? 07-08 Panzer PMPS 119/202@+3/185@+4/219@+6/224@+7/264@+8QUESTIONS chronic pancreatitis

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
Panzer was doing great with no appetite stimulant & no Cerenia. All of a sudden he started sticking his tounge out,so I started putting an extra tablespoon of water in his food. He was fine for a few days then he started needing fortiflora on his food & I'm not sure but I think the fortiflora was to much & therfore he started sticking his tounge out again (maybe dry mouth)?

All of a sudden he decided he wasn't going to eat so I started him back on Cerenia last night & back on mirtaz this morning. He refused his regular food @AMPS so I offered him chicken & tuna flaked fancy feast he ate all of it. His #s have really come down quite a bit, so when I tested him @+4 AMPS he was @81 so I fed him a half a can of fancy feast gravy lovers chicken feast HC & he ate all of that. I tested him when I got home from work for +8 AMPS feeding he was @136. I fed him his regular food & he ate all of it. I tested him @ PMPS & he was @119, I gave him 2units of insulin @AMPS & also @PMPS because I'm not sure how low he dropped last night between +9 PMPS & AMPS. He was @129 AMPS +8 PMPS the night before was 171. I'm really not sure why he is now finally dropping but I thought it was best to decrease.

On his bloodwork that we just had done on 6-23 it says" acute pancreatitis is unlikely chronic pancreatitis is not excluded by a normal Presicion PSL"so I'm pretty sure that Panzer is having a pancreatitis flare up. Unfortunately I don't have the money to take him to the vet so I am treating him with Cerenia & mirtaz. The vet did call in ondansetron for Panzer 14 4mg pills 1 every 12hrs. Does that sound right? I haven't gotten it yet but found out the price where I had the vet call it into was $53.85 with the goodrx. I looked at prices at other pharmacies & found it at Meijer pharmacy for $1.91with goodrx, so I'm waiting on it to be transferred to Meijer & filled. He just had Cerenia @ PMPS so he should be good until tomorrow if I can't get ondansetron tonight. When I do give it to him, should I wait until PMPS to give it to him since the Cerenia is supposed to be good for 24hrs?

Should I keep Panzer's dose at 2 units until he drops below 50 or should I decrease it at a higher #? I am off work until Monday so I can monitor him. Panzer refused his regular food @PMPS so he had the flaked chicken & tuna again. I also bought a couple of other cans of the flaked FF & the chunky chicken FF. I also replaced my medium carb FF grilled chicken feast in gravy. My daughter feeds that to her kitty's & was out & couldn't find any. So my hypo kit is ready to go if needed. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ose-increase-food-switch.264440/#post-2962696
 
You can give Ondansetron as often as every 8 hours, but I oftentimes have found that twice a day is sufficient. I also have frequently given it every 8 hours. It depends upon the situation I also have frequently given Cerenia at the same time as Ondansetron since they work differently. You will have to experiment and see if Ondansetron by itself will solve the problem or if it adds something - and if you want to give the Ondansetron at a different time than the Cerenia. There is no hard and fast rule here. ECID. I know that I have said this before, but do beware that Ondansetron may cause constipation and you may need to increase Miralax, psyllium, etc. to keep on top of it.
 
You can give Ondansetron as often as every 8 hours, but I oftentimes have found that twice a day is sufficient. I also have frequently given it every 8 hours. It depends upon the situation I also have frequently given Cerenia at the same time as Ondansetron since they work differently. You will have to experiment and see if Ondansetron by itself will solve the problem or if it adds something - and if you want to give the Ondansetron at a different time than the Cerenia. There is no hard and fast rule here. ECID. I know that I have said this before, but do beware that Ondansetron may cause constipation and you may need to increase Miralax, psyllium, etc. to keep on top of it.
Good to know about the constipation & being able to give him both. I haven't given anymore psyllium yet. He's doing good on the 2xs a day MiraLax so far anyways. Do you think I should add chronic pancreatitis & constipation to his signature? Does ondansetron effect the BG at all?
 
Good to know about the constipation & being able to give him both. I haven't given anymore psyllium yet. He's doing good on the 2xs a day MiraLax so far anyways. Do you think I should add chronic pancreatitis & constipation to his signature? Does ondansetron effect the BG at all?
Ondansetron should not affect BG
 
My heart goes out to you. I am currently going through this with Taz as well. His last flare up was in March, then we had a thunderstorm 2 weeks ago and then two vet visits, and we're right back to pancreatitis.

I tried ondansetron a few days ago and it didn't seem to help Taz much. Cerenia seems like the better choice for him. I also realized that gabapentin seems to be better than bupe. Make sure you have plenty of pain medication on hand, and you may want to buy some syringes on Amazon and a magic bullet. That way you have them on hand in case you have to assist feed. Good job with adding a bit of water to his meals. That's always the first thing I do with Taz.
 
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-195-4-204-6-210-7-170-8.265493/#post-2973516

Hope the ondansetron helps, it's about time the vet gave it to you.
Keeping my paws crossed , he is getting nice numbers :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Yeah it was actually the other vet Chelsea that oked it after a vet tech called me back & I explained to her what was going on & that Cerenia just wasn't working for him anymore, she called it in for me.I think I might like her better never met her but Panzer's vet is only there twice a week.
His #s are going in the opposite direction for some reason :arghh: the night isn't over yet though!
 
Maybe he can be worn down on that as well!
He wasn't in he's only there 2 days a week, Chelsea the other vet called it in after I talked to the vet tech & told her what was going on. Like I told Melissa maybe I can eventually persuade her into some bupe.
My heart goes out to you. I am currently going through this with Taz as well. His last flare up was in March, then we had a thunderstorm 2 weeks ago and then two vet visits, and we're right back to pancreatitis.

I tried ondansetron a few days ago and it didn't seem to help Taz much. Cerenia seems like the better choice for him. I also realized that gabapentin seems to be better than bupe. Make sure you have plenty of pain medication on hand, and you may want to buy some syringes on Amazon and a magic bullet. That way you have them on hand in case you have to assist feed. Good job with adding a bit of water to his meals. That's always the first thing I do with Taz.
Aww poor Taz, the only thing Panzer is afraid of is the vet. Fireworks, thunderstorms, dogs, vacuum cleaners none of it bothers him. He does okay on Cerenia, so we will see how he does on the ondansetron. I have some syringes in my hypo kit & I have a ninja that I bought when I had my Mom in homecare. She had a massive stroke in 2018 & she could only eat pureed foods, she passed in 2021:(
 
He wasn't in he's only there 2 days a week, Chelsea the other vet called it in after I talked to the vet tech & told her what was going on. Like I told Melissa maybe I can eventually persuade her into some bupe.

Aww poor Taz, the only thing Panzer is afraid of is the vet. Fireworks, thunderstorms, dogs, vacuum cleaners none of it bothers him. He does okay on Cerenia, so we will see how he does on the ondansetron. I have some syringes in my hypo kit & I have a ninja that I bought when I had my Mom in homecare. She had a massive stroke in 2018 & she could only eat pureed foods, she passed in 2021:(

I'm sorry to hear about your mom.
 
Ondansetron can be given up to 4 times per day. See table 9 in the article in this post: (2016) ISFM Consensus Guidelines: Diagnosis & Management of Feline Chronic Kidney Disease
How much does Panzer weigh? Dosing is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat. Many vets underdose it. I would give the ondansetron about 1/2 hour before you want him to eat.

Pain relief is important. Which one works depends on the cat. Gabapentin didn't do much for Neko, but bupe worked wonders.

If you are following TR, I would go back to 2.25 units. Today's green was from the 2.25 unit depot, and still room to drop safely.
 
Oh so sorry about Panzer!
Can't lend advice for his many of his issues, except for when Ares just began refusing his pate (which was a slurry, tried without water, tried without any additives, still mostly refused) I began feeding him the FF flaked ckn&tuna...he went to town on it. Then i ventured out into the chunky chicken and now the chunky turkey . all three he will eat. It has been quite a while now and he will only eat regular pate if he is SUPER hungry. so now i buy him those three.

He eats quite well on them, I am not having any issues with him eating them and BONUS, Ihave stopped dosing his fiber and he is taking super duper healthy poo once nightly...im talking...very healthy. I dont know if it's something in the ffFlaked Ckn&tuna...but its definitely working for ares.
Wish i could help more!
 
Ondansetron can be given up to 4 times per day. See table 9 in the article in this post: (2016) ISFM Consensus Guidelines: Diagnosis & Management of Feline Chronic Kidney Disease
How much does Panzer weigh? Dosing is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat. Many vets underdose it. I would give the ondansetron about 1/2 hour before you want him to eat.

Pain relief is important. Which one works depends on the cat. Gabapentin didn't do much for Neko, but bupe worked wonders.

If you are following TR, I would go back to 2.25 units. Today's green was from the 2.25 unit depot, and still room to drop safely.
He weighs 17lbs, so far I haven't been able to get the vet to give me the bupe. After tonight's cycle so far I agree that I need to go back to the 2.25. Thank you for the article I will read it here in few.
 
Oh so sorry about Panzer!
Can't lend advice for his many of his issues, except for when Ares just began refusing his pate (which was a slurry, tried without water, tried without any additives, still mostly refused) I began feeding him the FF flaked ckn&tuna...he went to town on it. Then i ventured out into the chunky chicken and now the chunky turkey . all three he will eat. It has been quite a while now and he will only eat regular pate if he is SUPER hungry. so now i buy him those three.

He eats quite well on them, I am not having any issues with him eating them and BONUS, Ihave stopped dosing his fiber and he is taking super duper healthy poo once nightly...im talking...very healthy. I dont know if it's something in the ffFlaked Ckn&tuna...but its definitely working for ares.
Wish i could help more!
He really likes the chicken & tuna flaked, I also have the trout feast flaked & the chunky chicken feast but we haven't tried them yet. I wonder if it helps with constipation because Panzer also has issues with that.
 
That's almost 8 kg, so dose is 4-8 mg. So the 4mg pill is a good start, maybe try 3 times a day to start. I've heard Costco is good pricing for ondansetron, but have no personal knowledge of that. It's outrageously expensive in Canada.
Okay hopefully I will be able to get them tomorrow. I checked into Costco & you have to be a member to get prescriptions, but I found it at Meijer for under $2 compared to CVS $50 some dollars. Meijer was trying to transfer them over tonight from CVS but I haven't heard from them, they closed at 8pm. So I'm sure I will get them tomorrow.
 
See if you can find a pharmacy that price matches. I found a really good price on chewy.com and my pharmacy price matched it for me.
 
He wasn't in he's only there 2 days a week, Chelsea the other vet called it in after I talked to the vet tech & told her what was going on. Like I told Melissa maybe I can eventually persuade her into some bupe.
Christina I'm sorry about your mom, I know what its like my mom passed in 2009 and boy do I still miss her. Had to take her off life support. Anything you need in the future for the kitties call when Chelsea is there ,hopefully you can persuade her for the bupe too :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Christina I'm sorry about your mom, I know what its like my mom passed in 2009 and boy do I still miss her. Had to take her off life support. Anything you need in the future for the kitties call when Chelsea is there ,hopefully you can persuade her for the bupe too :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Thank you Diana, I don't think it ever gets any easier. I'm sorry for your loss too :bighug: yes I may even switch Panzer to her.
 
:bighug::bighug:
He wasn't in he's only there 2 days a week, Chelsea the other vet called it in after I talked to the vet tech & told her what was going on. Like I told Melissa maybe I can eventually persuade her into some bupe.

Aww poor Taz, the only thing Panzer is afraid of is the vet. Fireworks, thunderstorms, dogs, vacuum cleaners none of it bothers him. He does okay on Cerenia, so we will see how he does on the ondansetron. I have some syringes in my hypo kit & I have a ninja that I bought when I had my Mom in homecare. She had a massive stroke in 2018 & she could only eat pureed foods, she passed in 2021:(
:bighug::bighug:Gosh, Christina. I didn’t know you lost your mother just last year. I’m very sorry to hear that. I know what that’s like, having lost both of my parents now.
 
:bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug:Gosh, Christina. I didn’t know you lost your mother just last year. I’m very sorry to hear that. I know what that’s like, having lost both of my parents now.
Thank you yes it's very hard. I lost my Dad in 2010. I took care of my Mom at home with me for almost 4mons, but it got to be to much physically, emotionally, & mentally. My 2 sisters didn't help at all. All I had was my one CNA & my daughter that helped me. She was in 2 different nursing homes before I was able to get her in homecare, the first one abused her, & 2nd one drugged her up & neglected her to point she almost died. I helped take care of her in both nursing homes. Fed her, helped with showers, changed her, put her to bed. The last nursing home that she was in was good to her. Then covid came & there was no visitation for several months. Then they allowed outside visitation 6ft away no contact & masks on. Then visitation was stopped again in October & never resumed. I had her all set up to come back to home care on February 2, 2021, but she passed on January 3rd. We got 20mins with her before she took her last breath:(:(:(
 
Last edited:
Panzer & Spook both refused the chicken flavor FF guess they will get that one tomorrow @+4 AMPS feeding. They always eat whatever I give them for that meal because they get mirtaz on there ears @+2 AMPS.They ate all of there different flavor of food that I served the kings:rolleyes:
 
Ondansetron pills can be cut. I used to buy 8mg and cut them with a pill cutter and put in gel caps.
There just the right size for a pill pocket which Panzer loves so no worries there Lol. I do need to figure out how to put1/4 of tsp of psyllium husk in the gelcaps for him because of course the little stinker can taste it.
 
Panzers been a little finicky all day eating, he's had some fortiflora. I gave him Cerenia @ PMPS as usual. I'm waiting to monitor him on the ondansetron first maybe tomorrow night PMPS. His #s are high again, so frustrating. He's been doing all of the 5ps tounge out at testing only ( weird taking longer to eat) I think he's definitely got some of the characteristics in this from my previous post https://www.rover.com/blog/why-do-cats-stick-out-their-tongues/. Number 4 he has 2 teeth top canines & number 5 nausea which the Cerenia doesn't seem to last very long for him anymore. He takes 12mg every 24hrs,l think he needs a higher dose because he weighs 17lbs. & possibly number 6.
 
Well look at this cycle. I swear he always seems flat to me, or maybe he's bouncing? I wonder what he will throw me @ AMPS. Glad tomorrow is an easy day!
 
Back
Top