Kat & Elsie
Member
Previously: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...268-6-266-9-256-pmps-268.289761/#post-3177455
Hello everyone, it's been a while. I have not been following TR exactly for several reasons, some beyond my control, but we've finally gotten in to see a new vet provider after waiting for months, and I'm ready to start over & do it right.
To recap: In April, our former vet dismissed us as patients due to their disagreement with my human meter testing & running curves/adjusting dose at home without the help of a doctor. They would not communicate with me as I tried to explain the protocol many times before the dismissal. They stopped honoring the insulin prescription after dismissal, forcing us to ration dosage while waiting for our appointment with the new provider. Meanwhile numbers were rising, and thanks to info from you guys, we determined Elsie needed a dental. It was suggested here we find a "cat friendly practice" through the American Association of Feline Practitioners, which we did, however the wait to get in as a new patient was approximately 2 months. We did our best to follow the protocol while we waited, but were unable to get a significantly earlier appointment, so we had to ration the insulin until we could get a new prescription. We've now seen the new vet (07/03) & Elsie had her dental cleaning yesterday (07/25).
The new doctor is a night & day difference to my former vet and it's really a big relief! I sent him the study about TR and he reviewed it & is on board with helping me treat my kitty in this way. He wants me to start testing her urine glucose with any dose changes, which I haven't tried yet but I'll figure it out (any tips appreciated). All of her bloodwork & testing looked good at her exam. The dental showed she has advanced decay & pocketing in the gums, lots of build up on the teeth, her mouth was in really bad shape (I had no idea!) but no cavities, healthy roots, no painful teeth, and no extractions were performed! They did trim some diseased gum tissue. She will go back in 2 weeks to follow up & make sure she is healing well. They did a very thorough cleaning & even sent me home with before & after pictures, and expect her to heal well.
So now that all the uncertainty & mess is behind us, and all the hiccups are hopefully over now, we can reset, restart, and try to get back into some sort of helpful rhythm with dosing & testing.
It was my plan not to try to increase her dose much until her mouth has had a chance to heal & lose some of the inflammation, so as to reduce the risk of too drastic a drop should her glucose levels come down as a result. Would that be advisable, or do you have any other recommendations for how to move forward with caution after a dental, given our circumstances?
Thanks, as always, for all of your valuable input & assistance.
ETA: It's worth mentioning that our other cat, Alex, sadly passed away at the end of May. He was 18. He had some special kibble due to CKD, which was a constant struggle to keep Elsie out of his dry food. With his passing, we have now removed all dry food from the home.
Hello everyone, it's been a while. I have not been following TR exactly for several reasons, some beyond my control, but we've finally gotten in to see a new vet provider after waiting for months, and I'm ready to start over & do it right.
To recap: In April, our former vet dismissed us as patients due to their disagreement with my human meter testing & running curves/adjusting dose at home without the help of a doctor. They would not communicate with me as I tried to explain the protocol many times before the dismissal. They stopped honoring the insulin prescription after dismissal, forcing us to ration dosage while waiting for our appointment with the new provider. Meanwhile numbers were rising, and thanks to info from you guys, we determined Elsie needed a dental. It was suggested here we find a "cat friendly practice" through the American Association of Feline Practitioners, which we did, however the wait to get in as a new patient was approximately 2 months. We did our best to follow the protocol while we waited, but were unable to get a significantly earlier appointment, so we had to ration the insulin until we could get a new prescription. We've now seen the new vet (07/03) & Elsie had her dental cleaning yesterday (07/25).
The new doctor is a night & day difference to my former vet and it's really a big relief! I sent him the study about TR and he reviewed it & is on board with helping me treat my kitty in this way. He wants me to start testing her urine glucose with any dose changes, which I haven't tried yet but I'll figure it out (any tips appreciated). All of her bloodwork & testing looked good at her exam. The dental showed she has advanced decay & pocketing in the gums, lots of build up on the teeth, her mouth was in really bad shape (I had no idea!) but no cavities, healthy roots, no painful teeth, and no extractions were performed! They did trim some diseased gum tissue. She will go back in 2 weeks to follow up & make sure she is healing well. They did a very thorough cleaning & even sent me home with before & after pictures, and expect her to heal well.
So now that all the uncertainty & mess is behind us, and all the hiccups are hopefully over now, we can reset, restart, and try to get back into some sort of helpful rhythm with dosing & testing.
It was my plan not to try to increase her dose much until her mouth has had a chance to heal & lose some of the inflammation, so as to reduce the risk of too drastic a drop should her glucose levels come down as a result. Would that be advisable, or do you have any other recommendations for how to move forward with caution after a dental, given our circumstances?
Thanks, as always, for all of your valuable input & assistance.
ETA: It's worth mentioning that our other cat, Alex, sadly passed away at the end of May. He was 18. He had some special kibble due to CKD, which was a constant struggle to keep Elsie out of his dry food. With his passing, we have now removed all dry food from the home.
Last edited: