07/15 Zorro PMPS 277 +1.75 313 +3 155 +5 58 FAST ONSET. STABLE.

Zorro's mom

Member Since 2019
Eek... I have a feeling tonight might be "interesting". At +1.75 he had only risen to 313. Very unusual for Zorro.
It's been so long since I've had any panic about his numbers at night. These past couple of weeks I've been so down about his high numbers that I told myself I'd happily take a heart stopping couple of lime green hours over him looking miserable. Now I just hope I'm up to it if it happens.
 
I fed 3% carb (his normal food) 0.75oz at +1.25 and another 0.75oz at +2.5.
What now?
Assistance please.
 
Last edited:
Hi! Looks like you may have a pajama party lol. I don't offer dosing advice, but wanted to say good job offering some LC food to help him surf. Remember though, try not to feed too much this early in the cycle...You'll want him to still be hungry later if he needs to eat :)

I'd maybe put a "?" In the title, and add a "need eyes please" or " advice please" or whatever, just so you know theres someone around to keep an eye on how things are going.

In the meantime, I'd start setting up the food table, making sure the cans are labeled so you can see at a glance what %carb each is, have the syrup ready, and read over the hypo instructions so you're refreshed :)

Then find a good Netflix TV series.

Good luck! With love, nikki
 
Thank you Nikki!

Update: Okay phew, I think I'll be okay so I won't put a big alert on just yet.
He can be such a dramatic diver on the odd occasion...
 
Last edited:
Hi Wendy, yes sorry, that's actually what I've been giving him. I've listed it as 9.4% carbs in my signature because that's according to the "dry matter carb" formula I learnt from another forum. However the packaging says "Low Glyceamic Carbohydrates" and 3% carbs, and I only recently saw that it looks as if on this board we look at the packaging for carb content? Either way it's low carb.
I've already given him an entire 3oz sachet because the rate of drop that I see every 15 mins is too much for my liking. I really hope he's not going to shoot up soon and be in high numbers for hours at the end of this cycle... :(
 
It takes 20-30 minutes for carbs to go from plate to the bloodstream, ECID on timing. No need to test every 15 minutes as you won’t see what the carbs are doing. Also, don't fill him up in case you need him to eat later.

Breathe, you got this. :bighug:
 
Thank you. It looks like it has levelled out a bit for now. It has definitely been more than 30 mins since he finished the last of the sachet of food.
Ugh I hope he stays around these numbers for a couple of hours...

I will recheck in 45 mins at +5.25 to see what's next.

Sho I've never had him in these numbers at +4 already. It was a bit of a shocker :eek:
 
Some Lev kitties really dive at onset. Giving a small meal a half hour before then can sometimes help slow the dive.

Zorro, let’s cruise those safe greens for a while now. Here we call it surfing. :D
 
I know that Zorro's onset can be dramatic from +3 so for the past few days - see the notes on his SS - I have been feeding him at intervals shortly after dosing.
Tonight I fed him at +1.25 and at +3, precisely to try and prevent diving and bouncing.
Unfortunately it is not Zorro's style to surf :D after a fast drop. Instead he usually shoots for the stars...ugh.

What do you think about his dose? I don't necessarily want to reduce tomorrow AM because he'll be bouncing. However I wish I could predict when PM's such as tonight will happen so that I can reduce a shot or two in advance to give the reduced depot time to stabilize too. Only because I want to prevent drastic bounces which seem to last so long these days :(
 
Last edited:
20190716_011211.jpg
 
Could you update the subject line please? That gives us an at the glance look at where he is and if you need help. It is useful for those of us seeing where help is needed.

Why did you want to reduce the dose? He is getting green nadirs, and they are still safe greens. Try ignore the bouncing. Going down in dose is not the solution. Getting Zorro used to green is the way to go.

As for feeding comments, I didn’t see any for today. Plus times are better than clock times. I would try @+2.5 small feed, about 1/2 hour before onset.
 
Okay I hear you about not reducing the dose so I won't. Every time he has such an early onset and start bouncing early in that cycle my first thought is just "too high dose!?"
I know Bobbie has also told me that an unusually fast onset does not necessarily mean a too high dose but it is still my first thought, I can't help it.
In connection with that: Does the fact that one obviously "artificially" prevents them from going too low by feeding (and thereby avoids a true low that might mean a reduction is necessary) not factor in at all? What I mean is, if I understand this correctly, then a reduction is only made if the kitty goes too low despite efforts to keep his bg up, correct?

No rush for this info; I would just like to understand it better.
Thank you!
 
Does the fact that one obviously "artificially" prevents them from going too low by feeding (and thereby avoids a true low that might mean a reduction is necessary) not factor in at all? What I mean is, if I understand this correctly, then a reduction is only made if the kitty goes too low despite efforts to keep his bg up, correct?
You only fed low carb, which wouldn’t materially change things. If a cat wants a reduction, they will find a way to show you the low number. If you have to give a ton of HC and syrup/honey, that’s a different story.
 
@Wendy&Neko I just want to show off how my boy balanced on his surf board for a while last night. It was the first time ever! :)

I felt so scared and bad when I suddenly woke at +7.75. I must have turned off my phone alarm in my sleep (it was 03h45 here) and I'm just hoping he didn't dip too low between +6 and +8. I've got to stick to keeping my phone far away from me so that I'm forced to properly wake up to get to it to turn off the alarm.

The bounce this morning was to be expected. It's actually not as terrible as I expected it would be.
 
Back
Top