07/13 Mom-mom AMPS 127,

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are you going to be home to monitor? Do you have a supply of strips and high carb food?

Is your spreadsheet up to date? In other words, did you get any tests last night?
 
I do have high carb food. I was gonna go out this morning but, I cant put it off if you think I should be with her. Maybe just a half of a dose ?
 
That's great that she came down already after that HI from last night.
127 is a great number to start the day with, as long as you will be home and have supplies.
 
You could try half of a dose if that's all you're comfortable with. I would go with something more like 1.50, if you're scared, or maybe 1.25 if you're really scared. Of course shooting the full dose would be fine too, but I know you don't have much experience with shooting the lower numbers, yet.

How long have you been stalling the shot for? Just stalling, is kind of like a dose reduction, because she is using up some of what's in her depot as you stall, so part of the dose you give her will be going to replenish what was used from her depot while you were stalling, and the rest would be the dose she uses through the cycle.
 
Laura, It looks like on your spreadsheet that you have stalled for an hour now. I think giving her only 0.25 would be like just giving enough to put a little in the depot (of which she has already used some of because of the stalling) and won't be very much for her to use throughout the day today. I would go with at least 1.00.

Once she gets the shot, you will feed her and that will make her numbers go up. Also Lantus onset (the time when the insulin starts to affect the BGs) isn't until about +2. So you will have the food she gets for her breakfast after her shot to boost her up and about 2 hours before the dose you give her starts to work on bringing her numbers down, from however high the food makes her go up.

I know it's complicated.
 
I did not give her anything yet (yes I am stalling) and I am kind of glad because it +2 now and she dropped again to 83. This is the FIRST time this ever happened
 
If you had given her her insulin and fed her, she probably would be higher right now. Just to let you know.
We've been around a long time, and I have seen lots of people keep stalling and their cat keeps going down because of lack of food, and eventually the mom has to not give the shot because it's so late or the cat just got too low.
If you shoot the lower numbers, you will see that she will flatten out and have a nice cycle of healing numbers.

I have to go to work.
Both of you, have a great day :)
:YMHUG:
 
For the future, you do not want to feed until you test. If you are considering stalling, you don't want to feed your kitty since the food could cause numbers to rise and you don't know if the numbers are rising due to the effects of the insulin waning or if it's due to food. You could shoot an artificially inflated number.

I'd strongly suggest you review this information on dealing with lower pre-shot numbers. (This info is also in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.)

I'm not a big fan of stalling. A delay acts like a dose reduction. By stalling AND lowering the dose, you are doubling the impact on the depot. What you're seeing this morning, is what amounts to a repeat of 6/14 and yesterday. If you skip or reduce the dose, it's very likely that you'll see high numbers by PMPS. Keep in mind, that if you've stalled for 2 hours, you're PM shot is 2 hours later than usual. That's the other downside of stalling -- it throws your schedule off.

Ultimately, you'll want to get comfortable with shooting progressively lower numbers. The mantra in these parts is, "Shoot low to stay low." However, you do need to be data ready and you do need to have the necessary supplies (strips and HC food) on hand and be able to monitor so you can keep Mom-mom safe.

BTW: you can take the 911 down. We try to reserve that icon for a medical emergency. If you did need help, once you have the information, please remove the 911.
 
I test in the AM once BEFORE she eats and then again AFTER she eats. The low numbers I got the other day were certainly AFTER she ate. nailbite_ :shock: That's why I was so concerned.Then I test again BEFORE dinner (around 5:00, and then again BEFORE her last dose, around 7:30 or 8:00. :? :? :?

I have had nothing but great advice from this site and believe me I am very blessed to have found this group but, sometimes I just feel really strongly about something and it doesn't matter if the President told me to shoot, I would not have done it.

99.9% of the time I take the word of the administrators on here. But she DID eat and STILL continued to drop. I always thought that when you administer the shot, the numbers go DOWN ???? Isn't that right ??? That's also why I didn't. Now I am back on "hi" and low 500's and high 400's again. :sad: :sad:

We live and we learn from our mistakes I guess. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top