07/13 Bruno. +3=92, +4=77 +6=99, +10=184, AMPS= 185

Status
Not open for further replies.

aochoa

Member Since 2014
After some bounces, we are on our 5th day of 0.725u lantus and going lower all day long. PMPS 104. We already had a day at the vet where he basically came to less than 40 and got glucose injected to the vein, lucky us we were already at the vet when it happened.
So question is to shot or not to shot. Yesterday with 149 AMPS, I reduce his dose by 0.25 (gave 0.5) as I understood is what you do according to Protocol, with low numbers, give a token dose, or reduce or skip. Just the bouncing after the skipping is what worries me.

What other people will do in a similar case? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

Hi Ana - once people here have enough data, they will shoot pretty much any number over 50. Cats cycles will often flatten out when you shoot the full dose at lower numbers. Last night Neko started at 70 and was at just at 76 +11. However, you have to be comfortable shooting that numbers, have plenty of high carb food (syrup or honey or foods with gravy), lots of test strips, and be willing and able to monitor. As long as he is surfing around the same numbers or rising, like he is now, you are usually good to shoot. Remember that your goal is to maximize the amount of time Bruno spends under 100 to help heal the pancreas and possibly go into remission.

Your options tonight are:
- shoot the full dose and monitor
- delay 20 minutes WITHOUT FEEDING, then test again to see if Bruno is coming up more to a number you are willing to shoot (the full dose). The risk of delaying too much is the lack of food can make the numbers go down. And your schedule has to be able to accommodate any delay as it affects the next cycle.
- shoot a reduced dose. You shot a reduced dose yesterday morning and it didn't do him any favors, so this isn't the best option.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

Hi, Wendy, actually you are right, every time we skip or reduce the dose is not good for him. I looked again carefully yo our ss.

So, I shot the full dose since I was on the limit of my 30 minutes after shot time. I'm home, I have plenty of strips, and maple syrup in case something goes wrong, and 24 hours vet just 5 min. drive away.

Tomorrow, will be more complicated since I have to shot and run to work and will not be able to test again until PMPS.

It's just that we need to get use to good numbers! :smile:
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

Since this is your lowest number you've shot the full dose, we recommend getting a +1 and a +2 test to see what Bruno has in mind for this cycle. Since it's daytime here, there should be someone around to help you. Post if you have any concerns about his numbers and we can help you through getting his numbers up. You might want to reread the Handling Low Numbers Sticky.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

94 @ +2. he had wet low carb food. Acting normal, grooming himself, purring.Will keep updating.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

Looking good so far! :mrgreen: A teaspoon or two of low carb food when they hit green can sometimes encourage them to surf, so good call on the food. Make sure you don't fill him up, in case you need him to eat higher carb food later in the cycle.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

+2 = 94, +3= 92. Still acting normal, and has good appetite.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Could you modify the subject line of your first post to include the latest numbers? That makes it easier for us to follow Bruno's numbers at a glance. If you run out of room, you can remove the AM numbers.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. AMPS=279, +6=101, +8=103, PMPS=104

+4= 77. I think if we keep it over 40 at +6 we will be safe... 2 more hours (midnight here :(
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. PMPS=104, +2=94, +3=92, +4=77

If he goes below 50, that's what earns a reduction. He's safe above 40, but it doesn't leave much margin to drop.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. PMPS=104, +2=94, +3=92, +4=77

Ana --

Not all cats have their nadir (lowest point in the cycle) at +6. Some cats, like mine, typically have an early nadir. (Gabby's nadir is usually at +3 or +4.) Other cats, have their nadirs later in the cycle. And, of course, there are kitties whose nadirs are at mid-cycle. One thing to keep in mind, though, is that the nadir can move around. My point is that you shouldn't assume that if Bruno's numbers are OK at +6 that you you can go to sleep.

You might want to look over this information on how to handle low numbers.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. PMPS=104, +2=94, +3=92, +4=77

Thank you, Sienne. You are right, just I assumed that since in other occasions numbers start going up after 6. Will try to keep alert for the rest of the night. I think I can at least measure every 2 more hours.
 
Re: 07/13 Bruno. PMPS=104, +2=94, +3=92, +4=77 +6=99

Ana, you don't have to test all through the night. if you get a couple of tests where he's rising without the influence of food, you can go to sleep. One more after that +6 would be enough.
 
I did one more after +6 and then +10. He surfed great! So excited!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

For the first time, he did it! Now, we need to keep it like that. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top