07/19 Eddie AMPS 459 +3 338

Was 6/8 the last time you started a new cartridge? My comments on treatment I will post on your acro forum post.

As for this dose, IAA (or any other insulin resistance like glucose toxicity) doesn't take kindly to holding doses too long or tiny increases. You've been on 12 units for 7 cycles and could have increased after 6. I would do a 1.0 unit increase as soon as possible. Though I would wait until tomorrow morning now. Tonight will be six cycles after that steep drop that caused this bounce, so not a good cycle to increase. Please try to remember, it's not the high points that determine how we change the dose, but the nadirs.
 
Was 6/8 the last time you started a new cartridge? My comments on treatment I will post on your acro forum post.

As for this dose, IAA (or any other insulin resistance like glucose toxicity) doesn't take kindly to holding doses too long or tiny increases. You've been on 12 units for 7 cycles and could have increased after 6. I would do a 1.0 unit increase as soon as possible. Though I would wait until tomorrow morning now. Tonight will be six cycles after that steep drop that caused this bounce, so not a good cycle to increase. Please try to remember, it's not the high points that determine how we change the dose, but the nadirs.

I will increase his dose in the morning to 13u. As for holding doses too long, I'm a bit confused since we were on 11.5u for such a long time and I was hearing that I ought not to rush to increase. Maybe I'm totally misunderstanding TR. In any case, I will increase tomorrow. I'll be home all day and way on Thursday for only a short time (1.5 hours) during the day. Sorry if I seem to be crashing around. In any case, Eddie is having a blood panel and urinalysis next Monday. Is there any other test you think I should ask to be done?
 
Yes, you did hold 11.5 units for too long. It was OK to hold for 10 cycles, as you did see a green. But since he didn't get back to green after that, you should have increased after 10 cycles on that dose. With blue nadirs, you hold 6-10 cycles. Since you've only seen higher blues, I wouldn't wait the full 10 cycles.

Some people are more cautious than others when it comes to dosing suggestions. TR is safe, if you follow it's guidelines and test enough to catch the lows.

As for blood work, is that the geri-panel? Just want to make sure the T4 test is included. Though I don't know what makes sense to test for with a cat with a partial hypophysectomy followed by SRT. For SRT, regular checks of the thyroid numbers are recommended. I guess it's a good idea to check he's on the right strength of meds. How is Eddie acting/behaving? Anything (ignoring his BG numbers) seem off to you?
 
Yes, you did hold 11.5 units for too long. It was OK to hold for 10 cycles, as you did see a green. But since he didn't get back to green after that, you should have increased after 10 cycles on that dose. With blue nadirs, you hold 6-10 cycles. Since you've only seen higher blues, I wouldn't wait the full 10 cycles.

Some people are more cautious than others when it comes to dosing suggestions. TR is safe, if you follow it's guidelines and test enough to catch the lows.

As for blood work, is that the geri-panel? Just want to make sure the T4 test is included. Though I don't know what makes sense to test for with a cat with a partial hypophysectomy followed by SRT. For SRT, regular checks of the thyroid numbers are recommended. I guess it's a good idea to check he's on the right strength of meds. How is Eddie acting/behaving? Anything (ignoring his BG numbers) seem off to you?

I'm going to make a note of all that and tape it to the cupboard...

If I'm cautious about insulin it's about increasing not the other way around. Insulin somehow seems, well, a volatile substance. Weird, I know...

Anyway, I'm make sure he get the T4 test and to put the question of medications up front.

Eddie is odd: if there's ever any differences in his demeanour it's that when his BG is high, his eyes are a strange green/yellow. When he's in the blue zone, his eyes look normal. He' s got the 5Ps down and is currently in his cat tower after getting his insulin and his snack. Whenever he's in good BG numbers, he purrs. He even purrs when he's getting tested. Otherwise, nothing is off. He even went outside in the catio today in the sun. When I called him for dinner he ran all the way into the kitchen. :cat:
 
Glad to hear nothing is off. That would eliminate something like infection/inflammation impacting his numbers. But the blood work/urinalysis will be a good confirmation.
 
Sending big hugs to you @Jodey&Eddie :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I can "hear" the anxiety in your post. We all hate high BG's, it makes us Caregivers feel horrible and though I can't prove it scientifically, I always thought the kitty can feel it. I am so glad to read Eddie's 5P's are in place, that is good! :) I know it's hard but remember whatever the dose of insulin is needed, that is what is needed(It was hard for me too, I felt sure my Tiger was going downhill due to my ineptitude:nailbiting:!!!) FD is a dance, that's what these experienced people taught me, Eddie leads and you get to follow. You are doing a wonderful job, :bighug:it's a hard dance to learn. Eddie is very blessed and I also know you have another kitty to watch over. Big hugs to you!
 
Sending big hugs to you @Jodey&Eddie :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I can "hear" the anxiety in your post. We all hate high BG's, it makes us Caregivers feel horrible and though I can't prove it scientifically, I always thought the kitty can feel it. I am so glad to read Eddie's 5P's are in place, that is good! :) I know it's hard but remember whatever the dose of insulin is needed, that is what is needed(It was hard for me too, I felt sure my Tiger was going downhill due to my ineptitude:nailbiting:!!!) FD is a dance, that's what these experienced people taught me, Eddie leads and you get to follow. You are doing a wonderful job, :bighug:it's a hard dance to learn. Eddie is very blessed and I also know you have another kitty to watch over. Big hugs to you!

Thank you so much! It's so true about the anxiety. Some days it's ok to be working through it with Eddie; other days, it's like one more thing and I'll go ballistic! I keep apologizing to Eddie for poking him and I'm sure he's sick of it. Blue, Eddie's brother is scheduled for dental in September and that will be a relief. Yesterday, though, I had to take one of the other cats (I live with four of them), Stevie, (after Stevie Nicks) to the vet because she was limping quite a bit!!! I thought Noooooooooo! And we determined she may have sprained her "ankle" (do cats have ankles?) running from the 4th cat (Ollie, Flame-point Siamese, bad boy, 3 years old). And then the vet said, "Hey, we need to do a dental on Stevie. Let us send you an estimate!" Is my hair on fire yet?

But back to Eddie. I'll post a thread for today but I've increased to 13u (black kitty, lucky number) and am home for the most part and can monitor next few days.

Phew! But thanks again!! Hope you are doing ok...
 
Back
Top