07/17/11 Zener PMPS 314; +2 252; +3 232 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 7/16/11

Yesterday's wild ride summarized:
7-16-11 Alpha Trak 18th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 295
+6 143
+12 136
+12.5 175
+13/PMPS 173 - gave regular dose 1.75 u, 19th cycle at 1.75 u, ate 0.5 oz LC wet food
+1 185 - ate 1 oz combo of freeze dried chicken and little friskies chicken pate
+2 94 - has not eaten much since PM shot, giving 3 semi soft treats mixed in with 1 oz little friskies pate and he is eating
+2.5 84 - still dropping, fed 2 semi soft treats, 1 tsp fancy feast chicken florentine
+3 86 - fed 1 T fancy feast chicken florentine with 1 tsp karo
+3.5 136
+4.5 164
+6 205
+11 266

Thanks to all who helped me last night - it was nerve wracking! Zener however took it all in stride and was cool as a cucumber. I will definitely need a Sunday afternoon nap today. Today is another adventure!

7-17-11 Alpha Trak 20th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 275 - 20th cycle at 1.75 u
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275 A Trak

Yay....I might as well have gotten back up to check on you because I couldn't sleep :lol: :lol: :lol: I was certain he'd keep going up so I made myself stay in bed until Gracie's +7.

Hope you got a little rest. Good job last night...and now you know how to handle low numbers.

One thought: until you hear from Jill or Libby or Sienne, you might want to catch him before he drops that low; he was pretty low for a CH kitty. I'm glad he proved he can handle it, too.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275 A Trak

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Yay....I might as well have gotten back up to check on you because I couldn't sleep :lol: :lol: :lol: I was certain he'd keep going up so I made myself stay in bed until Gracie's +7.

I'm sorry you couldn't sleep and very grateful for all your help and support. You were right in your prediction and considering how unpredictable Zener seems to be, perhaps you should go to Vegas! I hope Gracie will behave herself tonight!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hope you got a little rest. Good job last night...and now you know how to handle low numbers.
Yes, I did sleep about 5 uninterrupted hours. Thanks and I hope I don't have to handle low numbers like that too many nights in a row!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
One thought: until you hear from Jill or Libby or Sienne, you might want to catch him before he drops that low; he was pretty low for a CH kitty. I'm glad he proved he can handle it, too.
I agree, if I see him starting the drop today, I'll get the MC in right away and switch to HC if it looks like a big one. I'll get the HC food you suggested today and have a supply on hand as what I had wasn't as high as I thought!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Have a great day!!
Same back at you and Gracie. Zener and I really appreciate you staying up with us.
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275 A Trak

hi anne. sienne asked me to stop by. i'm so glad marjorie and sienne were around to lend a hand last night. i know it's a little nerve wracking to dip into green numbers when you're not used to seeing them, but you did great and so did zener. good job ladies!

you may remember me mentioning how we might have to readjust our thinking a little bit by lowering zener's target range for nadir an attempt to lower the entire range once you were back from vacation. after seeing how well he responded to FF chicken florentine (11% carbs), i'm comfortable with letting him drop into the mid-80s on the alphatrak when you know you'll be around to monitor closely.

we learned a lot from last night's cycle:

  • zener did well in the 80s.
  • in zener's case (because of the mild CH) --- when it's obvious the bounce has broken and you're presented with a lower preshot number, stalling until you know the drop has stopped and leveled off is much better than shooting a dropping number. good thinking last night!
  • feeding LC to a drop in the beginning of the cycle doesn't slow him down.
  • zener responds well to what is considered by many to be a medium carb food (11%).
  • when seeing a big drop early in the cycle (at +2 last night), it's probably a better idea to pull out some MC or even a little bit of HC in an attempt to stop the drop or at least get him surfing.
  • zener responds very well to karo. this is good to know. at +3 (last night), it's certainly possible a little MC or HC may have given him enough of a bump to put him on a surf board... perhaps something to try next time. if it fails, you have karo in your toolbox to bump him up quickly.


managing a curve with food is more of an art than a science. it's a balancing act between knowing when, what, and how much to feed when... depending on YOUR cat's response to food and where you are in the cycle. an early drop may require "bigger guns" (MC or HC). drops coming later in the cycle may only require a bit of LC to get kitty surfing. every cat is indeed different. data collection... not just the numbers, but knowing zener's response to food and the action of the insulin will go a long way in helping you handle a low number cycle.

i'm really glad you had an opportunity to guide zener through his cycle last night. i know seeing him develop neuropathy has to be disheartening. you not only did a great job helping him, but you gained a whole lot of information which will be useful in the future. each of these low number cycles can be viewed as educational. :-D
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275 A Trak One more shooting questio

Anne --

I'd suggest printing out or bookmarking Jill's note. It's great information to have on hand and, no doubt, reassuring in terms of how you managed Zener's numbers and what you observed. FWIW, you're breaking new ground here with Zener. There's no literature that any of us can find that discusses diabetes and CH. What you and the rest of us are learning is invaluable to Zener and any other CH kitties that arrive here.
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275 A Trak One more shooting questio

Thanks Sienne, I bookmarked it immediately and that's a great suggestion to print it out. I have a log book for Zener and keep the hypo information and stickies printed off in the log book. This time of year, we have frequent afternoon thunderstorms and power blips, so it would be just like Zener to have a big BG drop while the power is out! My vet said the same thing about cats with CH and FD, and you all know so much more! So, we will reorient our mind set to that of intrepid explorers on the good ship CH sailing the seas of FD. I am grateful to the help and know that Zener is glad to be providing information for other cats to come, he's that kind of guy!

Any thoughts on shooting when I return to work and am unable to stall because of my schedule? I've thought about a reduced dose being better than skipping a shot all together.

I appreciate all the help and support from you all. Zener is lucky to have so many supporters in his corner!
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275 A Trak One more shooting questio

cat19.jpg
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275; +6 287 A Trak One

Good Sunday afternoon or whatever time of day it is where you are in LL!

Zener is not on the roller coaster today and after last night's trip to the amusement park, his bean is very relieved.

7-17-11 Alpha Trak 20th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 275 - 20th cycle at 1.75 u
+6 287

Will get his PMPS and post tonight.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275; +6 287 A Trak One

Looks like a cuke to me!!!

Nice yellow surf for Zener today. Great info from Jill and Sienne!!! I'm glad Jill said it is ok to let him surf in the 80's (AT). I was worried about letting him do that last night but now we know!! You may not need that 18% after all except if he dives too fast early on.

Hope you got in a nap today.
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 275; +6 287 A Trak One

Aha, a cucumber of course! :lol: :lol: :lol: I've never seen a cuke eating cat. I reckon that's low carb? Once upon a time we had a cat who liked lettuce and onions!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Nice yellow surf for Zener today. Great info from Jill and Sienne!!! I'm glad Jill said it is ok to let him surf in the 80's (AT). I was worried about letting him do that last night but now we know!! You may not need that 18% after all except if he dives too fast early on.

I bookmarked and printed off that information for future reference. Lots easier to read the printed version in a mild panic than finding it online! I just went out and bought several cans of the HC FF varieties you suggested last night. I may try a couple with him the next time he drops too fast just to see what happens and test out if he will eat them, before another something happens where I might really need it so I know what he will eat!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hope you got in a nap today.
I did, but not where I expected. I fell asleep in my yoga class! Hope you got some rest and have a quiet evening tonight. We are having a lovely monsoon rain shower here in Flagstaff with cool temps, perfect for sleeping. Thanks so much for your help last night!
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener PMPS 314 A Trak

An almost all day yellow surfin' safari, just a little pink at the end, and with the Alpha Trak meter is it really pink?

7-17-11 Alpha Trak 20th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 275 - 20th cycle at 1.75 u
+6 287
+11 315
PMPS 314 - 21st cycle at 1.75 u

Not the best appetite day, so gave cypro after +11. I'm not sure I could stay awake another night so we wanted be sure and get some food in the big guy with his PM shot. He just ate 1/2 ounce of his blue buffalo tuna with fortiflora while I was injecting him and will most likely want more in the next hour. It sure has been a struggle to make the transition from dry kibble to wet food. We started using the appetite stimulant when we couldn't get him to eat much at all a couple of months ago pre-FDMB and now we only use it on occasion, and the length of time between needing to use cypro has increased. He has been totally on wet food now for about a week. Before we left on holiday, he was eating less than 1/4 c dry food every other day, though we left it down if we were away, just in case. With the pet sitter though he got back almost entirely on dry food - Wellness Core. We were grateful he was eating for her though.

I'll get a +2 tonight and see if a +3 is necessary. Hoping that we have a quiet and sleep filled night. I-)
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener PMPS 314; +2 252 A Trak

Here's the latest on Zener tonight.

7-17-11 Alpha Trak 20th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 275 - 20th cycle at 1.75 u
+6 287
+11 315
PMPS 314 - 21st cycle at 1.75 u
+2 252 - not a big drop from pre-shot numbers, especially after last night, and will take the opportunity to see what happens with a little bit of MC food mixed with his LC food.

Trying a little food test to see how this food and curve business works when I'm not freaking out for a change! Will get a +3 and hopefully then off to bed, unless Zener has other ideas!
 
7-17-11 Alpha Trak 20th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 275 - 20th cycle at 1.75 u
+6 287
+11 315
PMPS 314 - 21st cycle at 1.75 u
+2 252
+3 232

Looks like things are pretty mellow yellow so off to bed. Left out a little wet food for the big guy's midnight snack. I hope he remembers to look for it at his regular feeding spot before coming to wake me up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top