07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369, +2.5 197, +5 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

07/18
PMPS 179
+3.5 273
+7 137
+8 105
+9 89
+10.25 104

If anyone has any hints on how to test this new insulin, and save on pokes, strips, and my sleep, please advise.
Should I just get up at +7 or +8 and test until he's back to blue? That's what I did last night, kind of.. Thanks.

J.D. is fine, just ate his 1st breffis, and is messing with his sister.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222 - Testing times question

Good morning,Dyana!
Don't now if this is much help - IWe use lev from May of last year.
Now....I don't test at night. I test at 10:00pm and this is +5 for Jake. Whatever # is -just feed and go to sleep.
J.D. is long time DX and try not to worry to much and You need Your rest and sleep.
You have a nice Day!
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222 - Testing times question

I'd be the wrong person to advise, :lol: as you may know I didn't sleep for the 3 months while on Lantus. Sort of.

But the fact is, you need sleep. How about a compromise?
On a weekend nite, set your alarm for a late cycle test.
Or when you just happen to get up in the middle of the nite for a glass of water or bathroom visit during the week.



I do find evening late nite tests to be helpful, BUT I don't advise it. You can't catch them all, and I learned the hard way. lol!
It will mess your sleep up. Been there, done that.
Other than that a before bedtime test, put food out and go to sleep.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222 - Testing times question

Dyana I am still trying to figure out Lev but it does appear to me that based on the information Pat gave me (which I will try to find and give it to you) that Lev nadirs later in the cycle. If you look at Putty's ss it does seem to be true. His ps's have been lower every other day and his lower numbers are much later in the cycle. He used to nadir at about +5 or +6 now it seems like anywhere between +6 to +10.

It does look like J.D. is doing very well on Lev.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222 - Testing times question

Thanks ladies.

On Lantus: J.D. used to go down pretty much right away after his shot, so I had my schedule set so I could get an almost +2 before leaving for work to make sure he wasn't dive bombing. And I would and arrive home at around +12 (sometimes a bit later) and then I usually was able to get up to a +2 or +2.5 before going to sleep (which was usually enough time to make sure he wasn't plummeting).

On Levemir: J.D. seems to rise for a couple of hours after his shot, and his nadir seems to be around +7 to +9, and is just starting to head back up at PS time. I have adjusted my timed feeders accordingly. I've just been testing (too much) through the night, because of the 30s he got last Wednesday. New insulin..must be careful..I'm a miss scaredy cat, here.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222 - Testing times question

Good morning Dyana and JD! Just going to add my two cents here as far as my testing of Spot in the evening...

He get his insulin at 6 ....he then gets a test at +4 and I set the alarm for +7 and that was it...unless he was really low.

I also believe that JD is looking good on Lev! Glad you switched!
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

gaah.gif
is me.
I drove home boiling hot and sweaty in a car with no air conditioning, got home to a T.V. that won't come on, a running toilet, and a kitty that's high. I opened a cold beer, turned up?/down the air conditioner, fixed the toilet, pounded my fist on the top of the T.V. and it came on :o (interesting), and gave J.D. some R.

I'm tired.. @-)
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

ugh what a day you've had. Try and relax and hopefully J.D. will come down for you and the night will improve.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

Dyana said:
gaah.gif
is me.
I drove home boiling hot and sweaty in a car with no air conditioning, got home to a T.V. that won't come on, a running toilet, and a kitty that's high. I opened a cold beer, turned up?/down the air conditioner, fixed the toilet, pounded my fist on the top of the T.V. and it came on :o (interesting), and gave J.D. some R.

I'm tired.. @-)


Well I don't think I will be coming to visit you anytime soon. :lol:
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

Miriam and Putty said:
Dyana said:
gaah.gif
is me.
I drove home boiling hot and sweaty in a car with no air conditioning, got home to a T.V. that won't come on, a running toilet, and a kitty that's high. I opened a cold beer, turned up?/down the air conditioner, fixed the toilet, pounded my fist on the top of the T.V. and it came on :o (interesting), and gave J.D. some R.

I'm tired.. @-)


Well I don't think I will be coming to visit you anytime soon. :lol:
Thanks Miriam :? guess I said too much.

I think I'll go to the pool, and cool off, once I get my cats back inside..they like this super hot super yucky super humid weather. Yuck! Come on September!
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

Dyana.....please by all means vent. The rest of us certainly do......maybe I should speak for myself and I certainly do.
I hope you know I was only kidding. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

Well Dyana...Shadow seems to go low at +8 or so on Lev. (He can surprise me too at +4 when I have upped his dose so I try to watch him at +3 if there is a doubt) I shoot at 7:45pm so at night, his +8 is at 3:45am. I just watch the +4 at night and if it looks as if he could dive, I get up at the added time of 2:45 to be sure.
You do need your rest. Yes. BUT, if you are the least bit concerned abut him during the night, can you set a separate alarm for the hour that you think he will reach nadir? Truthfully, I have been getting up at that time each morning since Nov. but I don't work! That makes a BIG difference.
I am so used to it that I test and feed and go back to bed. In the morning I am surprised at the number that I wrote down. UNLESS it's LOW and then I bolt awake like lightning. :o :shock: . If it's just a nice number, i realize that I am still basically asleep so it doesn't register.
I will try to find that post to Miriam that I wrote....from Monique about levemir action....
brb...
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369

Here is what Monique relayed to me from something she read from Steve & Jock

But note: Levemir's action is sensitive to two things:
1)Dosage. If you're giving a bit less than optimal, peak time will be shortened. Too much, and peak time will be later.
2)Previous dose. Levemir leaves a "storage shed" of previous doses which keep blood sugar lower, so if previous doses were inadequate, current dose will be less effective.

The tendency for the nadir to be later and the largest drop occurring between +7 and the nadir at approx +10 (even more so than with lantus) and following the nadir a slow rise and frequently I have noticed a "dip" again at Preshot. So the +10 is nadir then a slight rise and a little drop to just above or almost the same as nadir (double nadir?) then a rise continuing about +3 to +4 into the next cycle.
This is of course when the dose is just right. When it's too low, then the nadir comes sooner and is not as low and the rise begins earlier and is higher, leading to a much higher following preshot.

When the dose is too high the peak will come later often after +12 (which would be +1 to +3 in the next cycle)

Does that make sense?

I found that the nadir changes depending on the dose...and food...and...well...you know...
EVERYTHING!
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369, +2.5 197

Thanks for digging that out for me Pat. His nadirs are definitely later than with Lantus, and I thought (at first anyway) that he wasn't bouncing as high. At least (she knocks hard three times on wood) his bounces are not was long and drawn out.

Okay, (I feel like a newby), he's at 197 at +2.5. His nadir is at +7. I'm tired and sleep deprived.
What I've been doing is setting an alarm for around +7 and then testing every hour until +10 or so. I will learn to sleep for one hour at a time... she chants. Sorry, I'm crazy :o
So, he's at 197. On Lantus, I would have expected him to keep dropping, but on Lev, he normally rises for a few hours after his shot. I think I'll try to sleep until +6. Does that sound okay? I'm so confused, all over again, and not thinking straight.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369, +2.5 197

If you check him at +6, will he eat then? I would try to get him to eat at +6 and maybe that will keep him surfing. +6 should give you a good idea of how he is dropping. Feed and then you can probably sleep for an hour or so longer depending on how low he is. Maybe he will surf nicely for you tonight.

Do you feed him before you go to sleep?
(I feed at +4 and then again at either +7 or +8.)

Sleep deprivation is a terrible thing.....and those are killer hours you work girl! Yipes!
Noticed on your SS.
I know how you feel though, about checking during the night. (Shadow doesn't always eat when he is low so IF he is <50 I sometimes have to syringe the gravy into him)

J.D. is just looking SO good! Use the food to keep him steady. Know what I mean?
I don't know if you have to do all that checking once he is on the rise. Sleep then ....right?
I hope someone else with more experience will chime in here....cause I know nothing about the other insulin you are using too.
 
Re: 07/19 J.D. AMPS 222, PMPS 369, +2.5 197

I admire all of you who test thru the night :-D I have such a terrible time getting up in the night I stay so fatigued so i think everyone in LL who tests thru the night deserves a medal in my book anyway great +2.5 J.D.
 
He purringly insisted I do a +5. I'll feed and get up again at +6..
He ate at PMPS and at +2.5 right befoe I went to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top