07/10 Zorro AMPS 286 Reduced dose as away until +7

Zorro's mom

Member Since 2019
A nice number (it's all relative :)) for Zorro and I to wake up to.
I do regret that I won't be able to see what his current dose does with a AMPS like this but I have to take one of our other kitties for treatment out of town and won't be back until this afternoon and I don't want to stress the entire time that I'm away.
My partner will check on Zorro and feed him but his day can be a bit unpredictable at work, therefore the reduced dose.
Sometimes life happens.
 
It’s always better safe than sorry! You’ll get a chance to shoot an amps like this again in the future so don’t stress! Like you said, life happens :)

I hope Zorro slides down and surfs safely today :)
 
Thank you Amanda! :)

Unfortunately it looks a bit late in the day over here for Mr Z to slide down much, but there's always tonight and tomorrow :cat:

I hope you and your kitty will be having a good, easy and safe day - down by the beach, of course ;)
 
Thank you Julie! :)

Other kitty, Alice, had a successful treatment and Zorro is trying out his pink Rocket Man costumes today :p Hopefully he'll retire by this evening.

Hope you and darling Honey are both well. Wishing you a peaceful day :bighug:
 
images
 
I'd love to chime in - but I can't make heads or tails of his SS. Hopefully you'll get some help with that from the experts - I really couldn't find the entries for this month at all... so sorry...

Just wanted to add - he's a cutie! Love the tuxedos :)
 
A couple of points. First, it’s time for Mr. Zorro to try out 4.0 units. All I see on 3.75 was high blue and you have had six cycles before today.

Second, reducing for one cycle may not always work, because of the nature of the depot. The depot can control a large part of what happens that cycle you reduce. Zorro got blues last night, which means today was likely a bounce cycle and a safe cycle to ease off the pokies. You had seen enough cycles to know Zorro only gets to upper blue on 3.75 units. Plus he's on Levemir and nadirs after +7. I would have been tempted to use that knowledge to shoot and walk out the door knowing he was going to be safe. Anyway, there will be a next time.
 
Hi Wendy, all noted thank you.

Yes, my partner and I said we should try 4 units as from tomorrow so I'll do that.

In hindsight it does seem silly that I tested so much today. I can recognize a bounce cycle by now and you're right, I should ease up on Zorro's ears - and our test strip supply - when I start to see such a cycle.

As far as reducing today's shot goes, I do know that his nadir happens around +7 / +8 but I wasn't certain that I'd be back by then and I'm always afraid of something unpredictable happening when I'm not around.

Thank you for the reality checks though. Please continue to keep an eye on his SS.
 
The main point I wanted you to get out of that is that reducing for just the cycle you are away may not give you the safety you hoped for, due to the depot. The rest you learn over time as you learn how Zorro works the insulin.

Getting test strips was an effort for me (I cross border shopped to the US to save $$), so I spent quite a bit of time learning how to optimize my testing and reduce the number of strips I used. Save them for when he's in lower numbers. Pink and above is just "too high". The hardest part for me was learning how not to be a helicopter mom when Neko was in high numbers. So, been there, done that.:bighug:
 
Got it about the depot. So it sounds as if one's only safeguard on a last-minute day out of town is someone else who can monitor your cat.

PS: I had to google "helicopter mom" :joyful:
 
Back
Top