07/06 Jake AMPS 273, NADIR +5 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jakesmama

Member Since 2014
Been at 2 units 2x daily for a while. He doesn't seem to be dropping on a consistent basis. Last 2 Saturdays have been irrational as far as testing/ feeding is concerned because I've been out. Comments?
 
Hi Cory, here is the link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121217&p=1262919#p1262919. We like to include the link to our last post so people can review what was suggested last time.

Good job on shooting that 117 last night. It looks like Jake had a great flat night and is probably bouncing now. Since you are using the AlphaTrak, I think I'd hold the dose a bit longer. Here's the relevant bit from the protocol. The numbers in the protocol refer to blood glucose from a human meter, but I'd consider that 107 on the AlphaTrak to be below 100 on a human meter:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
On the morning of the 3rd, your spreadsheet shows you gave 2U, but the post and comments sounds like you skipped the shot. Could you change the units column on the SS to show something like SKIP so we know what happened.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top