07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 PMPS~279 advice please boarding.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sharon and sparky

Member Since 2009
All the P's are in place. I am going to have to board Sparky for one week. Needless to say I am quite nervous. I did much research and found what seems the best place for him. They seem to be the most aware of how to treat diabetic kitties it is a cat only vet clinic. He will be staying in a 2 room executive suite with an aviary to watch the birds for interest. There is play time in a play room as well. They will test him before his shots and keep some type of crystals in his litter box that will show when his glucose is too high as well. The receptionist says they are very diligent in retesting a kitty after shots.
So my guidelines for the clinic are:
1. dosage, he is on one fat unit 2x day and I think I will keep it there because he really is not going too low with this quantity.
2. they must notify me if he is too low or too high or not eating....
3. no change in dosage unless they get my approval
4. record numbers on my spreadsheet for me to see while I'm in Maine.

Should I premark the syringes?

Am I missing anything? Please advise for those of you that have done this before. Thanks so much!
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

I'm interested to hear where you are boarding your kitty since you live in Atlanta. I go to the Cat Clinic in Roswell, but have also taken my kitties to the Cat Doctor in Buckhead. Is it one of those two? It sounds like the clinic is going to take good care of your Sparky and are willing to do whatever it takes to make sure they follow the protocol and your advice. It might be helpful to mark the syringes just in case. I am a little OCD so I would probably do that as well as a detailed information sheet on everything. I know you are going to worry while you are away but if you are able, call and check on things and that may calm you a little.

Have a great trip!
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

Good morning Sharon.
I have not posted in your condo since you have been back but I do remember you and Sparky from the last time you were here.....sorry you had to come back. Putty and Sparky went OTJ around the same time.

I think it would be a good idea to lower the dose to 1.0u for two reasons. Cats don't often eat as well when they are boarded. Also 1.0u is easier and more accurate to measure. I would definitely mark the syringes.
Are they only testing for pre-shots?

I would like to see if other's think the dose should be even lower but I guess that would depend on how often they are going to test.
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

They sound very good but I would mark the syringes just as a help to them.

Good luck and I hope Sparky enjoys the executive suite!
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

Sparky is going to the Cat Clinic of Cobb. He is not a patient there but I think he will be better in a place with no strange dogs barking even though he lives with 3 dogs of his own.
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

I agree with Miriam. I would drop the dose to 1.0u. In all likelihood, the same person will not be drawing up a dose and you want to make it as straightforward as possible.
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

Sharon, I didn't know there was a cat clinic in Cobb. I agree, when I used to bring my kitties to a cat/dog vet, they seemed so much more stressed than when I take them to the cat only vet. Once, Simon was actually labeled "agressive" at the other vet because he bit someone on the head when they tried to do a procedure. He had never done anything like that before and has never since. Poor guy -- was labeled as a bad kitty until I left that clinic!
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

Hi guys .. I know you are going to be worried about sparky while he's being boarded, but it sounds like a nice little mini retreat for him! He will be fine .. have a great day!
 
Re: 07/22 Sparky AMPS~268 advice please boarding tomorrow.

Thanks all. I will definitely make it one unit. They said they will test his blood glucose as much as I want, which makes me happy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top