07/13 Nala AMPS 123, +3 44 (!), +3.3 55, +3.6 59 DOSING HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosannaf

Member Since 2011
Tuesday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47549

Nala is giving me a major anxiety attack. I decided to try a 0.2 instead of a 0.25u since last night’s +3 55 made me nervous. Of course she would give me a low +3 today when I’m heading off to work for another 10 hours. :sad:

I gave her 1 tsp HC wet at +3, another ½ tsp HC wet at +3.3. I also placed another ½ tsp HC wet into her automatic feeder that goes off at +4.5.

Luckily, my husband has a ½ day and is able to watch Nala right now. He can’t test Nala because she’s too scared of him so he can only watch over her to make sure she doesn’t exhibit any signs of being hypo. :sad:

I’m a nervous wreck at work right now. Should I decrease her dose even more? I see some people doing drops, how do I measure that? I’m 100% sure that I gave her less than the 0.25u from last night; it could have been a 0.15 or 0.20u this morning and I’m scared that she dipped so low with such a minor dosage. AHH! nailbite_smile

I'm so scared that I'm going to kill my baby .. I'm so worried. :cry:

Any advice?
 
Re: 07/13 Nala AMPS 123, +3 44 (!), +3.3 55, +3.6 59 DOSING

no advice but I know how nervous you must be. Bumping you so you can get more experienced eyes on this
 
Re: 07/13 Nala AMPS 123, +3 44 (!), +3.3 55, +3.6 59 DOSING

Thanks, I managed to call my husband and he reports Nala is doing fine and doesn't show any signs of hypo. She's at +8 now. I'll be home in another 3-4 hours. I'm thinking I may have to skip the PM dose since I'm on-call again tonight.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/13 Nala AMPS 123, +3 44 (!), +3.3 55, +3.6 59 DOSING

Carolyn is correct. The 44 does earn Nala a dose reduction. I would suggest shooting a 0.1u. There are photos of what the dose would look like in the New to the Group sticky.

What you're trying to do is keep Nala on insulin for as long as possible in order to support her pancreas. It's really hard to know if she's close to ready to not needing insulin because of the skipped shots. At the times you skipped, she was not always in normal BG numbers. At the time she starts a trial, we want her pancreas to be as healed as possible so that the trial is a success.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top