07/26 - Jaxon - AMBG 47 +1 65 +4 110 PMPS 65 +1 74 +2 58 + 3 61 +4 67 +5 68 +6 65

Allison K

Member Since 2021
I woke a little late so it is already nearly 30 mins late giving his shot and I got this number.
 
No, as I said I woke late .... I do not usually give food before he gets his shot (usually food within like 5 mins of the shot)
 
As for his later shot ... why would his later shot have to change time? When I have had to stall I haven't changed his evening shot in the past
 
And if you stall and shoot an hour late (that is after another 20 mins or so), are you okay to shoot 30 mins late tonight?

(a) You can stall and test 20 mins from the last test - without feeding to see if his numbers come up over 50. This would be mean you shoot 20-30 mins later tonight
(b) Or you skip the AM shot and shoot at your usual time tonight.
 
As for his later shot ... why would his later shot have to change time? When I have had to stall I haven't changed his evening shot in the past
A half hour delay does not disrupt the timing of the next shot. I understand you are nearly 30 mins late already and stalling would delay the AM shot more (almost an hour from your usual shot time). You would therefore need to shoot 30 mins late tonight.

Sorry for the separate posts, literally just got up 5-10 or so minutes ago
No need to apologize! :-)
 
Was not sure how to record this as far as the +1 etc goes so just went with +1 for his log goes but it was about half hour after I put his food down
 
Since you skipped, you needn't test as much. Maybe one more mid-cycle test should do before PMPS.
Enjoy your day off from testing! Good day to catch up on sleep or do something outside the house! :-)
 
Sleep sounds good. Will likely do a test somewhere around 11am (about 4 hours after his usual shot time just cause gotta get up to medicate the dog at that time) and around 1pm (where his +6 would be usually)
 
Was not sure how to record this as far as the +1 etc goes so just went with +1 for his log goes but it was about half hour after I put his food down
You could put it down as 65 @ +0.5. But it's fine. Don't worry about it. It's your day off from feline diabetes! :D
 
Well when I posted it, it was going to be a PS (did not decide on the skip till we discussed it) .. but I was still not 100% awake to think to change it. Done now
 
Am I alright to shoot (yes I know it is over 50) since his sugar has been really good all day without insulin in 24hrs
 
Why? Just want to understand. He has had no insulin since last night and was quite low this morning (plus I woke up late)
 
It’s ok to shoot but I am wondering if he’s been sliding down all day or on the way up. If you prefer you can shoot and get a +1 and +2.
 
To see if he’s going up on his own or at least not still going down. He’s been all normal for a few days. If you are okay being up late just in case shoot now.
 
I was not looking for why, but what the next step would be after I re-test him at the half hour mark .... sorry I was not clear in my question
 
If around the same just shoot. If going up you know definitely safe to shoot. If much lower I would probably give a reduced dose. If it’s even 20 minutes after your test please test again so we can see.
 
The 1.0 is still influencing this cycle. If the +1 doesn’t show a food bump I would feed some 10%.
 
To be clear:
LC 0-10%
MC 10-20%
HC 20%+ correct?

If no HC I have previously been told to use MC + honey
 
What about between 15 and 20%?? What is that? Cause at least one variety of the Gravy Lovers I have according to the charts is like 16%
 
For most cats 15% -20% is hc but it depends on the cat. If Max was under 40 he needed 20%+. I think it also depends on how high carb your lc is. It’s all approximate I think because we rely on the manufacturers Ingredient lists and each batch is a bit different since they make it in bulk. That’s my take anyway.
 
I got the following for his regular meals:
Friskies Pâté Salmon Dinner 3%
Friskies Pâté Chef's Dinner Not on list, calculator says 3%
Friskies Pâté Seafood Supreme Not in list, calculator says 2.5%
Friskies Pâté Turkey & Giblets Dinner 5%

For his Hypo kit I have 3 flavors of Gravy Lovers from FF:
Ocean Whitefish & Tuna 16%
Chicken Feast 15%
Salmon Feast 15%
 
Last edited:
It's a good thing you skipped this morning. He's doing really well even after a skipped shot.
Seems to have flipped some switch. When that happens they can go down in dosing pretty quickly.
 
Back
Top