07/15 Baby G AMPS 282 PMPS 340 Increasing Today

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-13-baby-g-amps-326-pmps-284.265788/

Tonight's the night! I know ideally she should have been increased sooner, but starting her tonight, I can monitor all weekend to keep her safe and then if by next Friday night I need to increase, can do the exact same thing. I know everyone on here was recommending to up her a quarter unit to 3.75, so that is what I am going to try next. Her sensor will have been on a full 2 weeks tomorrow morning, so will replace it myself then. Overall I think the 3.5 hasn't been awful; we've seen some decent numbers and are for the most part out of the 300s. But if I can get her a little better, I'd like to try.
Side note: I ordered her a cat stroller! :D I'm so excited to get it and see if she likes going for walks. Anyone take their cat out for walks? Do they like it?
Well, here's to a night of monitoring a new dose! :coffee:
 
Whoa her preshot is 340. Guess shes bouncing from the 209 she had last night and whatever other low numbers she got that I didn't catch. When my brother heard that, he said to raise her to 4 but I think that may be too much too soon, right? We dont base off the preshot but the nadir. If 209 was her nadir, that's not that bad (though not great).
 
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-13-baby-g-amps-326-pmps-284.265788/

Tonight's the night! I know ideally she should have been increased sooner, but starting her tonight, I can monitor all weekend to keep her safe and then if by next Friday night I need to increase, can do the exact same thing. I know everyone on here was recommending to up her a quarter unit to 3.75, so that is what I am going to try next. Her sensor will have been on a full 2 weeks tomorrow morning, so will replace it myself then. Overall I think the 3.5 hasn't been awful; we've seen some decent numbers and are for the most part out of the 300s. But if I can get her a little better, I'd like to try.
Side note: I ordered her a cat stroller! :D I'm so excited to get it and see if she likes going for walks. Anyone take their cat out for walks? Do they like it?
Well, here's to a night of monitoring a new dose! :coffee:
I can tag some members for you

@Bandit's Mom

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Whoa her preshot is 340. Guess shes bouncing from the 209 she had last night and whatever other low numbers she got that I didn't catch. When my brother heard that, he said to raise her to 4 but I think that may be too much too soon, right? We dont base off the preshot but the nadir. If 209 was her nadir, that's not that bad (though not great).
I wouldn't raise it to 4 units


@Bandit's Mom

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Thank you. Her shot time is at 7 CST so not sure if anyone will respond in time. If they don't, I'm thinking to go with the standard .25 increase for now.
 
On your previous post I see you said in your post #2


Thinking Friday night will be a good time to up her to 3.75 so I can get 5 monitored cycles in before going back to work Monday morning.


And Bhooma replied bandits mom
I don't think you want to hold the dose much longer. Today is Day 12 on this dose and she is largely over 200. The rationale for not hanging on to a dose too long is that if numbers aren't where you want them to be, there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats it as the "new normal." This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal.

With SLGS you increase the dose every 7 days. She was due for an increase on 7/9.
 
Back
Top