? 07/05 - Small Kitty amps 520 - pmps 225 +3 250 now that's better

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Good morning all,

Seems the depot was pretty empty after those 3 cycles where no shot was needed.
Nothing is free, the bill came in this week, GL rising from day to day and I dont
think this is stress of my part influencing Small Kitty. I've treated him like a cat
making abstraction of numbers before test.

I also see a change, he's VERY HUNGRY, from 3 this morning until now he was
asking for food. He didn't stop mewing and jumping on me requesting to be fed.

Could giving him more food help improve recovery time ? (He's still mewing right now).

I'm giving him a can at the morning, taking one table spoon out of it for the
feeder for the +2 snack and another table spoon for the +4.

Small Kitty is at ideal weight now at 10 pounds or something.

Could more food help increase the depot ?

Good day to all of you, busy one coming ahead for me.

Sébastien

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...515-insulin-still-needed.160673/#post-1717062
 
Last edited:
Sebastian

Maybe the other person taking care of your kitties when you were gone gives the shots differently than you do??? Just a thought
 
Good Morning Sebastien ~ SK being hungry again makes me worried about ketones, so please check for them today. The depot got drained from the three skipped shots. This is cycle 6 and you should see some downward movement. He will need you to do a curve as soon as you can to see about a dose increase. With you being away this past weekend, it moves things back a bit. We will get there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sebastian

Maybe the other person taking care of your kitties when you were gone gives the shots differently than you do??? Just a thought

This might be the case, I did a review on how to proceed and it's not the was I was shooting. Using thumbs and index
I put the fur away so I could have a skinny spot. Then, I would put the needle there and empty the syringe. What I've
seen on the Internet explained to grab the skin of the neck or other place near there, pull and once you have a ''hill''
you throw the needle in there. This is what I've been doing since yesterday. Skin not not flush but pulled so it's not
close to the muscles. It's not what I was shown at the vet clinic months ago. Was shown to proceed without pulling
the skin, just to clear the fur to get a skinny spot the needle in. This was shown to me by the same guy that took care
of Small Kitty.

Confused...
 
This is my favorite video for injecting insulin. After I had a series of Fur shots, I revisited techniques. I like this one because they shaved the fur so you can really see the way she pulls the skin up to form a triangle. It helped me a lot.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_3TLtN8XYo

Strange world, that's the exact same video I watched yesterday that made me realized I was
not doing it the best way :)

It's amazing how this cat stray calm. Small Kitty would spin down the table scratching until reaching the basement
at the sound of the clipper :)
 
Good Morning Sebastien ~ SK being hungry again makes me worried about ketones, so please check for them today. The depot got drained from the three skipped shots. This is cycle 6 and you should see some downward movement. He will need you to do a curve as soon as you can to see about a dose increase. With you being away this past weekend, it moves things back a bit. We will get there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

yeah, still ketone running behind... Thing is renal system seems to be doing fine, not that much over flow. Renal system is working
so well that Small Kitty started peeing on the floor. Yesterday the front door carpet was inaugurated (had never been victim of this before)
and last night the ''rubber'' carpet in front of the litter box was next. When performing his show at the front door he was looking straight
at me. Same way a girlfriend would look at you if you had go out with you buddies for a week-end without ''negotiation''. :blackeye:
 
That is a very good video, but I sure hope she was injecting saline. Otherwise she just gave that poor cat about 40 units of insulin. :eek:

Hope SK comes back down for you, Sebastien.
 
That is a very good video, but I sure hope she was injecting saline. Otherwise she just gave that poor cat about 40 units of insulin. :eek:

Hope SK comes back down for you, Sebastien.

Was telling myself the same thing !!! This poor cat was diagnosed just a bit too late..

Regarding SK, what's sad is that HE CAN go down (last week-end he did), seems he's rising GL on purpose to stress me up...
.
.
 
Same way a girlfriend would look at you if you had go out with you buddies for a week-end without ''negotiation''
I think I know that look....... Hope that stops. Can you get Feliawy there? After cleaning up the urine and it dries, spray feliaway at the accident sites. If the peeing inappropriately is due to stress, the feliaway will help.
 
I think I know that look....... Hope that stops. Can you get Feliawy there? After cleaning up the urine and it dries, spray feliaway at the accident sites. If the peeing inappropriately is due to stress, the feliaway will help.

Feliaway, dont know. I would have to see in pet stores.
 
Small Kitty always have the way to make me freak out... He's becoming better and better
in the surprise business.

Finally came down this evening, will worth testing later + Ketone is negative, another
case resolved.

Who knows if he's not going to be green tomorrow ????

Will see.

Thanks to all of you for reassuring me. This kitty is SO NICE !
A must see if you come to Canada, even if you are on the west coast !

Time of a beer now !

. .
 
yeah, still ketone running behind... Thing is renal system seems to be doing fine, not that much over flow. Renal system is working
so well that Small Kitty started peeing on the floor. Yesterday the front door carpet was inaugurated (had never been victim of this before)
and last night the ''rubber'' carpet in front of the litter box was next. When performing his show at the front door he was looking straight
at me. Same way a girlfriend would look at you if you had go out with you buddies for a week-end without ''negotiation''. :blackeye:
Sounds like he might have a UTI.
 
Really hard to know what's going on. There hasn't been a midcycle test for 7 days, so who knows how low this dose is taking him. As Bobbie said, do a curve as soon as you get a chance.

I don't think food has anything to do with the depot. The depot is about the buildup of insulin in the body.

Injection technique does matter. I always pulled up a big hunk of flesh on punkin's scruff and put the needle in low in the tent that was formed. You may have some different results now that you're shooting differently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top