07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 +10.5=160 PMPS=321

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100157

Furball was happy & purry this morning. She wanted lots of loving. cat_pet_icon

A couple of days ago Sienne had mentioned I might want to try switching from the SLGS to the TR protocol. One of my concerns was that during the week I can't get nadir tests and would be making dose changes without knowing how low Furball goes. I was thinking about increasing Furball's dose tomorrow in anticipation of the weekend and realized I will be changing her dose without a nadir test. My question is, how dangerous is it to change the dose without knowing the nadir on a regular basis? Right now I am just guessing she isn't going that low and needs an increase. I realized I have done that sometimes, but it is right before the weekend when I can monitor her. I don't want to start making dose changes in the middle of the week when I can't monitor her if she might go too low. Thanks for your input.
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

Morning Carla,

I can't give dose advice, but I always liked to do it closer to or on weekends when I would be home to moniter too. Makes it less stressful :-D

Glad Furball is her lovey self, and hope you have a great day!

Jane
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

Morning Carla,

Hugs and scritches to Furball, I have missed all my friends here. Regarding dosing changes, I can't give advice, but want to sympathize. I almost always came home at lunch time for a test with Zeus but I still worried about those dose increases and how low he might go. I think that is just part of the dance. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Have a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

Kathie, thanks for stopping by. I've been keeping you in my prayers. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

Thank you Carla, it has been a rough couple of weeks... That's for sure. I haven't really known what to do with myself. But, I do feel a bit better when I can be here and reading about how everyone is doing. :smile:
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

Morning Carla, those are some good questions and concerns about the dose and TR. I know you'll get some good feedback. Have a good day and scritche to Furball and civvies.
So nice to see Kathie on the Board. We miss her.
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

There are a lot of people here who follow TR and work or are in school (or both). Unless you can't leave the house and test every hour, it's inevitable that you'll miss a nadir. I'm fairly certain I missed Gabby going low a couple of days ago.

I think you have to weigh whether not being 100% sure of where a nadir falls vs. hanging on to a dose too long is having the biggest impact on numbers. You're comfort is also a factor. I do think that not all dose increases have an effect on numbers when you want them to. You could raise the dose on Friday evening and Furball may not respond until Monday. These kitties don't always do what we want!
 
Re: 07/18 Furball +10.25=244 AMPS=257 Dose Change ?

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

I can so sympathize with the dosing question. I too liked to make changes when I knew I could be around to monitor Mannie. When we first started here I was working, never had a chance to know what Mannie did during the day. I'd get that AM +1, and that was all I knew until I came home at night for pmps. I used the PM cycles, and the weekends, to try and get a handle on how he responded, how cycles worked for him, when nadir was. I know for sure I missed many a low readings. It is so hard when one works. Mannie was also a kitty that took forever to respond to a dose change, it could be days before I'd see it kick in. I considered myself in the TR group, but knew too that there were days I had to do what I knew would work for Mannie, and that wasn't always TR. We did what we could. I wish you luck.

Have a great day today - I hope all goes well. Furball: how about some blues today?
 
Thanks everyone for your advice and support. I think Furball read her condo and saw I was thinking about increasing her dose. That's a big bounce. It makes me wonder how low she went today.

I'm not going to increase right now, but I may try increasing some during the week if it looks like she needs it even if I can't get a nadir test. I'll have to play it by ear as we go along.
 
Man, these kitties just don't like to ease our nerves, do they! Her am cycle actually looks pretty nice and then BOING BOING! :roll: Hope she slides down from that pmps. Happy Fursday, Carla!
 
Hi Carla,
I know what you mean too.
Wouldn't it be soooo much easier if our sugar kitties nadir at the same time every day, or drop at the same rate every day?
I hope you'll come up with a good dosing strategy that works for both Furball and you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top