07/15/11 Zener's PMPS 315; +2 277;8.5 334 ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's Condo 7/14/11

Good morning all,

Yesterday's summary:
AMPS 209 - 14th cycle at 1.75 u & 5th cycle since we got home (after 1 hour stall when BG was 179) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke
+3 300 FD CK after poke
+6.5 394 FD CK after poke
+11 371
PMPS 332 1.5 oz BB tuna LC wet 15th cycle at 1.75 and 6th since we got home
+2 310 ate 1.0 oz BB tuna LC and now taking a little bath
+3 324 ate 1.0 oz friskies fish pate, gobbling it like a lumberjack

Here is today's latest and greatest for Zener
7-15-11 Alpha Trak 16th cycle @ 1.75
AMPS 309
+2.5 283

Will get +6 today and PMPS - many appointments today. This is day two after he bounced up after a run of blues. Sunday I should be able to run a better curve and see if a dose increase is in order. Does this seem like the thing to do?
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PSAM 309;+2.5 282 Dose advice

7-15-11 Alpha Trak 16th cycle @ 1.75
AMPS 309
+2.5 283
+6 343

Well, Zener continues to be a toughie! Though he does seem to be flattening out a little. About half-way through the 72 hours of a bounce, so hoping things will improve. Still considering if an increase in dose to 2.0 is warranted Sunday, if nadirs remain consistently high. Any thoughts from the experts?
confused_cat
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PSAM 309;+2.5 282;+6 343 Dose advice

Hi Anne,
Zener is a toughie, but a cutie! :-D It sounds like you have a good plan with being patient through the bounce yet planning for an increase if needed on Sunday. It is always hard to predict kitties and although I've called the Psychic Hotline, they weren't able to help me out any better than my Magic Eight Ball. :lol:

Seriously, I am wishing you the best as I know you have extra challenges with your sweet Zener. You are doing a great job though.
Perhaps some more enlightened folks can offer their wisdom later this evening.

All my best!
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PSAM 309;+2.5 282;+6 343 Dose advice

Anne --

I agree with your observation that this seems like a bounce. I would wait out the full 72 hours and see where Zener is at. If numbers are still up (and I suspect they will be), then consider the increase. Our kitties are way too good at surprises for us to plan too far ahead!
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PSAM 309;+2.5 282;+6 343 Dose advice

Thanks Sienne and CD, I will wait out the 72 hours and see what's up then. It is so hard to be patient when we are watching him slowly slide downhill. He has neuropathy now and is walking on his wrists. His back legs were never great from the CH, but now he is unable to get in his litter box, and using piddle pads. Also, walking less and resting more. :sad:

Had an opportunity to test for ketones yesterday and negative, so that is some good news. :smile:

Got the Zobaline today and will add starting tonight. I'll keep posting on Zener's SS and check in about the dose increase with the experts Sunday. Thanks again!
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PSAM 309;+2.5 282;+6 343 Dose advice

CD and BigMac said:
Hi Anne,
Zener is a toughie, but a cutie! :-D It sounds like you have a good plan with being patient through the bounce yet planning for an increase if needed on Sunday. It is always hard to predict kitties and although I've called the Psychic Hotline, they weren't able to help me out any better than my Magic Eight Ball. :lol:

CD, you made me laugh and I really needed it! I feel exactly the same way - like I'm pulling the handle on a slot machine to see what the numbers will be. I hadn't thought about calling the psychic hotline, but that is an idea! Now, I'm going to have to go through some of my old junk to find my Magic Eight Ball and try that! Thanks for the spirit lift!
:RAHCAT
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PSPM 315 ATrak

7-15-11 Alpha Trak 16th cycle @ 1.75
AMPS 309
+2.5 283
+6 343
PMPS 315 17th cycle @ 1.75

24 more hours on bounce watch! confused_cat Waiting to see what is Zener's next surprise for us, and I'm sure there will be one. It's about the only thing that's been consistent since his diagnosis, coming up on 4 months now and still not regulated :sad: And yes, "it's a marathon, not a sprint" - I keep repeating that mantra to myself!

Still, he is acting like he feels better and no more PUPD since being on Lantus. Tonight started the Zobaline (B-12) 3 mg tablet once per day for his peripheral neuropathy - 1st dose. Appetite seems pretty good and back on all wet food diet. Dry food is picked up and no longer available.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 07/15/11 Zener's PMPS 315; +2 277 ATrak

It's bedtime at our house, and Zener is flashing yellow at +2.

7-15-11 Alpha Trak 16th cycle @ 1.75
AMPS 309
+2.5 283
+6 343
PMPS 315 17th cycle @ 1.75 fed 1 oz LC wet food
+1 fed 1 oz LC wet food
+2 277 fed 1 oz LC wet food

We're off to dreamland. Will most likely wake up around 3 am and will see how the bouncing boy is then. 24 more hours of bounce watch.

I-) I-) I-)
 
Zener woke us up about 4:30 am with an episode of IE. I cut down the entrance to his litter box yesterday to see if that would encourage him to use it rather than the piddle pads. So, he woke us by peeing on the wall next to the more accessible litter box! Nothing to put beans in a really bad mood than cleaning up in the wee hours of the morning. It is an improvement that he stood up to pee, which is his more normal CH posture. Oh well, it's always something. Got a BG since we were up.

7-15-11 Alpha Trak 16th cycle @ 1.75
AMPS 309
+2.5 283
+6 343
PMPS 315 17th cycle @ 1.75 fed 1 oz LC wet food
+1 fed 1 oz LC wet food
+2 277 fed 1 oz LC wet food
+8.5 334 had eaten his LC wet food left out before we went to sleep

Will be getting 7/16 values soon and posting later in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top