07/25 Marvin AMPS~211 +1~178 +4~47 +5~77 +7~124 +9~338

Status
Not open for further replies.
There are a couple of things going on.

First, the 47 gives Marvin a dose reduction. If you shoot early, it's like a dose increase. That's not what you want to do. I'd hold to your current shot schedule but shoot your current 0.5u dose. In the morning, you an reduce the dose to 0.25u.

With regard to shooting early, are you off schedule or do you want to change your shot time?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
There are a couple of things going on.

First, the 47 gives Marvin a dose reduction. If you shoot early, it's like a dose increase. That's not what you want to do. I'd hold to your current shot schedule but shoot your current 0.5u dose. In the morning, you an reduce the dose to 0.25u.

With regard to shooting early, are you off schedule or do you want to change your shot time?

Thanks Sienne. We are off schedule because I stalled for 2.5 hours last night. I would like to move the shot back to the earlier time. In order to do that, everyone advised that I shoot 15 mins earlier at each shot. Do I decrease the dose as well or keep it at 0.25u?

Also, I'm using the 3/10 cc syringes; it seems like it would be tricky to get 0.25u. Any tips?

Thanks again!
 
You've got a classic bounce on your hands! Marvin's body isn't used to the lower, normal BG numbers, so his liver is overreacting to the situation...it's throwing counterregulatory hormones into his system to protect him from what it thinks is hypoglycemia. Over time, his liver should get used to the normal numbers again, and hopefully the bouncing into those high numbers will eventually stop.

You CAN shoot your current dose through the bounce this evening, then take the reduction tomorrow morning, but Marvin definitely did earn a reducie with that 47.
 
Amy's answer to your question about the spike in numbers is on point.

There are photos of micro doses in the New to the Group sticky. They will give you a visual. It will also help if you twist the plunger on the syringe to 'dial in' the dose vs. pushing the insulin out.
 
Carolyn, you ARE doing a great job. FD is a tough disease and there's a lot to learn. And it's stressful on us beans because we are so crazy about our kitties. Luckily, you found Lantus Land (LL) and knowledgeable people who want to help you do the best for Marvin. What a great bean you are!
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top