07/10 Jake AMPS 117@5:30, +4 220@9:30

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jakesmama

Member Since 2014
Gave him half can at bedtime last night. He woke me up at 5:30 wanting breakfast. Took AMPS, fed a whole can, gave 2u. Went back to bed, woke at 9:30 to find Jake under the bed. Strangely enough, not meowing for food. So I tested, and he came up at220 @+4. It's 10am and he still doesn't seem hungry. He's also kinda lethargic.

felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121473#p1265780
 
I did give 2.5 yesterday and then go back to 2, because his numbers had been in the 300's for 10 days.

As of 11am, Jake has eaten his first small meal and is no longer lethargic. Is the +6 you refer to the one after PMPS? I try to give him his bedtime meal around 9-9:30 which is usually +3 after PMPS. So I do PMPS at the +12, feed him, give 2u. Then at +3 I give him a half a can before bed. He eats Fancy Feast, so the can is small.

felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121473#p1265780
 
+6 is 6 hours after shooting....either after the AMPS or the PMPS

Each cycle lasts about 12 hours, so after 6, we figure the insulin is starting to wear off, so that's why most of us don't feed after that since they're starting to head back up around then and adding food just makes it harder

On the link, you put it in the right place, but it looks like you dropped the "http://www" part...Your link starts at felinediabetes.com....it should start with www. or http://www.

I did give 2.5 yesterday and then go back to 2, because his numbers had been in the 300's for 10 days.

OK...not sure why you'd decrease then, but no matter...this 2 unit dose has gotten him into the blues a few times and it looks like he's just bouncing, so for now, you wouldn't want to increase..Remember, we don't look at the Pre-shot numbers as much as we look at how far down this dose takes him

It's really important for you to try to keep getting at least 1 test in the PM cycle....On 7/5, you got a 107 at +4 and he MAY have gone lower. We all really understand how lousy it is to have to set an alarm and get up in the middle of a perfectly good night's sleep, but without some occasional tests later in that cycle, it makes it hard to know what to advise you to do. You don't have to do that every night (just try to get a quick test in before you go to bed and THEN decide if you have to use the dreaded alarm clock)
 
Yeah that's one option... we each have to just experiment with feeding to see what works best for our cats

You can Test/Feed/Shoot at AMPS, then feed anytime until +6 and then Test/Feed/Shoot at PMPS and feed again anytime until +6 and see if it make any difference

It sometimes helps to put a * in the cells when you feed so when you go back and look, you can start to see if there's a pattern developing that will help tell you how Jake responds to feeding (or jot it down in the "Remarks" area of your spreadsheet)....that's what I do with China...put how much she ate, when, and what carb % (if different from her "normal" foods)

Another option some people try is to break the AM meal into 2-3 meals and T/F/S at AMPS, then feed again at +1, +2, +3 and then no more food (other than pokey treats) until PMPS (That gets all the carbs into them at the beginning of the cycle when the Lantus is going to be working it's best)

The test I like to get is a +2 because it can give you some early warning if they're going to drop lower in the cycle. If the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, that's a good clue that they might be dropping lower later in that cycle, so you'd want to make sure to get some tests in (even if it means the alarm clock), but getting a +3 and +6 is great too...but you want to get them at different times when you can.

Think of your spreadsheet as a puzzle. If the only pieces you see are the edges or right in the middle, it makes it hard to see the "whole picture". If you shrink your spreadsheet down as small as possible and don't concentrate so much on the individual cells, you'll start to see place where there's lots of white....that shows you where you need to get more tests so there aren't a lot of those big empty white areas
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top