07/07 Kitty Boo AMPS 361

Status
Not open for further replies.

emmabirch

Member Since 2014
At 8:00 AM this morning his BS was 347 and I fed him 1/4 can of Friskies.

At 11:30 I fed him another 1/4 can and gave him 1 unit of Lantus and precheck of his sugar was 415.

Next check which was amps = 5 which was 3 hours since he ate...it was 432I am trying to see how his body reacts to the insulin ad to check how his BS are doing after he eats. At +5 he was at 432. so it seems that the 1 unit is not allowing his sugar to go down, and with smaller feedings of 1/4 can each time, is slowly raising his sugar. I will keep up the ever 2 to 3 hours, with his next feeding time around 7:30

So what is the feed back on this today. I also dropped him from 1.5 to 1 unit to get some base line numbers.
 
You dropped the dose and changed the feeding; it'll be difficult to tell what did what.
Try to keep changes to 1 thing at a time, so you can see what the result of the 1 change is.

Also, remember that it takes a minimum of 3-5 days to stabilize at a new dose level, and if you follow Start Low, Go Slow, you hold the dose for a week unless he goes too low.

So short version:
Test, feed, and shoot within about 15 minutes.
No food in the +10 to pre-shot period (unless going too low, then you deal with that).
Mini-meals spread out the load on the pancreas, which helps it heal and may help the glucose remain more level rather than having a large meal spike.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top