07/12/11 Zener PSPM 315; +2 338 ATrak BG Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 7/11/11

We are home from our six days away and our pet sitter did a very good job. Now that I am home looking at her notes, I see he primarily ate dry food - Core Wellness mixed with Purina DM - while we were away. I suspect that could add to his high numbers. He as bounced around quite a bit while we were gone. Seems he also vomited once or twice every couple of days, which happened before when he was on the Purina DM before we had transitioned him to primarily wet food. His water consumption also increased while we were gone and he was eating more dry food. Urination stayed about the same and he maintained his weight. We will work to get him back on his wet food diet right away, but it was important that he was eating.

I will get the information updated on his SS shortly. For now here is yesterday's recap:
7/11/11 A Trak 1.75u
PSAM 414
+5 326
PSPM 190
+6 222

Here is today so far, 1.75 u
PSAM 498
+3.5 222

Any advice on how to proceed with his dose now that we are home? He seems to be bouncing around quite a bit, and I'm wondering if we should keep things the same for a few cycles, while getting him back on his wet food.
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498; +3 222; +6 90 ATrak Dose HELP

Looks like the bottom has dropped out since we got home!

PSAM 498 Alpha Trak 1.75u
+3.5 222
+6 90

He has eaten an ounce of wet food blue buffalo tuna, an ounce of fancy feast chicken florentine with gravy and I gave him 3 semi soft treats since his BG was down below 100. We use the alpha trak meter. He is acting okay and not hypo acting. I see on the notes from the pet sitter that he vomited this morning, so wondering how much of his morning food he got in after his insulin injection. I'll check his BG again at +7 and see if he is steady or going up, but sometimes he has continued to drop until his PSPM. From 498 to 90 seems like a really big drop to me. Any advice would be appreciated.

nailbite_smile
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498; +3 222; +6 90; +7 92 ATrak HELP

Checked again at +7

PSAM 498 Alpha Trak 1.75u
+3.5 222
+6 90
+7 92

Fed him a little more FF chicken florentine HC. Will keep checking BG values until PMPS. If BG remains low, what sort of dose should I give?

The green is our welcome home present!
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498;+3 222;+6 90;+7 92;+9 163 ATrak

Here is the latest:

PSAM 498 Alpha Trak 1.75u
+3.5 222
+6 90
+7 92
+9 163

Looks like the HC food and treats has kicked in and BG is up. I will keep monitoring and see how things are at PSPM. Nothing like a little heart palpitation in the green to welcome us back home!

:o nailbite_smile :o
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498;+3 222;+6 90;+7 92;+9 163 ATrak

Anne & Zener said:
Here is the latest:

PSAM 498 Alpha Trak 1.75u
+3.5 222
+6 90
+7 92
+9 163

Looks like the HC food and treats has kicked in and BG is up. I will keep monitoring and see how things are at PSPM. Nothing like a little heart palpitation in the green to welcome us back home!

:o nailbite_smile :o

You're not kidding. :lol: Or the ol' adrenalin rush. I'm glad to see that he's coming back down for you. It could be the stress of having a petsitter with him until you folks got home, and the added dry food. Otherwise, he's got some beautiful #s now. :smile: Definitely a welcome home pressie for you. :-D

With regards to dosing, I hope someone on here will come by and help you with that as I'm not experienced, or comfortable enough to help out. Sorry.
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498;+3 222;+6 90;+7 92;+9 163 ATrak

You might want to hang on to this post regarding managing low numbers.

I wouldn't really call this "bottoming out." It's lower than what you've seen but Zener and you did fine!

Lets see where he is at PMPS.
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498;+3 222;+6 90;+7 92;+9 163 ATrak

Thanks Angela, and you are so right about the adrenaline rush! He is very glad to see us and we've had very little trouble getting him to eat wet food, so we're grateful for that. Thanks for the bump about my dose question.
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener AMPS 498;+3 222;+6 90;+7 92;+9 163 ATrak

Sienne and Gabby said:
You might want to hang on to this post regarding managing low numbers.

Thank you for the post. I have it bookmarked and printed off now in Zener's log book. I saw it on the message board when I was reading there this afternoon and read it as we were stressing over his 90!

Sienne and Gabby said:
I wouldn't really call this "bottoming out." It's lower than what you've seen but Zener and you did fine!
Thank you! It was a little like jumping in a cold lake. Just as soon as we get home, a bit of a heart racer! He is acting just fine, did not appear to have any kind of symptoms.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Lets see where he is at PMPS.

Okay, I'll be getting that in about 2 hours. I'll post to the message board and on Zener's SS.

Thank you!
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener PSPM 3126 ATrak Dose HELP

Here is where Zener is at his PSPM. I'll post on his SS.

PSAM 498 Alpha Trak 1.75u
+3.5 222
+6 90
+7 92
+9 163
PSPM 315

Does this look like we are good to go for his 1.75 u tonight?
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener PSPM 315 ATrak Dose HELP

That's a big bounce up so yes, shoot your usual dose. This is why you don't want to anticipate what will happen. Cats have a way of handing us surprises.
 
Re: 07/12/11 Zener PSPM 315 ATrak Dose HELP

He has been bouncing like crazy while we were away. Could my feeding him the HC food and the HC treats have caused this bounce? Or is it just the alignment of the planets?

Sienne and Gabby wrote:I wouldn't really call this "bottoming out."

I'm not quite sure what "bottoming out" means, can you explain?

Will give his shot in a few minutes. I'll get a +2 or +3 tonight and post. Thanks for such a rapid reply!
cat_pet_icon
 
Just posted the latest BG values on Zener's SS. He is eating wet food since we got home and I chase him around with it, from wiping a bit on his nose to feeding him little bits by hand to get him going. He is eating the higher carb food and not too keen on his lower carb food, even with fortiflora, but he has been eating wet food and no dry food since we got home around noon today. I'll try to stay awake for a +3. Had to get up at 3 am this morning to get to the airport on time to get home!

PSAM 498 Alpha Trak 1.75u
+3.5 222
+6 90
+7 92
+9 163
PSPM 315
+2 338

Looks like we had almost all the colors of the BG rainbow today. :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top