? 07/22 BG 95 Ketones 0.3 - should I wait?

Killua356

Member Since 2022
I’m still working on my SS pls excuse any errors or typos. I don’t feel safe giving insulin below 100 but at the same time her blood ketones have increased I don’t think I should skip either. Should I wait for 0.5-1 hour and recheck?

edit:

PMPS 160 (8.9) 0.75U
BG +2.5 122 (6.2)
BG +7 63 (3.5)

AMPS 202 (11.2) 0.75U
0.0 ketones!!!
 
Last edited:
It doesn't say if you are following TR or SLGS in your profile headline. At 100 PS I personally would not decrease the dose, check around +3-6 to see what is happening, but get info from others. Your spreadsheet is hard for me to decipher right now as it seems you are inputting different units.
 
It doesn't say if you are following TR or SLGS in your profile headline. At 100 PS I personally would not decrease the dose, check around +3-6 to see what is happening, but get info from others. Your spreadsheet is hard for me to decipher right now as it seems you are inputting different units.

I haven’t written down which method because I am still unsure what to follow. She’s recovering from DKA atm so she still throws ketones at the normal BG range I’m afraid to skip. Me reducing the dose to 0.5 & skipping to avoid hypoglycemia was the reason why she went into DKA last time ;_;
 
If 100 is your cutoff with meter variance you could give insulin. With DKA three times skipping is too dangerous. Better to give and feed higher carbs. Can you monitor?

I agree! I was told by vet not to give insulin if it’s below 99.. Yes I will monitor. Should I write down monitored BG here or make a new post?
 
Please, please, get some tests in during the cycles. We need that information to help you with the dosing.

BG+1 160(8.9)

I ran out of Contour Next test strips (I ordered them a while ago but hasn’t arrived yet) so I used accuchek this time, they had about 0.4 difference on low-normal BG range. Contour shows up slightly lower. Can I give 0.85 or 0.9U? I’m afraid her ketones will increase by tonight if I stay on 0.75U..
 
BG+1 160(8.9)

I ran out of Contour Next test strips (I ordered them a while ago but hasn’t arrived yet) so I used accuchek this time, they had about 0.4 difference on low-normal BG range. Contour shows up slightly lower. Can I give 0.85 or 0.9U? I’m afraid her ketones will increase by tonight if I stay on 0.75U..
What is the ketones now?
Please don’t give more than 0.75 units. I am even concerned about giving that with the drop to 34 a couple of cycles ago.
You can increase the food and how often do you give the sub Q fluids.?
 
Nothing in the SS, but I can see in the subject line that ketones 0.3. Is that the current test?
0.3 is not a concern for ketones. I would give the 0.75 units, give lots of snacks during the cycle, give the sub Q fluids if they are due and to get some tests in during the cycle so we can see how low the dose is taking Miho.
 
What is the ketones now?
Please don’t give more than 0.75 units. I am even concerned about giving that with the drop to 34 a couple of cycles ago.
You can increase the food and how often do you give the sub Q fluids.?

You’re right, I just gave 0.75U. I’m kind of traumatised from her last DKA from reducing insulin I was anxious if I should increase. I just fed her & she’s eating well. I try to give her SQ everyday or every other day if she seems too stressed. They have been helpful reducing the ketones
 
You’re right, I just gave 0.75U. I’m kind of traumatised from her last DKA from reducing insulin I was anxious if I should increase. I just fed her & she’s eating well. I try to give her SQ everyday or every other day if she seems too stressed. They have been helpful reducing the ketones
Being traumatised is normal I think after DKA :bighug:
Yes, sub Q fluids are good for keeping ketones at bay.
Can you keep the SS up to date so we can see the tests come in during the cycle please?. And can you check the thread every so often in case we need to tell you something. We would not suggest skipping with DKA in the recent past.
 
Nothing in the SS, but I can see in the subject line that ketones 0.3. Is that the current test?
0.3 is not a concern for ketones. I would give the 0.75 units, give lots of snacks during the cycle, give the sub Q fluids if they are due and to get some tests in during the cycle so we can see how low the dose is taking Miho.

Yes 0.3 is her current ketone level. Okay, I’ll test again in few hours and feed her well throughout the day
 
BG +3.75 was 112

Quick question
Since I gave insulin an hour late, (PMPS @+1 which was 1:50pm) do I base the time (+1, +2 +3..) on 12:50pm or 1:50pm?

Not sure if I should put down 12:50pm BG or 1:50pm BG (when I gave insulin) on PMPS on my spreadsheet
 
BG +3.75 was 112

Quick question
Since I gave insulin an hour late, (PMPS @+1 which was 1:50pm) do I base the time (+1, +2 +3..) on 12:50pm or 1:50pm?

Not sure if I should put down 12:50pm BG or 1:50pm BG (when I gave insulin) on PMPS on my spreadsheet
The beginning of the cycle starts when you give the dose of insulin. So the +1 is one hour after you gave the insulin.
And the next dose will be 12 hours from the last dose, although you can wind back 1/4 hour twice a day or 1/2 hour once a day.
 
Her AMPS was 202(11.2), I gave the same dose 0.75U. The ketones are 0.0!!! This is a first ever since her DKAs I’m so happy for her . :’) Should I continue with the same dose?
 
Last edited:
Looking at the SS, I can’t see any of the lower numbers now where you had to stall. Or the numbers where you dropped under 50. It is really important we see those in the SS as at the moment it does not reflect the correct picture of what has been happening. It looks like you haven’t had to stall or have dropped low at all which is not the case.
There should be several there from the 7/11 onwards. You can see them in the screen shot I posted in a previous thread.
When you have time would you mind putting them back in please?
 
Looking at the SS, I can’t see any of the lower numbers now where you had to stall. Or the numbers where you dropped under 50. It is really important we see those in the SS as at the moment it does not reflect the correct picture of what has been happening. It looks like you haven’t had to stall or have dropped low at all which is not the case.
There should be several there from the 7/11 onwards. You can see them in the screen shot I posted in a previous thread.
When you have time would you mind putting them back in please?

I got rid of them because they keep getting chopped off by excel you couldn’t see the rest of the numbers last time because of that :( okay I’ll put them back, but let me know if they’re cut off again
 
Thanks for fixing up the stalling boxes. I can see where you are Hmong some trouble with getting all the numbers in the boxes so we can see them. I will tag @Bandit's Mom to see if she can fix it for you.
Really glad to see no ketones! Fabulous!
 
Back
Top