07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet Meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
I am wondering about the difference in results between a 'human meter' and a 'pet meter'. (I am using a pet meter: g-pet by Woodley). If you earn a dose reduction if going below 50 on a human meter, what is the equivalent on a pet meter? Charlie has brushed the 50 line a few times lately, when does she earn the reduction?
 
Re: 07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet M

Hello! seems I remember that the # is 68? on a pet meter, which would suggest giving some high carb food..couple teaspoons..and yes a reduction would follow if thats correct! Hopefully someone will chime in here and advise. I am not giving advice!
 
Re: 07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet M

I'm reading through some older posts and also see that 50 on a human meter is the equivalent to 68 on a pet meter (can someone confirm!?) Seems like we're in for a dose reduction!? :smile:
 
Re: 07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet M

I am only suggesting, not advising here, but if it were my cat, using a pet meter and she dropped below 68 I would give a little food to bring her up above 80 at least. Hope someone comes in here to confirm soon. Good luck on the reduction!
 
Re: 07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet M

Hi I am using the alpha trak 2 pet meter. 80 on the pet meter was considered the cut off for a dose reduction with the protocol until a few months ago. A new article

now said that 68 is roughly equivalent to the 50 on an human meter. I believe the article is in the stickies. You definitely earn a reduction .
 
Re: 07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet M

yes, 68 is the new cut-off for pet meters, equivalent to 50 on a pet meter. That means that when Charlie goes under 68, you want to give carbs to hold her over 68, and then you want to give a 0.25u dose reduction. Normal blood sugar range with a pet glucometer is roughly 68-160.

I don't think you want to let her run for hours under 68 like she has been doing. there's no margin for error - try to keep her just above 68 if possible, and if she goes under 68, or is getting close to it, you want to test every 30 minutes. When a kitty is doing as well as Charlie is, you actually need to be even more vigilant to keep her safe. Her body is in a new phase - Yay! - and she's earning dose reductions and holding good numbers after the reduction. That means that it's likely her pancreas is sputtering and contributing some insulin, which is why you're being able to give less. But that also means that her insulin needs are changing. Your BG tests will tell you when to reduce and when she needs help staying in safe numbers.

It helps us if you link your last post to the current one - that way it's easy to go back in a conversation and see what was said before. Here's your last post: 7/2 Kiki's Charlie It'll also help you because when you log on, then you can go back to your last post and see if anyone has commented before you start a new condo (post) for the day.

she looks great, kiki! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/08 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 155 +4 59 +5 56 Human vs Pet M

Thanks Julie!
I have to admit that I thought that most people on this forum were using pet meters, so I was keeping an eye out for the critical number 50, not 68! Now that I know that there is such a difference between pet- and human meters, I will definitely look out for 68! I work from home and keep a constant eye on her though, and I have to say she seems perfectly fine with low numbers. But of course I don't want to take any risks... I would never leave her home alone in that state... And yes I will learn to paste the links of previous posts in new ones - thanks for the tip (not quite sure how to do it, but I'll figure it out!)
Kiki :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top