07/19 Sunshine AMPS 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

PumpkinsMom

Member Since 2011
When I tested Sunnybear at about +11.5, she was 149 and while I know I *could* have shot then, because I don't really know her that well AND it's a new insulin, I decided to wait 20 minutes... Well, 20 minutes became 45 minutes and she was 285 which was a HUGE jump up. If I could have foretold that, I would have definitely shot the 149. Hindsight and all that....

I was getting ready to leave at +5 and gave her a test and was shocked at the 47. I got her to eat some FF Cod, Sole, Shrimp (she hadn't eaten at all today). 20 minutes later she was a less than happy 37. I think Venita knows me enough that I don't panic at asymptomatic hypos but I also didn't want to leave a falling cat at 37. So I broke out some Sheba that the pet sitter had sent. Sunny went to town chowing down on that. She ate about 2/3 of the can in like 2 minutes. After 20 minutes, she was 52. When I came back at about +8, she was 102.

I'm hoping all that high carb food won't send her up too high.
 
Yeah I no longer freak at an symptomatic hypo either just crack open a can of food and feed up. In fact Autumn's dropping like a stone today too.

Hey if she likes Sheba what about their pates? Don't remember the carb counts on them off hand but they're not too bad if I remember correctly. Really like to find something she'll reliably eat. Levemir can have a long hang time.

Jenna,

How much do you know about the differences between Lantus and Levemir? Both of mine are Lev cats currently so if you haven't worked with before I can help either fill in the gaps or give you a brief overview.

She's gonna bounce ugly. Sigh

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I can't remember ever shooting a chicken shot before but I definitely gave her a skinny shot tonight.

I haven't used Lev before but I have IRL and FB friends that use it. I have one cat on Lantus and the other on PZI.

I'm expecting a bounce but hoping that since I shot at 154, she won't sky rocket. Honestly, I expected to see the bounce already. She hasn't eaten yet tonight other than some FDC. I'll try some Sheba pates tomorrow.
 
Gotcha basically the same action as Lantus just most nadir later. Cassanova's is around +9ish and Autumn's around +11ish but its offset by the later onset.

Come on Sunnybear eat your nom noms.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top