. When we stopped to rest we took out the food and poured him some water and put both in a cardboard catfood tray (from an old case of canned food).

All will be OK as you move forward. We will all be thinking of you.
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Thank you so much. Rusty was so well behaved!! Shmee HATES the car... even the five minute trip to the vet.. so this should be interesting.
 
Last edited:
Oh yeah forgot to mention - I did not get a call back from the neurosurgeon yesterday, the front desk said I have to talk to him to make the appointment so I am anxiously awaiting his call back. I emailed him last night to be sure he got the message to give me a call. I keep thinking I hope I didn't wait too long and I'm too late to use the donor $$. We shall see, I can hardly sit still.

+3 50 - Guess I should've reduced!
 
Last edited:
Amanda - for the personal loan thing - try Marcus from goldman sachs. I got one through them - fast and easy!

ETA: i am only mentioning this because I work at a bank and it could be a different option for you - Have you thought about doing a credit card for it? Most have 0% for at least a year these days. Itll give you a little time to find a personal loan if you end up not paying it off before 0% is done. Plus, you can probably get some rewards back or something ;)
 
Last edited:
Amanda - for the personal loan thing - try Marcus from goldman sachs. I got one through them - fast and easy!
Thanks Cass! I actually did apply for Marcus and Prosper, but my credit union had a lower interest rate so I decided to go with them. He actually refinanced my car for a lower rate then I was paying, and then added on more $$ to the refinanced car loan as my "personal loan". Seemed complicated but I think it worked out for the best since now I am paying a lower interest rate for me car too :) I decided I am taking the chance and not getting an MRI here, only in NYC, so I was going for $4500 but he got me $4000. AMC said my bill shouldn't be above $3000, so I have $1000 to work with... so PB&J's and a cheap AirBNB while I'm in NY, LOL.
 
Thanks Cass! I actually did apply for Marcus and Prosper, but my credit union had a lower interest rate so I decided to go with them. He actually refinanced my car for a lower rate then I was paying, and then added on more $$ to the refinanced car loan as my "personal loan". Seemed complicated but I think it worked out for the best since now I am paying a lower interest rate for me car too :) I decided I am taking the chance and not getting an MRI here, only in NYC, so I was going for $4500 but he got me $4000. AMC said my bill shouldn't be above $3000, so I have $1000 to work with... so PB&J's and a cheap AirBNB while I'm in NY, LOL.
That's not a bad route to go either. I see people do that a lot with mortgage refinances. At least you are getting what you need. =)

And what wonderful numbers Shmee is giving you! Based on his numbers and dose, I'd never thinking he has Acro.
 
Thanks to you both!

Based on his numbers and dose, I'd never thinking he has Acro.
Yes it is kind of confusing!! And really complicated to try and explain to family/friends why I still want to get the surgery... Honestly even confusing to try and explain it to myself, since he might go OTJ on his own... But if he has the tumor (which Wendy kind of freaked me out yesterday by saying there's a 30% chance there is no tumor :confused:), then I should probably take the opportunity to get it out if I can. Right....? I know its a personal decision but I am so curious what others would do if they had this opportunity, even though he might go OTJ on his own...
@LuvinThisPig @Wendy&Neko Curious what you opinion is on that ^
 
Last edited:
by saying there's a 30% chance there is no tumor
Nope, I didn't say that. Sorry I didn't word it right. What I meant to say is that of kitties having IGF-1 tests, you don't want to have the tests done too soon after starting insulin. There was a study showing that you want to wait at least 73 days after starting insulin, before having the IGF-1 test done. If you test too early, there's a chance the results could show negative for acromegaly. The study tested over 200 cats both early and later on after starting insulin. A number of the acro cats tested negative in the first early test, and positive after 73 days. There is something in the way the body reacts to the injected insulin that can give the negative results early on. You waited long enough, no worry on the results.

Yes it's possible Shmee could go OTJ on his own, who knows, it's just a guess. We've also had kitties go off insulin, the come back later to higher doses. They weren't tested the first time as they didn't get to higher doses. Were they just a regular diabetic the first time, or just a lower dose acro that wasn't tested? Who knows what damage the growth hormone is doing in between? I like your plan of dealing with things now. Since he does seem to be interested in lowering his dose, I would be cautious and take those reductions if he started flirting with them.
 
Leo had a 3 x 3 x 3 foot wire crate for the 2 + 2 day round trip to Ft.Collins. I built him a platform in the crate and put a lot of padded blankets on it. That was the front side of the crate.

In the lower level of the crate was his litter box, and a space he could retreat to, if he did not like the upper level.

He traveled almost the whole way on the upper level except for one part. We were 3-4 hours north of Austin, around Abiline. And we went thru full thunder, lightning, and inches-per-hour rain. I was surprised we didn't have golf ball hail. Anyhow, that scared the crud out of poor Leo. He hyperventilated for another 2 hours after that. I'm sure he has forgotten the whole thing!

I also tie-wrapped all the corners of the dog crate. That removed all rattles.

Leo only peed while we were moving - one time. The rest of the driving, he would only eat or pee when we were stopped. Mostly he held it during each day of driving.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top