07/17 Small Kitty amps 398 +3 362 +5 355 +10 250 - pmps 182 +2.5 194 +4 121 heading for green

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Good morning everybody,

Looks like Small Kitty is still able to get high :(

After so much green during the last few cycles it's not surprising..

This dose seems to good but slightly too high for the night shift.

Who knows if going down into the blue instead of green would not
avoid high early numbers ?

Will see what current dose does during the day shift, going to test until nadir is cached.

Going back to bed, long nights are not common to my system anymore :)

Happy Sunday all !

Sébastien

Yesterday :

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...66-1-205-5-148-6-88-7-108-green-night.161407/
 
Looks like a bounce for SK.

That 88 on the AT more than earned SK a reduction on SLGS to 1.75u

From the SLGS sticky:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
The figure quoted above is for a human meter, which typically reads lower than a AT, ie that 88 you got on the AT would have likely been a significant amount lower had you measured with a human meter.

With that high AMPS you may be ok as SK may be starting a bounce, but I think you should probably take the reduction to 1.75 tonight, given SK's history I'll try and see if I can get some more experienced members to pop buy and see if they agree. The reason I am hesitating is because I am wondering if the the depot from the 2.25u could still be in play, and with DKA in the history just want to be sure we don't take SK down too fast, but also it's important to keep SK safe while you are out at work etc. and also there is the vacation dose in the back of my mind for next week, though a lot can change between now and then.

Are you going to run that curve today??
 
Good Morning Sebastien ~ it does look like this dose is too high for SK since he popped you a 88 last night which is a reduction number. And this was after a dose that was cut in half the night before and a skipped shot the night before that. It looks like you shot 2 units this morning but tonight maybe you should give the reduction of .25 units .

ETA: Let's see what others say.
 
Last edited:
Woah, look at Small Kitty work the juice! Nice job!! :D Don't stay too long on the trampoline please.
 
:(:(:( Sky high bounce (362 at +3) :(:(:(

Guess any kind of curve is worthless today ? Remember the words of a member
saying the she or he, was taking these days as a break for testing..

It's beautiful sky out there..
.
 
With current high numbers, is .25 reduction coming at the right time (next shot) ?

SLGS says :
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
With current high numbers, is .25 reduction coming at the right time (next shot) ?

Yes, take the reduction tonight, remember, you dose based on how low the dose took kitty, 2u took kitty well below the reduction point of 90 (human meter) for SLGS. (that 88 would have been lower on a human meter)
Todays cycle is a bounce, yes the numbers are high but you shouldn't let them influence you dosing , the 88 last night is your reference, that calls for a reduction on SLGS. Holding on to this dose longer, could see SK go much lower, which given your availability for monitoring mid week would probably not be the safest choice.
If I was in your situation, much as I would hate seeing the pinks, all things considered, I would take the reduction.
 
Yes, take the reduction tonight, remember, you dose based on how low the dose took kitty, 2u took kitty well below the reduction point of 90 (human meter) for SLGS. (that 88 would have been lower on a human meter)
Todays cycle is a bounce, yes the numbers are high but you shouldn't let them influence you dosing , the 88 last night is your reference, that calls for a reduction on SLGS. Holding on to this dose longer, could see SK go much lower, which given your availability for monitoring mid week would probably not be the safest choice.
If I was in your situation, much as I would hate seeing the pinks, all things considered, I would take the reduction.


That's amazing how much less insulin Small Kitty would need in less then 10 days.
One unit sounds like a huge reduction in such little time lap. Hope that's not going to
bring him in constant red ending in a dose dance. Small Kitty is so unpredictable..

I'm sure there was a jammed pipe in the fuel system and now the juice is running fine.
Should have opened the engine cover to look for leaks way before .:)
.
 
Wondering why I'm at home on a sunny day ?

Trying to plan my next week trip to a town out of nowhere (Oshkosh, Wi)..
Seems all imaginable scenarios to get back to Montreal on time for work
are dead ends :(... Might have to change plan or stay home for vacation..
That's the price to pay when you can't drive (epilepsy)...
 
I would stop trying to do a curve today. Fortunately you got good information yesterday that can be used for your dose changes.

I would also take the dose reduction. Sometimes when kitties finally hit the right dose and begin coming down the dosing scale, they can come down quickly. If it's too much too quickly, then you'll see it and have to go back up. As Gill said, the 88 last night is making your dose decisions, not the 300's this morning. This is a bounce and it will pass.
 
Sebastien said:
What if this a ''life long'' bounce, that previous days were just for my beautiful eyes...and increase my moral

Sigh.... I may have to find a prize that you would easily win for the member who can think in the most catastrophic manner. I've been here over 7 years now. I've never seen a "life long" bounce. And yes, it's SK's job to be unpredictable and make you crazy. It's your job to not turn yourself inside out and allow your cat to take the lead in this sugar dance! The more stress you become, the more you communicate that stress to SK. Stress raises BG (both yours and your cat's!!).
 
I would stop trying to do a curve today. Fortunately you got good information yesterday that can be used for your dose changes.

I would also take the dose reduction. Sometimes when kitties finally hit the right dose and begin coming down the dosing scale, they can come down quickly. If it's too much too quickly, then you'll see it and have to go back up. As Gill said, the 88 last night is making your dose decisions, not the 300's this morning. This is a bounce and it will pass.

A long time ago (not years :)), I was told just that regarding the right dose. That when you hit
the jackpot it can drop very quickly ! Hope this down drop is not due to an undetected
infection that might come back. Small Kitty doesn't have the most beautiful dentition
but you must decide on where you put your investment when on a low budget.

Thanks for sharing your point of view.

.
 
Heck, seems Small Kitty has cleared the bounce within a cycle ???? Made 2 test and still yellow !!!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Surprises, there is plenty of them in his ''pocket''.

+10 250 !!!


Even better, my trip to Wisconsin was mission impossible.. New destination for next week
Montreal - Chicago - Seattle - Montreal. An hidden airshow not advertised in the aviation community is planned in Seattle !! Plenty of rare airplanes close to the hotel.

See you another year Oshkosh, you're too messy.
 
Heck, seems Small Kitty has cleared the bounce within a cycle ???? Made 2 test and still yellow !!!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Surprises, there is plenty of them in his ''pocket''.

+10 250 !!!


Even better, my trip to Wisconsin was mission impossible.. New destination for next week
Montreal - Chicago - Seattle - Montreal. An hidden airshow not advertised in the aviation community is planned in Seattle !! Plenty of rare airplanes close to the hotel.

See you another year Oshkosh, you're too messy.


SK is clearing bounces much faster than a while back. Tonight's cycle might be interesting!
 
He's rising (194 @+2.5) but only tomorrow morning will tell us the true.

(results might be falsified, trainee coming to watch)

Small Kitty has seen him before but visitors is never something Small Kitty has liked...

Bed time, good night if it's your turn !

Sébastien
.
 
Humm, just been woke up by physiological need + cry of the wild from Small Kitty.

Even with reduced dose, seems Small Kitty's plumbing is flowing with no resistance...

He's at a lower GL with 1.75 then yesterday an hour later at 2.0. (121 at +4 now / 148 at +5 yesterday).
Sounds he's going head first to the green...

REALLY have to get my minimum hours of sleep so cannot test later but guess the Super Ball will go
skyward tomorrow morning..

Humm, capricious this Small Kitty...

.
 
I think maybe you need some new batteries in your remote control....LOL
flying-toy-airplane-smiley-emoticon.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top