07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132;+14 24 NoshotATrk

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158 Dose HELP A Trak

Zener is dropping out of pink today.

7/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 397
+9 158

Anne is resting comfortably after her surgery and I am trying to make sure she does by taking on Zener's care for a few days. We have been giving him 1.75u for quite awhile now and see this pattern where he keeps getting lower later in the day, making it difficult to give him the full dose in the PM. Should we think about giving a lower dose in the AM, so that his doses are more even. Or continue to give a lesser dose in the PM if his BG values are low? Until Anne recovers, it will be difficult to get more than the AMPS, and +9 or +10, PMPS and +2 or +3.

Thanks for your advice and help!
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158 Dose HELP A Trak

It's best to give the same dose at AM and PM times. For now, one option is dropping the dose to 1.5u if testing is limited and you're worried about Zener's numbers. FWIW, I do think you could shoot the 1.75u dose but how you dose is also a matter of your comfort level. Anne was beginning to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers and you've not yet had to do that. It takes some getting used to.

There is clearly a trade-off here. If you can't stay up to test -- or set an alarm and wake up to test -- there really isn't a good alternative other than to reduce the dose. I know there's also been some concern about Zener's neuropathy. The best way to deal with that, in addition to the methyl-B12 is to get Zener's number down.

I think you're going to need to make a decision about dose based on where your comfort level is.
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158 Dose HELP A Trak

hi again

I'm with Sienne, same dose is best.
I had to drop dose on my kitty Luna too for dear boyfriend who is caring for him while I petsit another kitty or 4, lol
he was struggling with the low numbers, so we dropped the dose a bit.

hopefully what you decide works out for you - you know you can also add a little higher carb food to Zener's food after testing is done, just in case you are not too comfy with lower numbers.

good luck Liz!
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132 Dose HELP A Tra

Thanks Sienne & Ronnie!

Zener is still dropping at +11.5
7/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 397
+9 158
+11.5 132

I don't think I feel very comfortable shooting a dropping number and a low one at that. So, I'll test again in 30 minutes and see where he is. A reduced number seems more comfortable to me right now.
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132 Dose HELP A Tra

I would discourage shooting a dropping number. Usually, if you're planning on stalling, you will shoot your regular dose. If you reduce the dose, don't stall. If you stall AND reduce the dose, the shed it taking a double hit since a stall acts like a dose reduction. (I hope that's not too confusing!)
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132 Dose HELP A Tra

Hi Liz: please tell Anne we are sending healing vines and hope she feels better soon.

I'm also with Sienne that the 1.75u seems like a better dose for him but if you need to reduce him while Anne recovers, you should do so.

The 132 may seem like a dropping number but it's pretty close to meter variance. 132 x 20% = ~26 which is 158. I think that is more of a "surf" but you should do what you are most comfy with.
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132 Dose HELP A Tra

Thanks for your help! This is hard, but I'm just not comfortable with shooting this number and I'm not able to stall so will skip this time. Between caring for Anne and Zener, it's just more than I can do to check through the night. I will decrease to 1.5 tomorrow in the morning and see how he does during the day. I'll post on Zener's SS. Anne will be able to help more in a few more days.
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132;+14 24 NoshotA

Zener is still dropping at +11.5
7/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak 1.75 u
AMPS 397
+9 158
+11.5 132
+12 136 did not shoot
+14 243
 
Re: 07/21/11 Zener AMPS 397;+5 158;+11.5 132;+14 24 NoshotA

Liz --

This is good information for getting comfortable with lower numbers. The one thing I neglected to mention is that when you're giving a shot, while you're considering the pre-shot test, it takes about 2 hours for Lantus onset to begin. So between the natural rise in BG and food, numbers are higher. That's what you saw with Zener's +14. With the benefit of 20/20 hindsight, you'd have been find shooting the 1.75. It's instructive information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top