07/17 Mowgli AMPS 340 PMPS 250 +2 65 +2.5 45 +3 54 +3.5 63 +4.5 112 +5.5 209

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
07/16 Condo

Mowg and I had a slumber party last night! My favourite on a work night! He stayed safe the whole time, but of course today he is bouncing :rolleyes::rolleyes: He earned a reduction back to 1u so I hope he does better with it this time.

I had set an alarm last night for +8 but I foolishly left my phone in the bed between myself and my SO and I think he turned the alarm off before I woke up :eek: Mowgli’s fine today anyway so fortunately it worked out :)

Hope everyone has a great day :)
 
Wow, what a night you had Amanda! Hope Mowgli continues to surf down after the boing this morning! :D:D:D:p
I hope you're not too exhausted to have a wonderful day! :):coffee::)
 
Wow, what a night you had Amanda! Hope Mowgli continues to surf down after the boing this morning! :D:D:D:p
I hope you're not too exhausted to have a wonderful day! :):coffee::)
YES!! thanks for the reminder!! :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:

I'm glad that Mowgli stayed safe last night, I need to have a chat with him to let him know there are better ways to get my attention ;)

How the day will go for me remains to be seen, I am definitely exhausted BUT with some Coffee fuel on board I think I can manage :D
 
Yay for the reduction:)....good job Mowgli.

I hope you stop bouncing soon and bring your Mommy some more green numbers:D:D
Thanks Debra! I hope he clears the bounce quickly too! I find he usually does in these situations *knocks on wood* I hope he does do better on 1u than he had previously.
 
I think that is how I've avoided bounces...food! T has an open food policy so he seems to be managing his own curve for the most part!
I feed the same way! but I'm wondering if i just need a little higher carb % LC food at the front... who knows? Mowgli likes to keep me guessing ;)
 
I feed the same way! but I'm wondering if i just need a little higher carb % LC food at the front... who knows? Mowgli likes to keep me guessing ;)

Worth a try! I have some of the dry that he eats out & its interesting that the only time he touches it, if he touches it, is over the early morning hours which is exactly when his BG drops!
 
:coffee::coffee::coffee: :bighug::bighug:

thanks for the invitation to the pj party -- yes, I could've taken the shot, it was all loaded and sitting there -- well, I was there with you in spirit anyway

Catcat was sticking his tongue out at me this morning :p -- and as usual begging for food

cheers to Mowgli -- you can tell him I said SETTLE DOWN and enjoy 1u
 
:coffee::coffee::coffee: :bighug::bighug:

thanks for the invitation to the pj party -- yes, I could've taken the shot, it was all loaded and sitting there -- well, I was there with you in spirit anyway

Catcat was sticking his tongue out at me this morning :p -- and as usual begging for food

cheers to Mowgli -- you can tell him I said SETTLE DOWN and enjoy 1u
I will relay the message!! Do you hear Candy, Mowgli?! she's telling you to simmer down!

I could sense you there in spirit with me... but also you were actually present for quite a bit :D

I have 20oz of coffee locked and loaded but I may need more :cat::cat::coffee::cat::cat:
 
If he's hungry, why not feed him? I find frequent small meals help level things out - plus the persistent begging eases off too...many people here free feed - you can leave FF wet - low carb food out - unless he needs to lose weight - just curious why not feed him?

Hope you get some rest - sounds like an interesting night. Nice work on the reducie!
 
If he's hungry, why not feed him? I find frequent small meals help level things out - plus the persistent begging eases off too...many people here free feed - you can leave FF wet - low carb food out - unless he needs to lose weight - just curious why not feed him?

Hope you get some rest - sounds like an interesting night. Nice work on the reducie!
I actually do free feed Mowgli... I'm talking more about kind of spiking his food when he first chows down at AMPS/PMPS with a higher % LC food. Usually for AM he gets 1.5 cans FF or 3/4 can friskies and PMPS 1 can FF or 3/4 can Friskies. He isn't the type to gorge himself so I feel comfortable doing that :)

One thing I have considered though is taking his food up to our bathroom in the evening as I think he kind of gets Lazy and won't go downstairs to eat at night :rolleyes: That could be dangerous if he ever plummets at sometime after my night time tests.

It was definitely an interesting night, but I am thankful that *so far* Mowgli has been fairly consistent and predictable in these events.
  • Bungee from Yellow to Blue around +2
  • Free fall to Green +3/4
  • Nadir +4-6
  • on the way up by +7
I hope he keeps this pattern if he stays a stunt man with crazy drops... I would prefer his cycle flatten out though. :)

For today... I am at work... no rest for me! hopefully Mowgli wont have any antics tonight on 1u and we will get a good sleep in :D
 
I actually do free feed Mowgli... I'm talking more about kind of spiking his food when he first chows down at AMPS/PMPS with a higher % LC food. Usually for AM he gets 1.5 cans FF or 3/4 can friskies and PMPS 1 can FF or 3/4 can Friskies. He isn't the type to gorge himself so I feel comfortable doing that :)

One thing I have considered though is taking his food up to our bathroom in the evening as I think he kind of gets Lazy and won't go downstairs to eat at night :rolleyes: That could be dangerous if he ever plummets at sometime after my night time tests.

It was definitely an interesting night, but I am thankful that *so far* Mowgli has been fairly consistent and predictable in these events.
  • Bungee from Yellow to Blue around +2
  • Free fall to Green +3/4
  • Nadir +4-6
  • on the way up by +7
I hope he keeps this pattern if he stays a stunt man with crazy drops... I would prefer his cycle flatten out though. :)

For today... I am at work... no rest for me! hopefully Mowgli wont have any antics tonight on 1u and we will get a good sleep in :D

Ah, I see what you mean. Luci is a drama queen too - does the same thing - sometimes she's high and then takes off and does a high-dive into the middle of the lagoon - surprises the heck out of me!!! I've had many wranglings with her food - trying to get her to eat a little more of something if i suspect she's going to do a header - but that's backfired on me many times and her next number would be higher - she never tells me when she's throwing off the parachute and is roaring away to the lagoon.

That's one of the reasons I switched to Levemir. It's supposed to help level things off and hopefully will prevent some of these super high dive routines of hers.

It's a tricky game - just be persistent and keep doing what you've been doing...one thing for sure about these FD cats - they're unpredictable as all get out.

Hope you can stay awake at work - be safe and enjoy your day! :bighug:
 
I actually do free feed Mowgli... I'm talking more about kind of spiking his food when he first chows down at AMPS/PMPS with a higher % LC food. Usually for AM he gets 1.5 cans FF or 3/4 can friskies and PMPS 1 can FF or 3/4 can Friskies. He isn't the type to gorge himself so I feel comfortable doing that :)

One thing I have considered though is taking his food up to our bathroom in the evening as I think he kind of gets Lazy and won't go downstairs to eat at night :rolleyes: That could be dangerous if he ever plummets at sometime after my night time tests.

It was definitely an interesting night, but I am thankful that *so far* Mowgli has been fairly consistent and predictable in these events.
  • Bungee from Yellow to Blue around +2
  • Free fall to Green +3/4
  • Nadir +4-6
  • on the way up by +7
I hope he keeps this pattern if he stays a stunt man with crazy drops... I would prefer his cycle flatten out though. :)

For today... I am at work... no rest for me! hopefully Mowgli wont have any antics tonight on 1u and we will get a good sleep in :D

I hope the coffee keeps you going :)! I like your descriptions of bungee & free fall----boy, do those words describe some of the falls PERFECTLY:p! I do move food into my master bedroom at night & that does make a difference with re: to him eating more during the night.
 
I've been adding extra virgin olive oil to Catcat's main meals at shot time, also probiotics (I take them, share the capsule with him), that slight extra calorie load seems to keep him a bit more satisfied (except this morning when he was influenced by the no-shot night), sometimes also a dried sardine, extra omegas 3 & 6, has cleared up that awful dandruff problem too
 
I've been adding extra virgin olive oil to Catcat's main meals at shot time, also probiotics (I take them, share the capsule with him), that slight extra calorie load seems to keep him a bit more satisfied (except this morning when he was influenced by the no-shot night), sometimes also a dried sardine, extra omegas 3 & 6, has cleared up that awful dandruff problem too
Interesting! how much Olive oil do you use? What pro-biotic? where do you get dried sardines?
 
olive oil == a splash into the bowl (don't measure it probably close to a teaspoonful); probiotic == PB8 from Northwest Naturals, intended for human use, I happened to have it on hand for myself; YF&P (local pet/feed store) carries dry sardines from www.tgipt.com The Granville Island Pet Treatery out of Vancouver BC Canada

may be able to get dry sardines/herring/anchovies from a store carrying Oriental food supplies, same place you can get bonito flakes, both are used to make broth as a first step in many dishes -- human grade, cheaper, bigger packages
 
olive oil == a splash into the bowl (don't measure it probably close to a teaspoonful); probiotic == PB8 from Northwest Naturals, intended for human use, I happened to have it on hand for myself; YF&P (local pet/feed store) carries dry sardines from www.tgipt.com The Granville Island Pet Treatery out of Vancouver BC Canada

may be able to get dry sardines/herring/anchovies from a store carrying Oriental food supplies, same place you can get bonito flakes, both are used to make broth as a first step in many dishes -- human grade, cheaper, bigger packages
I like the idea of working some fats into his diet :D I will have to have a look around ;)
 
+2 is 65, quite a drop from his PMPS, since it’s such a drastic +2 drop what should my next steps be? MC? I have grilled tuna feast that using guaranteed analysis ( less accurate than the list I know) is 15%

Should I grab +2.5 or +3?
 
Additionally, technically this would qualify Mowgli for a reduction... but it would be a back to back reduction. Thoughts?
 
WOW -- Mowgli's pancreas must be percolating -- I'd expect that sort of drop on Vetsulin, not Lantus

maybe I need to send Blake-the-dog over to chew up that bungee cord Mowgli keeps playing with

no, no, not ANOTHER short night so soon !
 
WOW -- Mowgli's pancreas must be percolating -- I'd expect that sort of drop on Vetsulin, not Lantus

maybe I need to send Blake-the-dog over to chew up that bungee cord Mowgli keeps playing with

no, no, not ANOTHER short night so soon !
Please do send Blake, tell Mowgli he’s “cut off”
 
Looks like he isn't lingering over the bounce from last night, he's clearing it with some good momentum. I would feed some higher LC to try and flatten him out, if he were Mav, but I don't know how carb sensitive Mowgli is. it might be worth seeing where he is at in 1/2 hour. These early drops can be scary, but he's still in good numbers. He's under your reducie point, so I'd like him to flatten out now ;)
 
I’m not sure about the back to back reduction. I would wait and see how this cycle plays out. I would probably test again in 30 min to see if still dropping. Did you get a second test to make sure that was an accurate reading?
I didn’t take a second test but this was a similar pattern to last night. Stand by for the +2.5 :)

Re the back to back: if this cycle goes low, would it be the type of situation that we would skip the AM shot to drain the depot and start back at 1u at tomorrow’s PM shot?
 
Looks like he isn't lingering over the bounce from last night, he's clearing it with some good momentum. I would feed some higher LC to try and flatten him out, if he were Mav, but I don't know how carb sensitive Mowgli is. it might be worth seeing where he is at in 1/2 hour. These early drops can be scary, but he's still in good numbers. He's under your reducie point, so I'd like him to flatten out now ;)
Ditto!! Flatten out please Mowg! Back to back late nights makes me a poor employee in the morning. o_O

I have had numbers like this at +2 before but I’m a little more concerned tonight because, like you said he’s really clearing the morning bounce with momentum and his drop from PMPS is pretty hard. He’s receptive to carbs and usually I can feed him through his lows fairly successfully.
 
Ditto!! Flatten out please Mowg! Back to back late nights makes me a poor employee in the morning. o_O

I have had numbers like this at +2 before but I’m a little more concerned tonight because, like you said he’s really clearing the morning bounce with momentum and his drop from PMPS is pretty hard. He’s receptive to carbs and usually I can feed him through his lows fairly successfully.
That’s good that he responds to carbs. He surfed last night. So paws crossed that happens again tonight.
 
I didn’t take a second test but this was a similar pattern to last night. Stand by for the +2.5 :)

Re the back to back: if this cycle goes low, would it be the type of situation that we would skip the AM shot to drain the depot and start back at 1u at tomorrow’s PM shot?
No, I don't think so. He's just really quick to clear the bounce, but ideally you want to see what 1u can do. Depends on this cycle, but what @Chubba (GA) was referring to is going down to 0.75u right away tomorrow since you just reduced. You might see a bounce again tomorrow am, so no skip would be required.
 
at least in spirit, Blake the dog (half Siberian husky, half black Lab) is on his way ... he chews up any and all leashes, car seatbelts, etc

not sure why, I have his pic in Paint but somehow can't get it to copy here
 
Back
Top