07/14/11 Zener PSPM 332; +2 310 ATrak; +3 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Good morning all,
Zener's Condo 7/13/11

It was a long and crazy night for us. Here's the recap from yesterday:
07/13/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PSAM 233 1.75 u ate 1 oz of wet food immediately before and after shot; ate 1 oz FF at +1
+2 410 ate freeze dried chicken
+3 413
+6 359 freeze dried chicken
PSPM 284 fed 1 oz of Friskies turkey pate (and he liked it)
+2.5 115, fed 0.5 oz Friskies, 0.5 oz HC fancy feast chicken florentine, 3 semi soft treats
+3 130, fed a little HC FF
+5 157, fed a little LC friskies with HC gravy
+6 148, fed a little LC friskies with HC gravy
+8 229

I just did what would be Zener's PSAM and his BG was 179. Jill had advised us since Zener has CH and we use the alpha trak to not shoot if his BG is 180-210 but post to the list for help, so I am! I didn't get a lot of sleep last night and was hoping for smooth sailing this morning - oh well. For now, I can stall his shot. But what dose should I shoot and when?
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179 ATak Do I Shoot? Dose? HELP

Thanks for the bump! I stalled for one hour and BG is 209, so I shot his regular 1.75 u. If I understand correctly, this becomes our new shot time. However, I can't keep it at this time for very long because of some appointments tomorrow morning. I gave the stalled shot at 8:55 am and need to have it at 8:30 am at the latest in the morning. Is it okay to shift the time by that much the very next morning?

Summary of yesterday:
07/13/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PSAM 233 1.75 u ate 1 oz of wet food immediately before and after shot; ate 1 oz FF at +1
+2 410 ate freeze dried chicken
+3 413
+6 359 freeze dried chicken
PSPM 284 fed 1 oz of Friskies turkey pate (and he liked it)
+2.5 115, fed 0.5 oz Friskies, 0.5 oz HC fancy feast chicken florentine, 3 semi soft treats
+3 130, fed a little HC FF
+5 157, fed a little LC friskies with HC gravy
+6 148, fed a little LC friskies with HC gravy
+8 229
+12 179 fed a little and stalled for one hour

07/14/11 Zener A Trak
PSAM 209, gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant and usually takes about an hour to kick in

Will update his SS now.
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179 ATak Stall Dose HELP

Zener ate about an ounce of low carb wet food at +1, had not eaten at AM shot time. Appetitie stimulant success. Will get a +2 and post shortly.
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259 ATak Dose HELP

Here is the latest on Zener, his bean is starting to come down off the ceiling a little!

PSAM 209 (after 1 hour stall) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke

Will get a +3, then have to be out until +6, then out again until +10 or +11. I will leave wet food out for him when I'm away.

Here's hoping the stall did the trick, still I will need to move his dose tomorrow and not sure if that is advisable after a stall and lowest numbers we've seen in a very long time!
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259 ATak Dose HELP

Anne: I'm sorry there wasn't someone around to help you this morning. I thought Jill said to not shoot BELOW that number but you could shoot at anything above 180. But it looks like the stalling worked fine today. Good job!!!!

If you shot at 8:55 this morning and that was an hour's stall then you can move the time back to his normal time in either two-15 minute increments each day or one-30 minute increment for two days. So tomorrow's AMPS you could shoot at 8:25 and then Friday's AMPS you could shoot at 7:55. Alternatively if you want to move back in 15-min increments, shoot at 8:40 tonight, 8:25 tomorrow AMPS, 8:10 tomorrow PMPS, and 7:55 Fri AMPS to get back on schedule.

Hope you and Zener have a great day!
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259 ATak Dose HELP

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Anne: I'm sorry there wasn't someone around to help you this morning. I thought Jill said to not shoot BELOW that number but you could shoot at anything above 180. But it looks like the stalling worked fine today. Good job!!!!

Thank you Marjorie, I know that there is not always someone available and ultimately we are responsible, so I took a deep breath and made a decision. Perhaps I misread Jill's advice when I was freaking out ;-) After having a long night with low values I was wearing my thinking cap a little cock-eyed! It seems he is on the way up now, and may bounce as he has done so in the past. Keeping whiskers crossed.


Marjorie and Gracie said:
If you shot at 8:55 this morning and that was an hour's stall then you can move the time back to his normal time in either two-15 minute increments each day or one-30 minute increment for two days. So tomorrow's AMPS you could shoot at 8:25 and then Friday's AMPS you could shoot at 7:55. Alternatively if you want to move back in 15-min increments, shoot at 8:40 tonight, 8:25 tomorrow AMPS, 8:10 tomorrow PMPS, and 7:55 Fri AMPS to get back on schedule.
This is exactly the information I needed and you explain it so clearly. I'm bookmarking this and printing off for the future! I believe that today is Thursday so I can shoot at 8:40 tonight (Thurs), 8:25 on Friday morning, 8:10 Friday night, and 7:55 Saturday morning. That will work just fine for my schedule.

Thanks for the good wishes! I can't thank everyone enough for the help and support of the group. :-D
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259;+3 300 ATak Dose

Anne:

Sorry...I got my days mixed up...still thinking it is Wed :lol: :lol:

So yes, you are correct with this schedule:
8:40 tonight (Thurs), 8:25 on Friday morning, 8:10 Friday night, and 7:55 Saturday morning
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259;+3 300 ATak Dose

Thanks Marjorie, I am glad I am not the only one who loses track of the days! Now it tooks like Zener is bouncing from the lower numbers and perhaps the HC food?
confused_cat
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259;+3 300;+6.5 394 ATak Boun

Is it possible looking at Zener's +6.5 that he may be bouncing from the lower numbers last night - also from HC food last night? I was enjoying seeing lower numbers when I wasn't freaking out and now he's rising after his AM shot and back in the pink again.
:sad:

Zener 07/14/11 Alpha Track
PSAM 209 (after 1 hour stall when BG was 179) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke
+3 300 FD CK after poke
+6.5 394 FD CK after poke

I'll test again at +10 or +11 and plan to try to shave 15 minutes off his time tonight to gradually get back to our schedule before this morning's stall. If his numbers look like this or higher, am I correct that this shouldn't be a problem to go a little early? Of course, I'll have to wait until I actually see the numbers because he likes to give me surprises!
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259;+3 300;+6.5 394 ATak Boun

Hi Anne: it could definitely be a bounce. Bounces can be caused by quickly dropping numbers or lower numbers they aren't used to including blue numbers. Bounces can last up to 72 hours so if you are tempted to increase his dose, we usually ask that you let those 72 excruciating hours from the low number pass.

Yes...see what his +11 is. If Gracie is high, I might shoot 10 or so minutes early. I don't usually shoot so early that it puts her into a schedule change; you are already shooting a little early so I'd probably be cautious.
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259;+3 300;+6.5 394 ATak Boun

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Anne: it could definitely be a bounce. Bounces can be caused by quickly dropping numbers or lower numbers they aren't used to including blue numbers. Bounces can last up to 72 hours so if you are tempted to increase his dose, we usually ask that you let those 72 excruciating hours from the low number pass.

Will do, hang on for 72 excruciating hours, then look at his dose. We were gone for 6 days and our pet sitter did a great job, but we noticed on return that he is walking a little on his wrists, so that sort of panicked us a little. We have ordered the Xobaline (spelling?) for peripheral neuropathy and will start that when it arrives. She had a hard time keeping him on wet food while we were gone too, but at least the picky fellow was eating!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Yes...see what his +11 is. If Gracie is high, I might shoot 10 or so minutes early. I don't usually shoot so early that it puts her into a schedule change; you are already shooting a little early so I'd probably be cautious.

Okay, that is the plan. Get a +11 and see how things look. I was planning to shoot 15 minutes early tonight, if the numbers look okay then. I'll post the +11 and PSPM on the message board and on Zener's SS. Thanks for your help!
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener AMPS 179;+2 259;+3 300;+6.5 394;+11 371 A

Here's the latest

Zener 07/14/11 Alpha Track
PSAM 209 (after 1 hour stall when BG was 179) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke
+3 300 FD CK after poke
+6.5 394 FD CK after poke
+11 371

Seems to be holding steady in the pink but so far, no red in this bounce post-blue last night. Will be getting PSPM shortly and shooting 15 minutes early unless numbers tell us something different. I am working hard to be in the moment, and not anticipate what the numbers will be - I am usually surprised and then get anxious, so trying a new strategy!
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener PSPM 332 ATrak

Just did PSPM about 15 minutes earlier than this morning post stall to try to get us back on my schedule for appointments and getting ready to get back on a more strict schedule when school starts in a few weeks.

Zener 07/14/11 Alpha Track
PSAM 209 - 14th cycle at 1.75 u & 5th cycle since we got home (after 1 hour stall when BG was 179) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke
+3 300 FD CK after poke
+6.5 394 FD CK after poke
+11 371
PSPM 332 1.5 oz BB tuna LC wet 15th cycle at 1.75 and 6th since we got home

Still coming down a little bit from +11 at PSPM, gave 1.75 u.
Zener has not been in any dry food today, pretty much back on all wet food after us being home for 2 days - using appetite stimulate and fortiflora. Tried the Kraft parmesan cheese today, he sniffed and looked disgusted. Tille thought it was the best thing since sliced mice, and she doesn't need any more food!

Was able to catch him urinating on his pee pad tonight and negative for ketones. He has not been using litter box since having trouble with balancing about a week or so ago, so is sort of squatting on all fours and peeing on pad outside box. Will experiment tomorrow with cutting down litter box opening and putting in less litter to make it easier for him to balance. Will start supplement for his neuropathy as soon as it arrives UPS!

I'll get a +2 and more if necessary and would really like to get some sleep tonight! Last night was a series of naps. We'll see what Zener has in store for snooze time.
I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 07/14/11 Zener PSPM 332; +2 310 ATrak

Looks like I may get to bed tonight, not much change from PSPM at +2 and still pink.

Zener 07/14/11 Alpha Track
PSAM 209 - 14th cycle at 1.75 u & 5th cycle since we got home (after 1 hour stall when BG was 179) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke
+3 300 FD CK after poke
+6.5 394 FD CK after poke
+11 371
PSPM 332 1.5 oz BB tuna LC wet 15th cycle at 1.75 and 6th since we got home
+2 310 ate 1.0 oz BB tuna LC and now taking a little bath

Beans are off to bed.
I-) I-) I-)
 
Not quite off to bed yet. I was researching accessible litter boxes for senior/disabled kitties and since it was +3, I did a BG test. Still holding around the same @ +3 so I am really off to bed this time!

Zener 07/14/11 Alpha Track
PSAM 209 - 14th cycle at 1.75 u & 5th cycle since we got home (after 1 hour stall when BG was 179) gave his usual dose of 1.75 u, could not get him to eat (probably because I fed him all night!), so gave appetite stimulant
+1 ate 1 oz wet Friskies pate, 1oz blue buffalo tuna
+2 254, gave freeze dried chicken treat after poke
+3 300 FD CK after poke
+6.5 394 FD CK after poke
+11 371
PSPM 332 1.5 oz BB tuna LC wet 15th cycle at 1.75 and 6th since we got home
+2 310 ate 1.0 oz BB tuna LC and now taking a little bath
+3 324 ate 1.0 oz friskies fish pate, gobbling it like a lumberjack

Goodnight all in LL I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top