07/07/14 Jake amps 335, +5.5 nadir 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jakesmama

Member Since 2014
Seems to be hanging around the 300's; thankful he's down to 2 units and not in the 400's anymore. Been at 2 u for 10 days.
 
Here's your last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121368&p=1264708#p1264708

Just to let you know, the nadir is the lowest point of the cycle, regardless of when that occurs. So in yesterday's day cycle, Jake's nadir was at pmps at 194. when a cat is clearing a bounce it kinda messes up any normal cycle. what Jake is doing right now is bouncing from the blue numbers, going up to the 300's, then coming back down and bouncing again.

He's looking pretty good - that 107 night before last on an alphatrak is roughly equivalent to 72 on a human meter - so he's getting into some great numbers in between the bouncing.

You might want to switch to a human meter instead of the ATrak. The strips are a fraction of the cost of the ATrak. I saw your post where you said that you're starting a new job in August, so it might need to wait til then, but it makes a huge difference in the cost of taking care of him if you've got a cheaper set-up going. You can buy strips on American Diabetes Wholesale (go through mrrebates.com first for rebates on the cost) or through ebay, or even Amazon. Just about any choice is cheaper than buying alphaTrak strips through your vet.

i bought insulin on craigslist. the woman's dad had passed away and she had 5 or so boxes of pens left - i bought 4 boxes for around $250ish and another FDMB person bought the last box. If you go that route for more insulin, just check out the story and make sure you feel comfortable that the insulin was kept refrigerated and the dose wasn't see-sawed back and forth. speaking of which, if you haven't watched the video on how to draw up a dose without contaminating your insulin, you might want to watch it before you start your next pen. Look for the video here.
 
Hi Cory!

It looks like Jake is bouncing off of the blue numbers last night. And, it looks like the bounce may be breaking tonight. I'd encourage you to get some additional tests this evening since numbers are dropping from your test at +5.5.

Just an observation -- there's really no way to know for sure where Jake's nadir is. The best way to figure out where the nadir falls is to either do a curve every so often or to get tests at different times. Many cats do not have a nadir at the mid-point of the cycle. (For example, Gabby typically has an early nadir -- usually around +3 or +4. However, there are cycles when her nadir is not at it's typical time.) Cats can have early or late nadirs. Even if your cat usually has a nadir at a given time in the cycle, the nadir can move around.
 
Jakes PMPS was 336 on a 12hr cycle. Pretty flat day. I'll test again at 9pm (+3) to see if there's a drop. Going to lower by .5 to see if he might have retained some insulin. Depot? Is that the word?

I have no income to buy new meters, strips or insulin until I start my job. So I have to wait.
 
i don't know what you mean by "retained some insulin" but he doesn't need a dose reduction. that will result in higher numbers for him.

just hold the dose and let's wait.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top