07/19 Zorro AMPS HI +6 214 +8 97

Zorro's mom

Member Since 2019
Sjoe, this boy is metabolizing the insulin as if he didn't get the note about now being on Levemir instead of Caninsulin :facepalm:
Note the big leaps from test to test, despite me feeding early on in the cycle.

I feel inclined to stick with this dose for a little bit longer instead of increasing, at least until I have tried more ways of feeding to slow down his drop. I think the majority of his bounces these days are from high or fast drops, rather than going low/too low for him.

Since diagnosis late 2017 he's also been on such a rollercoaster himself, what with being on ridiculous doses of Caninsulin from the vet, then a seizure hypo event, then nearly a year of only 2 units of Caninsulin with no home testing (I was clueless and despite enquiries about it our vet dissuaded me), then TR from another forum with +6 dosing of Caninsulin, then the switch to Levemir with +10 dosing...and finally we are here and I feel that his system deserves time to settle now.

I am maybe a bit too emotional or philosophical about it, but that's my feeling. Do experienced members strongly disagree looking at his readings since June 26, 2019 (lower part of SS)? I won't tag anyone so this is just to whoever has time to peek at his SS and consider what I mentioned above.

Thank you! :bighug::cat::coffee:
 
Oh my...he's soaring high today...may have been that 94 yesterday that caused his system to dump the glycogens into his blood stream...hold on...he'll come down.

Also, just a suggestion, but I think that 9% carb is too high...would you be able to find a cat food with lower carb counts? I know availability there in Aus is different than in the US - hopefully you can find some with 0 to less than 5% carbs - sounds like little Zorro might be shy about getting that many carbs...

I found this list among the stickies: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...an-cat-food-list-suitable-for-fd-cats.216897/

Best to you and Zorro today as he finds his way back down from the moon... :)
 
oh Zorro! As you know, I far from being experienced and in the same boat as you. I personally would not increase the dose. When did you star Levemir? From your SS, it looks like right before 06/26 he had overall less blacks and reds...
 
As Sue mentioned, maybe lower carb food could help him (below 5%)! Here is another food list with the carb percentage; you will probably be able to find some that are available in South Africa !
Looking at all the testing on your SS, for sure there must be a pattern that someone with experience will see and from there will be able to guide you!
I think you should tag some folks like: Wendy&Neko, Sienne and Gaby, Bron and Sheba! They will know what to do to help Zorro! :)
 
Back
Top