07/14 Jake's AMPS 374

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Cory, hope Jake can clear this bounce quickly, it is frustrating to watch and as far as I know, there isn't really a way to stop it from happening; it just takes patience! (sorry)
 
The only way to get them to stop bouncing is for them to spend lots of time in green so their liver gets used to the lower numbers as normal. And kitties like to do that at their own pace. :roll: It's very common for newly diagnosed cats to bounce. Neko has taken forever to stop bouncing, and now she just doesn't bounce as high.

You have been at this same dose a long time. If you can get at least one other test every night, I'd increase to 2.25U. From the protocol with the relevant bit bolded:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Jake has been seeing some low blues which are equivalent to under 100 since you are using the AlphaTrak, but a little more insulin can also help flatten out those higher numbers.
 
I agree with Wendy that he needs and increase but I think it's important that, if you do increase, you would want to be sure you get a +2 and/or before bed every evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top