07/08 - Shen - AMPS 112, +2.25 78, PMPS 80, +2 84

Nimi S

Member Since 2023
Link to previous condo: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-05-shen-amps-86-2-79-pmps-77-2-75.279204/

Happy Caturday to everyone! ฅ^••^ฅ

Been seeing one too many blue AMPSes this week. Today's the highest in nearly 3 weeks.
It is kind of funny that I have to rely on food now, instead of insulin, to lower his BGs :')

The sweet spot for the last PM snack is +9, I guess, which has been a hit or miss for me to do, depending on how many times in the night Shen wakes me up. Ever since increasing the time between his snacks, he's gone back to being a brat and waking me up every hour for food at night. I think he's gotten used to getting snacks every hour now :rolleyes:

I try to ignore him but yesterday night he pushed a flower vase down the tv unit. Thankfully it was a plastic one but filled with water. So after mopping the floor at 4am, I proceeded to give Shen his well-earned snack :D

Here's one such early morning photo of Shen doing shenanigans...the bottle and copper vase behind him have been duly brought down to the floor where they belong :D

destruction_shen.jpg
 

Attachments

  • destruction_shen.jpg
    destruction_shen.jpg
    29.9 KB · Views: 81
On a serious and unrelated note, I've been reading that giving vit B12 methylcobalamin, when not required, might lead to cancer. I did feel that giving it to Shen did make a difference to his mood and energy levels but I'm not sure if that was the only contributing factor, since his BG becoming regulated and his UTI clearing up could have also helped with his overall health improving. My own b12 level is usually too low and I know how my mood, lethargy and fatigue levels worsen during those spells.
I wasn't too worried about giving the b12 capsules to Shen since the excess seems too be excreted through the urine and he's getting only one 1000mcg capsule per day. But now I am thinking of getting his b12 levels checked during his next blood work and continuing the capsules only if his b12 is low.

I also haven't been giving him the multivitamin (Neurobion Forte) after the first couple of times.

Any suggestions @Bandit's Mom , @Bron and Sheba (GA) ? Is it ok to continue the b12 methyl capsules?
 
I give both Budge and Bandit B-complex (Neurobion Forte) and Methyl-B12 regularly since they both are early to mid stage CKD. But here are some posts about B12 and cancer:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3011835/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2746486/

Tanya's page on the B Vitamins only says not to give it to cats who have cancer:
http://felinecrf.org/vitamin_b.htm

I think your idea to check his levels at the next blood test and only give it then might be a good idea.


Loved that pic of Shen. He looks like he's daring you to sleep without feeding him. :smuggrin:
 
But here are some posts about B12 and cancer:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3011835/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2746486/

Tanya's page on the B Vitamins only says not to give it to cats who have cancer:
http://felinecrf.org/vitamin_b.htm
Thanks for the links, Bhooma :) it was in fact after reading Wendy’s similar reply to a recent thread that I felt like becoming cautious about continuing to give the b12.
The felinecrf website always overwhelms me but it’s so chock full of information that I can’t stop browsing it either :eek:

I think your idea to check his levels at the next blood test and only give it then might be a good idea.
Yes, given how hypochondriac I’m about Shen’s health and always trying to sniff trouble when there isn’t any, I’ll err on the side of caution and hold off on the b12 for now.

Loved that pic of Shen. He looks like he's daring you to sleep without feeding him. :smuggrin:
Yep. He’s saying ‘I’m just getting started.’ :D
 
Back
Top