07/07 Max; PMPS 527, HI +4.5, 731 +8. Do a curve or increase dose @ AMPS?

Rebecca & Max (GA)

Member Since 2020
Due to testing issues with Max, I attached a Libre sensor on my own at home. We only got 6 days of reads this time, sadly, and it stopped working right as he reached his lowest read 4 days after a dose increase and then bounced - I think. He's been held at 1U for 7 days now but is 5 (going on 6 cycles) post bounce and he's been very high. Our PS times are backward to most - 12:30 PM is AMPS, 12:30 AM is PMPS...I'm trying my best to get him back to 10 or 11 AM/PM, but testing issues often cause delays and push us back to the off times.

I'd like to know if it would be best to attempt a curve today with his AMPS, or if the few reads I have gotten are enough to tell me it's time to increase Max to 1.25U?

Testing is still rough, but I'm using a thick glove to protect my hand from bites and scratches, and I've able to get blood within the first few sticks in the last few days (as opposed to 7-9 sticks for only a tiny drop). I know I have meters galore! I gave up on my ReliON when it kept giving me error codes. The AlphTrak requires much less blood, so that's my first test each time. If there's enough blood, I then use my new Contour Next One meter, as I'd like to switch to the human meter full time once his ears really learn to bleed. Somedays I can only get one read, so the AT is first.
 
I decided to bump Max up to 1.25U and will retest at +2. I have one AT strip left until my order arrives this afternoon. Will be able to calibrate the Contour meter then as well.
 
I think that increase was definitely needed. Good luck.
His +2 was slightly lower than his AMPS and will test again once my AT strips arrive. I know that ECID, but I look at the units other cats like Max are on (those that bounce or tend to be high), and many are 2x what he’s at. Again, it’s testing that tells me how the insulin is working, so I have to go with that and not what others do! I’m following a very specific sequence of doing things before I test (didn’t know how superstitious I was until now, lol), and so far we’ve had a string of successful ear sticks.
 
Not quite sure what your point is. You asked whether to increase and soI answered you. My boy was tightly controlled. I tested a lot. Some say too much. Not sure what protocol you are following. I’d be concerned at my cat being above renal threshold so much of the time. Have you gotten a fructoamine test done since diagnosis? Bouncing happens until they get used to more normal numbers for many cats. JMHO.
 
Not quite sure what your point is. You asked whether to increase and soI answered you. My boy was tightly controlled. I tested a lot. Some say too much. Not sure what protocol you are following. I’d be concerned at my cat being above renal threshold so much of the time. Have you gotten a fructoamine test done since diagnosis? Bouncing happens until they get used to more normal numbers for many cats. JMHO.
No point, I suppose, I was just updating that I got a test at +2 and thinking out loud...sorry if I offended you in any way. I’m still trying to get Max and myself into a good testing routine because I do not like him being so high, and no, the vet has only done one fructosoamine test total. We follow the SLGS (as stated in my signature) because he’s been to difficult for me to be able to test as needed to follow TR. It’s just been a frustrating sugar dance with him, and I often wonder if I’m doing something to mess it all up. But that’s neither here nor there...
 
For most it’s a marathon rather than a race. It will get easier when you get into a routine and he lets you test. Ordinarily I wouldn’t suggest a fructosamine. But since he’s hard to test it might rule out bouncing and let you increase every 7 days. You dint want him to become insulin resistant due to holding a dose too long. My Max was easy to test which shocked me. The treats really helped. He wasn’t food oriented until he became diabetic. When your boy is in black or red at am/PMPS and while he’s difficult to test maybe get a +3 rather than +2. Just a thought.
 
Back
Top