07/22 Abbott AMPS 88

AbbottTheCat

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-21-abbott-amps-101-monitoring.266109/#post-2979002

Hello again, well looks like we have our first ever green AMPS:D

AMPS 88

I shot full dose. Should I get a test 30 min after or +1?

I will need some help today as I have never had to bump him up with carbs. I will be around all day to test.

I have cats in the kitchen weruva pouches variety pack. Never given. Carb % attached.
Also have FF gravy 15%, also never fed.
And honey and karo

upload_2022-7-17_19-50-4-jpeg.64878
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-21-abbott-amps-101-monitoring.266109/#post-2979002

Hello again, well looks like we have our first ever green AMPS:D

AMPS 88

I shot full dose. Should I get a test 30 min after or +1?

I will need some help today as I have never had to bump him up with carbs. I will be around all day to test.

I have cats in the kitchen weruva pouches variety pack. Never given. Carb % attached.
Also have FF gravy 15%, also never fed.
And honey and karo

upload_2022-7-17_19-50-4-jpeg.64878
I think +1 will be soon enough if it makes you feel better. I don't see that he usually goes down by +1 thought (we do have some early divers who do). I always tell people though, if it will make you feel better, go ahead and test sooner (depending on your cat's tolerance for testing, of course.) Sometimes people need to calm their nerves at first and need to know what's going on... so I tell them to go ahead. Up to you, but I think you can wait until +1 and I don't think 30 minutes is going to show you much except a food bump. :-)
 
I think +1 will be soon enough if it makes you feel better. I don't see that he usually goes down by +1 thought (we do have some early divers who do). I always tell people though, if it will make you feel better, go ahead and test sooner (depending on your cat's tolerance for testing, of course.) Sometimes people need to calm their nerves at first and need to know what's going on... so I tell them to go ahead. Up to you, but I think you can wait until +1 and I don't think 30 minutes is going to show you much except a food bump. :)
Hey Suzanne! Ok, I think I will wait till +1 and post back here.
It’s actually my second time shooting full dose green this is just the first AMPS.
Does that mean I get two awards??
I will take em…:D:D
 
Hey Suzanne! Ok, I think I will wait till +1 and post back here.
It’s actually my second time shooting full dose green this is just the first AMPS.
Does that mean I get two awards??
I will take em…:D:D
Yes, I just realized that you've shot green twice already in the PM cycle! I can't believe how well Abbott is doing! But I do remember when you first joined that you threw yourself into this whole thing body and soul and had read EVERYTHING you could get your hands on and I said that would give Abbott a really good shot at regulation and even going "you know what."
 
Yes, I just realized that you've shot green twice already in the PM cycle! I can't believe how well Abbott is doing! But I do remember when you first joined that you threw yourself into this whole thing body and soul and had read EVERYTHING you could get your hands on and I said that would give Abbott a really good shot at regulation and even going "you know what."
Yes! I was waiting 2 weeks until fructo test and decided to not wait until DX to read up and gather supplies and I’m glad I did because I hit the ground running. I am so thankful for the awesome people and great resources here, it’s literally a one-stop shop for anything and everything FD. I wouldn’t be at this point without your help. I can see the finish line now and Abbott is doing so great, symptoms cleared up, playing, zoomies, feel like I got my cat back!
 
Wow, you totally called it with the green AMPS!
So you think he had two nadirs last night? Kinda confused by how he leveled out at +5 but then went lower at some point.
 
Looks like he was flat all night into this morning. Perhaps green late but it’s within meter verity. Congrats on your first a.m. green.
 
His nadir for yesterday's cycle was at +12/AMPS. Food slows him down in first half of bounce clearing cycles but he picks up speed at the end of the cycle - especially without food.
Ok sounds like I need to be getting those late tests. Someone is waiting for his test/feeder :cat:

upload_2022-7-22_8-54-48.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-22_8-54-48.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-22_8-54-48.jpeg
    61.8 KB · Views: 198
Have you all noticed that appetite should slow down once regulated? He is more hungry than ever now, and is always waiting by the feeder. He’s put on over a pound in 2 weeks, maybe from all the treats at testing I guess.
 
Is he underweight at his ideal weight, or extra fluffy? If fluffy cut back a little of the calories. It’s hard to get them to lose weight at least it was for Max. When low they get ravenous and when high so as the pinks leave he shouldn’t be as hungry. Low greens they often go searching for good.
 
Is he underweight at his ideal weight, or extra fluffy? If fluffy cut back a little of the calories. It’s hard to get them to lose weight at least it was for Max. When low they get ravenous and when high so as the pinks leave he shouldn’t be as hungry. Low greens they often go searching for good.
I’m not really sure what his ideal weight is. I’ve seen all the cat body charts but he doesn’t seem overweight. The vet thought he was slightly overweight at 11.4 lbs.

so they are more hungry in the greens?
 
Have you all noticed that appetite should slow down once regulated? He is more hungry than ever now, and is always waiting by the feeder. He’s put on over a pound in 2 weeks, maybe from all the treats at testing I guess.
Really, I am glad he gained weight. Didn’t you want him to gain weight? Hadn’t he lost weight before?
 
I’m not really sure what his ideal weight is. I’ve seen all the cat body charts but he doesn’t seem overweight. The vet thought he was slightly overweight at 11.4 lbs.

so they are more hungry in the greens?
He doesn’t look overweight in his photo sitting at the auto feeder today.
 
He doesn’t look overweight in his photo sitting at the auto feeder today.
If he is overweight it’s only by a pound maybe 1.5. I just don’t want it to get out of hand. I only feed freeze dried treats but have been giving him cut up lamb hearts the last few weeks which have a higher kcal and fat content than the turkey treats he normally gets. Maybe that was it.
 
Maybe get a test later in the cycle (+7 to +9) just for data gathering...if he bounces again tonight, you are good for another increase. We want lower greens and longer stretches of green.
 
Maybe get a test later in the cycle (+7 to +9) just for data gathering...if he bounces again tonight, you are good for another increase. We want lower greens and longer stretches of green.
Ok so even though he’s still dropping skip until +7 or 9? Is this cause he’s flattening out?

also, increase to .25 correct?
 
Ok so even though he’s still dropping skip until +7 or 9? Is this cause he’s flattening out?

also, increase to .25 correct?
He is higher than AMPS at +4 (or flat with meter variance). He will probably head up slowly.

And yes, you would increase by 0.25u.
 
Back
Top