07/09 - Small Kitty amps 110 +1 293 pmps 295 +2 315

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Hummm.... What's going here I don't know...

Small Kitty started from a pmps 329, raised to 356 at +5.. and is now in the blue.
Sounds that Small Kitty is reacting unpredictably on dose reduction.

Some jammed pipes inside must have released their substances lately.

With this low amps I had to decide if I was to shoot or not, we're still blue after all...

I'm using the AT2 meter with human strips, results are slightly different with human strips
Having AT2 strips, I went on with a test that gave an even lower result, 6.1 (109).

That was it, no shot.

Going to work today until 16h, will test again later but don't want to give a late shot so that's gonna be it for amps.

What do you think ? Would you have done the same being in my shoes ?

Can't wait to see what pmps has in reserve, probably high number..

Will only be there at +11, work until 16h.

Yesterday :
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...329-first-reduction-ever.160944/#post-1720402
 
Last edited:
Tested before leaving to the office at +1, 293, decided to go with a late shot of new reduced dose (2.5 U)

The 293 is right after food intake but I don't think it's going to go down, as I'm not
gonna be here, better stay on the safe side.

.
 
Also gave him (just now at +1) .5 can of FF with gravy (chicken feast in gravy), corn is 3 in ingredient list.
More food is also there at +3 +5.

Tricky the low numbers business...
 
If you gave food more than 20min before getting that +1, that number could very well be food influenced. And SK could drop once the food wears off.

Any chance you can check on SK later today?
Make sure to leave food out for SK if you are going to be out.
 
If you gave food more than 20min before getting that +1
Nice to see you here that early, Gill. Yes typical LC food was given after 20 min. I didn't know food spikes were as fast to gear on.

Small Kitty will not go below zero degree but might turn red at pmps because of the extra food, will see.

His system will be totally confused :confused:.
 
Nice to see you here that early, Gill.
Hehehe
It's lunch time for me;)

You can see a food spike as soon as 20min after food in some cats.
In the future if you stall, try not to feed anything at all and re test in 20 min to see where BG is heading.:)
I'm sure he'll be safe with all the food you left.
 
I don't think that jump from 110 to 293 an hour later was primarily a food spike. I suspect it was the last shot wearing off. Often when that happens a kitty's blood sugar will really zoom - and that's what you had happen.

Just for accuracy, in his spreadsheet would you make these changes, please?

in the amps cell for this morning record it like this:
12=110
13=293

That shows the test you got at +12 and that you waited one hour to shoot and the number you actually shot was a 293. The am preshot or pm preshot is always the number that you shoot. +1 is always the test one hour after you shoot. You always count hours from the last shot.
 
In the future, should I skip shooting if I get BG in the 100 - 199 range ?

Do some give ''haft shot'' if it's past, let's say 130 ?

The max delay I can test is +1 (during the week), after that I'm gone and there is
no monitoring.

Trying not to create bounce and keep Small Kitty secure when I'm not there.

.
 
If you'd been home today I'd have encouraged you to shoot that 110. Once you've done that a few times and could make a prediction about what he would do after the shot, then you can shoot and leave.

But when it's the first time with a lower preshot and you've got to leave a cat alone, then you have to be more conservative, which you were.

You can't really change bouncing except by keeping a cat in normal (mostly green) numbers. In your situation that's proven to be very difficult. I'd try not to worry about it.
 
A food spike is typically smaller than that. Think about when someone gives high carb food - the cat's blood sugar might go up 30 points in a half hour. A zoom of 183 points in one hour is unlikely to be just from food, in my opinion.

My point about the numbers above is for you to change the spreadsheet so it more accurately shows when those numbers occurred. Does that make sense?
 
If you'd been home today I'd have encouraged you to shoot that 110. Once you've done that a few times and could make a prediction about what he would do after the shot, then you can shoot and leave.

But when it's the first time with a lower preshot and you've got to leave a cat alone, then you have to be more conservative, which you were.

You can't really change bouncing except by keeping a cat in normal (mostly green) numbers. In your situation that's proven to be very difficult. I'd try not to worry about it.

To see how to handle blue numbers I browsed you're SS, it's just now that I learned that your help is fully
dedicated to other's cats. Find this amazing Julie, thanks.
 
Punkin's situation was different - he had acromegaly and we had him treated with SRT (radiation). So I was more conservative with him because of anticipating his insulin needs would drop unexpectedly. I also didn't have much in the way of guidance on his dosing after the SRT. There had been a dust-up of personalities on FDMB just before we joined and all the cats with high dose conditions had left and formed a group elsewhere.

Now we have lots of cats with high dose conditions and more examples to follow.

Yes, Punkin passed away 3 years ago now. I miss him every day. He was an extraordinary cat.
 
My point about the numbers above is for you to change the spreadsheet so it more accurately shows when those numbers occurred. Does that make sense?

Oups, sorrry but don't understand :bookworm:. I woke up at 6am, got 110 at AMPS so I put in on the typical field, no shot. At 7am, before leaving I tested and got 293. 7am makes for +1. In the comments I put ''late shot''.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top