07/12 Jake's AMPS 399, +9@ 306

Status
Not open for further replies.
sometimes heat makes people not want to eat - maybe it's affecting Jake . . . ?

if his appetite is off this evening, post and ask for suggestions in your subject line. everyone's got different tricks that can help entice a kitty to eat - maybe something will be just right for him.
 
it's not ideal, but as you look at other cat's numbers, remember that you're using an alphatrak and the numbers are going to be higher on those meters. normal on the AT is about 68-160, for a human meter it's 50-120.

So 306 on an AT isn't quite as high as it sounds. :-D
 
he'll get there. many vets don't seem to be as familiar with the Tight Regulation Protocol, but that's the only protocol published in a veterinary journal for treating diabetic cats. if you want to look at it or give a copy to your vet, it's in the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky with a yellow star, about 5 paragraphs down.

newly diagnosed cats have a good chance of going off of insulin if they get tightly controlled, ie, kept in normal non-diabetic cat blood sugar numbers. According to that PDF, the chance is more than 90%, but sooner is better than later. So following the TR protocol, we'd be trying to help you get Jake between 68-160. just wanted to throw that out there for you to consider. It's worth looking at the PDF - skip the parts that are too technical and just keep plugging away reading it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top