07/1 Herman AMPS 272 …a few questions

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Hello,
This was the lowest AMPS I’ve seen since we started tracking. I started second-guessing whether he should get the full 1.5 dose or if I should lower it ….but went ahead with full dose.
Question: Would you ever lower the dose when AMPS is significantly lower than the usual AMPS even though it’s still high in comparison to ’normal” or target numbers?

….so As mentioned I did go with full dose only to realize that he may not have gotten the full dose as I’ve noticed a drop of insulin on the tip of the needle just as I went to go shoot! These tiny units with Lantis has been a bit of a challenge for me and my apparent clumsiness!

I was also a little surprised by how late his nadir in his last cycle was.

Also a couple tech q’s:
I can’t figure out how to copy my previous days thread into this message I will try again later from my computer right now I’m working off my iPad so maybe that’s why I can’t figure out how to do it.
And my mmol/L spreadsheet is no longer automatically populating into the US format sheet. I will see if I can figure out why that’s happening from my computer when I get to my desk because again I’m on my iPad right now but if anyone has any insight to what I might be doing wrong there I’d appreciate it.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tus-today-is-he-dropping-too-fast-now.265213/
 
Last edited:
This was the lowest AMPS I’ve seen since we started tracking. I started second-guessing whether he should get the full 1.5 dose or if I should lower it ….but went ahead with full dose.
Question: Would you ever lower the dose when AMPS is significantly lower than the usual AMPS even though it’s still high in comparison to ’normal” or target numbers?
Lantus dosing is based on nadirs i.e. how low the dose takes the cat and not based on preshots. It is good you shot the full dose.

….so As mentioned I did go with full dose only to realize that he may not have gotten the full dose as I’ve noticed a drop of insulin on the tip of the needle just as I went to go shoot! These tiny units with Lantis has been a bit of a challenge for me and my apparent clumsiness!
Didn't understand. Did youn find a drop on the tip of the needle after you shot him?

I can’t figure out how to copy my previous days thread into this message I will try again later from my computer right now I’m working off my iPad so maybe that’s why I can’t figure out how to do it.
You just got to your previous post (using Safari?) and copy the link to the page (at the top of the browser) and paste it a new post. Not sure I have explained it well!
Here's the link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tus-today-is-he-dropping-too-fast-now.265213/

And my mmol/L spreadsheet is no longer automatically populating into the US format sheet. I will see if I can figure out why that’s happening from my computer when I get to my desk because again I’m on my iPad right now but if anyone has any insight to what I might be doing wrong there I’d appreciate it.
If you will share the link you use to edit the SS, I can fix this for you. :-)
 
Lantus dosing is based on nadirs i.e. how low the dose takes the cat and not based on preshots. It is good you shot the full dose.
Phew

Didn't understand. Did youn find a drop on the tip of the needle after you shot him?
No, Just as a put the needle into his skin I thought I saw a bubble of liquid at the tip (was too late to stop injecting). A very tiny bubble of liquid that could also have been my imagination…but with these tiny doses I see how every drop counts. Even depressing the plunger is such a tiny movement I often second guess myself! I’ll get better at it, I’m just used to drawing the larger units with caninsulin.


You just got to your previous post (using Safari?) and copy the link to the page (at the top of the browser) and paste it a new post. Not sure I have explained it well!
Here's the link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tus-today-is-he-dropping-too-fast-now.265213/
Oh, great I understand now.


If you will share the link you use to edit the SS, I can fix this for you. :)
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZhdbIVHn6zNPEZqm4NHiwegoDeNzRUVf1V-ZxFnCfd4/edit
Here it is, that would be great! Hope I didn’t muck it up too bad.
 
Back
Top