07-12 Panzer PMPS 138/122@+4/112@+6/113@+7/114@+8Nice cycles but scary at the same time

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
Panzer is still acting a little off but he's eating,peeing, pooping, bathing & he gets a little playful at times. His cycles have been pretty good since July 6th PMPS cycle. He had some yellows in there but has pretty much been steadily in the blues & even dipping into the greens.

Him & Spook are getting mirtaz daily @+2 AMPS & Panzer is still taking Cerenia but Spook hasn't needed any. Panzer has been eating everything I give him & still acting a little hungry. He was really sleepy @+11 AMPS today,so I decided to test him. He was at 140 & then 138 @PMPS, I wish I could test him every hour but he protests & claws me. I didn't have to work today because my house called me this morning when I was getting ready to head to her house & she said she hadn't been feeling well & tested herself & she was positive for covid! I canceled her last time,so I haven't been there since a month from today & I don't go again for 2wks. Thankfully she sent me PayPal & still paid me. Hopefully she feels better & gets them germs out of there before I go again. I was able to get extra tests in on the AMPS cycle which was interesting to see how his cycle went during the day versus the night.

He has been doing the tounge thing a little but I think it's related to https://www.rover.com/blog/why-do-cats-stick-out-their-tongues/. He only has 2 teeth, although his breathing is normal he goes & lays by the air conditioner floor vent in the entryway/ dining room sometimes like he's hot or something. He's been sleeping alot as well but normal for cats, Spook is too. I've noticed jerking from him, you really have to watch him closely to see it but I can feel it when he first lays down with me, not all the time but quite a bit & once he gets comfortable & falls asleep it stops. He has always been a bury his head kinda kitty & he does that to me when he lays down with me. I can feel the jerking on my hand/ arm. He's been doing it for quite some time. It worries me but I think that is another trait that he has in the link listed above.

I will be testing & monitoring him until +8 PMPS & then it's bedtime. Tomorrow I work in my hometown at my new monthly house I picked up to clean! So I will be able to test & feed them @+ 8 AMPS & hopefully be done a couple hours after that. Hopefully things go well tonight & he surfs safely in the blues & greens & doesn't throw me a low ball # @ AMPS. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ose-increase-food-switch.264440/#post-2962696
 
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ons-chronic-pancreatitis.265563/#post-2974903

Hi Christina well Panzer is getting pretty good numbers , have you given him the ondansetron at all
Hi Diane,yes he is getting pretty good #s. No I haven't given him any ondansetron yet. I'm going to give him some on Friday so I can monitor him on them. Also I only have 14 of them & they are 4mg which him weighing 17lbs he is supposed to take 3 a day. The prescription says one every 12hrs so I'm going to try that. I have 4 & a half of the Cerenia pills left then I have nothing. I will have to call the vet next week & either get more ondansetron maybe the 8mg ones this time or Cerenia. Hopefully they will give me more. I'm not sure how he will be without them.
 
Hi Diane,yes he is getting pretty good #s. No I haven't given him any ondansetron yet. I'm going to give him some on Friday so I can monitor him on them. Also I only have 14 of them & they are 4mg which him weighing 17lbs he is supposed to take 3 a day. The prescription says one every 12hrs so I'm going to try that. I have 4 & a half of the Cerenia pills left then I have nothing. I will have to call the vet next week & either get more ondansetron maybe the 8mg ones this time or Cerenia. Hopefully they will give me more. I'm not sure how he will be without them.
I hope the vet gives you whatever you need. I'd like to ring her or his neck if they won't
 
Start with every 12 hours. It could be enough. I never gave it to my cats 3 times a day but it wasn’t suggested back then. Max also did well in 2mg and weighed 14-17 pounds while on it. I hope your two continue to feel better and better.
 
Start with every 12 hours. It could be enough. I never gave it to my cats 3 times a day but it wasn’t suggested back then. Max also did well in 2mg and weighed 14-17 pounds while on it. I hope your two continue to feel better and better.
Ok I will start it on Friday. I will give him the last half pill of Cerenia tomorrow @PMPS then start the ondansetron on Friday & see how he does on it. He made a liar out of me, he didn't want the chicken & liver FF @+4 PMPS feeding. I had to put fortiflora on it for him to eat it, little brat. He is such a picky butt, he sometimes turns down other flavors but then the next day he's loving that flavor. I have 5 flavors that I try to rotate ,he's just picky. When he wasn't on the Cerenia for a couple of weeks he ate fine, then the pancreatitis flared up & I can always tell when he doesn't feel good that's why I had the Cerenia ready to go for him. When it starts taking him a long time to eat that's a sure sign that something is wrong.
 
I hope the vet gives you whatever you need. I'd like to ring her or his neck if they won't
I hope the vet gives you whatever you need. I'd like to ring her or his neck if they won't
I hope so too, hopefully they will understand that he needs it & not want me to bring him in for an exam. I have a payment due on my care credit due on Friday & that might raise the balance to $200. I really need to check into door dashing but I hate to be away from these boys very much especially with Panzer's #s finally coming down.
 
I hope so too, hopefully they will understand that he needs it & not want me to bring him in for an exam. I have a payment due on my care credit due on Friday & that might raise the balance to $200. I really need to check into door dashing but I hate to be away from these boys very much especially with Panzer's #s finally coming down.
Many people online are reporting their cats will no longer eat fancy feast. The recipe has changed apparently. Have you tried other brands?
 
It’s not normal for sure. I’ve given ondansetron to Max and Tiffany and neuter had many side effects except for a little constipation and miralax fixed that.
Yes I've been giving him MiraLax twice a day but I forget sometimes like I did today & he has pooped several times but small turds.
 
What about Soulistic? Max wouldn’t eat Tiki either. I feed my cats raw so dint know about any others. I saw the picture.
I thought about trying Soulistic but there's only 3 flavors that aren't high in carbs & phosphorus. That's according to the food chart .I've also thought about Sheba pates & it's not clear how many carbs & phosphorus it just says all flavors the same amount of carbs & phosphorus.
 
It’s not normal for sure. I’ve given ondansetron to Max and Tiffany and neuter had many side effects except for a little constipation and miralax fixed that.
Do you think him sticking his tounge out like that could be a side effect of the Cerenia? I never thought about that because he really doesn't do it when he's off of it. I feel like I should syringe him some water but I'm afraid of making him aspirate or something.
 
Had to use fortiflora again with the beef flavor :banghead: I'm going to have to try either Sheba or soulistic pates. I just wish I knew more about the carbs & phosphorus in them. I would love to get them off of FF. I have seen quite a few posts about kitty's getting sick off of it & turning up there noses to it! @Diane Tyler's Mom do you have any info on the 2 foods listed above?
 
Had to use fortiflora again with the beef flavor :banghead: I'm going to have to try either Sheba or soulistic pates. I just wish I knew more about the carbs & phosphorus in them. I would love to get them off of FF. I have seen quite a few posts about kitty's getting sick off of it & turning up there noses to it! @Diane Tyler's Mom do you have any info on the 2 foods listed above?
Hi Christina I'm sorry I don't, Tyler is/still eating FF pates and has not thrown up once and he's been on it for many many years

Look what I just found. Soulistic
https://www.soulisticpet.com/nutritional-information-pate
I think you look under the same two places like in the Weruva to get the carbs and phosphorus %



Did you look into Weruva Pates?
With weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com


When you go to the weruva site and click on one of the pic of the food , click on Detailed Nutrition information that is under guaranteed analysis to the left
YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS


Take a look here https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/pates-ni/


Also here is a list of foods for diabetics/kidney disease that was posted by one of our members
Here is a list of some of the food
As far as the food goes
For kitties with kidney disease and diabetes



. First number is carb percentage, second is mgs of phosphorus/100 cals, all less than 10% carb and less than 250 mg phos:

Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites can 6% 118
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen La Isla Bonita can 3% 166
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Meowiss Bueller pouch 7% 174
Weruva Truluxe Glam 'N Punk can 0.6% 180
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball can 4% 180
Weruva Classic Pates Jeopurrdy Licious pouch 4% 187
Weruva Classic Pates Family Food pouch 0% 191
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cattyshack pouch 9% 211
BFF PLAY Tuna & Salmon Shhh... pouch 3% 223
BFF PLAY Tuna & Turkey Totes! pouch 2% 226
BFF PLAY Tuna & Chicken Chill Out pouch 2% 226
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cat to the Future pouch 8% 235
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates The Breakfast Cat pouch 9.7% 235
Weruva Classic Pates Meal of Fortune pouch 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Lamburgini can 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Double Dip can 8% 248

YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS



Here is another list posted by one of our members
Weruva slide and serve pate foods Family Food (.97 phosphorus and 0 carb).

Jeopurrdy Chicken (0.97 P 6.1 carb)

What a Crock 0.71 phosphorus and 8 carb lots of gravy so she loved it.

Goody stew shoes 0.71 phosphorus, 8.5 carb. This one was a big hit

Weruva Steak Frites (0.57 phosphorus 5.5 carb although I take out any big pieces of potatoes to try to limit the carbs just a bit)

Weruva LA isla Bonita - phosphorus 0.77 carb 4.5 (used to like, not a favorite anymore)

Glam and punk 1% carb, 0.93 phosphorous.

Weruva paw lickin chicken 3.3 carb 0.82 p

Press your lunch 5.9 carb. 0.82 phosphorous

Bff play Laugh Out Loud chicken and lamb 7.7 carb, 0.82 phosphorous

BFF play destiny (chicken and duck) 0.87 phosphorus 7.7 carb

Bff play chicken cherish 0.71 phosphorus 7.6 carb

Bff play best buds chicken and beef 7.9 carb 0.9 phosphorus

Bff play chicken Checkmate. 7.7 carb 0.7 phos

On the Cat Wok 3.8 carb 0.74 phos



Katherine listed some foods here on her SS up top tap on Weruva
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...JUiVX87H-YOj5-lZYu3yHgXosQudHNFRKd6T-/pubhtml

@Chrispooky12
 
Last edited:
Mr 79 retest at 78 @+8 AMPS. He's been refusing to eat without fortiflora. He tried it this time & I said you better eat or your going to be hungry, he turned around & ate every last bit of it with no fortiflora. I will be done working in about an hour so not worried about the 79.
 
I sort of wonder if it's pain or the nausea causing the tongue thing. Perhaps whatever he's getting isn't quite enough. Definitely not normal
 
I sort of wonder if it's pain or the nausea causing the tongue thing. Perhaps whatever he's getting isn't quite enough. Definitely not normal
The Cerenia that the vet gives me is 24mg & I only give him half of it. I'm going to give him the ondansetron tonight @ PMPS. He hasn't done the tongue thing since last night so far.
 
Hi Christina I'm sorry I don't, Tyler is/still eating FF pates and has not thrown up once and he's been on it for many many years

Look what I just found. Soulistic
https://www.soulisticpet.com/nutritional-information-pate
I think you look under the same two places like in the Weruva to get the carbs and phosphorus %



Did you look into Weruva Pates?
With weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com


When you go to the weruva site and click on one of the pic of the food , click on Detailed Nutrition information that is under guaranteed analysis to the left
YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS


Take a look here https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/pates-ni/


Also here is a list of foods for diabetics/kidney disease that was posted by one of our members
Here is a list of some of the food
As far as the food goes
For kitties with kidney disease and diabetes



. First number is carb percentage, second is mgs of phosphorus/100 cals, all less than 10% carb and less than 250 mg phos:

Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites can 6% 118
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen La Isla Bonita can 3% 166
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Meowiss Bueller pouch 7% 174
Weruva Truluxe Glam 'N Punk can 0.6% 180
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball can 4% 180
Weruva Classic Pates Jeopurrdy Licious pouch 4% 187
Weruva Classic Pates Family Food pouch 0% 191
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cattyshack pouch 9% 211
BFF PLAY Tuna & Salmon Shhh... pouch 3% 223
BFF PLAY Tuna & Turkey Totes! pouch 2% 226
BFF PLAY Tuna & Chicken Chill Out pouch 2% 226
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cat to the Future pouch 8% 235
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates The Breakfast Cat pouch 9.7% 235
Weruva Classic Pates Meal of Fortune pouch 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Lamburgini can 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Double Dip can 8% 248

YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS



Here is another list posted by one of our members
Weruva slide and serve pate foods Family Food (.97 phosphorus and 0 carb).

Jeopurrdy Chicken (0.97 P 6.1 carb)

What a Crock 0.71 phosphorus and 8 carb lots of gravy so she loved it.

Goody stew shoes 0.71 phosphorus, 8.5 carb. This one was a big hit

Weruva Steak Frites (0.57 phosphorus 5.5 carb although I take out any big pieces of potatoes to try to limit the carbs just a bit)

Weruva LA isla Bonita - phosphorus 0.77 carb 4.5 (used to like, not a favorite anymore)

Glam and punk 1% carb, 0.93 phosphorous.

Weruva paw lickin chicken 3.3 carb 0.82 p

Press your lunch 5.9 carb. 0.82 phosphorous

Bff play Laugh Out Loud chicken and lamb 7.7 carb, 0.82 phosphorous

BFF play destiny (chicken and duck) 0.87 phosphorus 7.7 carb

Bff play chicken cherish 0.71 phosphorus 7.6 carb

Bff play best buds chicken and beef 7.9 carb 0.9 phosphorus

Bff play chicken Checkmate. 7.7 carb 0.7 phos

On the Cat Wok 3.8 carb 0.74 phos



Katherine listed some foods here on her SS up top tap on Weruva
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...JUiVX87H-YOj5-lZYu3yHgXosQudHNFRKd6T-/pubhtml

@Chrispooky12
He absolutely hates weruva. He is a major bratt! :p
 
It really does look like you may be shooting a green tonight, Christina. As long as you can test and monitor and have all supplies ready then you can shoot if he’s 50 or above. And to think you were ready to give up on Lantus! I’m glad you did not.
 
It really does look like you may be shooting a green tonight, Christina. As long as you can test and monitor and have all supplies ready then you can shoot if he’s 50 or above. And to think you were ready to give up on Lantus! I’m glad you did not.
I'm glad I didn't either. I shot him @98 that's the lowest I ever shot him on Lantus. I've shot lower on prozinc but a smaller dose. I'm prepared with my hypo kit hopefully I won't have to go there but I'm ready :cat:
 
It really does look like you may be shooting a green tonight, Christina. As long as you can test and monitor and have all supplies ready then you can shoot if he’s 50 or above. And to think you were ready to give up on Lantus! I’m glad you did not.
Check out the link in comment 12 to my FB Panzer(pics)was doing that last night. He hasn't since then but I want to see what you think @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Check out the link in comment 12 to my FB Panzer(pics)was doing that last night. He hasn't since then but I want to see what you think @Suzanne & Darcy
I see it. First of all, Panzer is beautiful. Secondly, he really is sticking his tongue out a lot… further than I imagined. Have you had the chance to show that to the vet? I bet the vet will be just about as clueless as we all are here.
 
I see it. First of all, Panzer is beautiful. Secondly, he really is sticking his tongue out a lot… further than I imagined. Have you had the chance to show that to the vet? I bet the vet will be just about as clueless as we all are here.
No I will email it to him tomorrow, they usually don't have a vet on Friday & they close early so I will see tomorrow hopefully. He's not doing it so far today, but I always jinx myself so we will see.
 
When was the last time he did it (approximately) and how was he acting and eating then?
The last time he did was when I posted those pics last night which was at test time. He just did it at test time @+3 so it's happening at test time but not everytime we test. He's fighting me at test time knocking the meter down when I go to get the blood clawing the crap out of me. I'm testing him 7,8 times a day, so maybe stress related or it's a form of retaliation I don't know but that seems to be the only time he does it. He's taking longer to eat, he's had fortiflora on all meals except +8 AMPS despite the Mirataz @+2 AMPS. I gave him ondansetron tonight @ PMPS instead of cerenia. I almost gave Spook cerenia he's needed fortiflora & coaxing quite a bit again! I may give him cerenia @+4 PMPS feeding coming up.
 
69@+4 they are eating now. I gave Spook cerenia. They are both chowing down. They both hated the beef this morning! :rolleyes: they both cleaned there bowls just now!
 
Please start a new condo tomorrow or the next time you post. This one is dated 7/12. Thanks.
I was just thinking that it's getting long. I will start a new one tomorrow unless there's an emergency tonight then I will start one tonight. I am off work tomorrow so I can stay up all night with my baby if I need to!
 
I don’t think you will need to be up all night. Anti jinx. He might be leveling out and going to surf. Are you feeding all lc? Maybe he will be done by +7.
 
Back
Top