07/05 J.D. PMPS 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
421 PMPS
402 +9.5

This is so discouraging :roll:

From Yesterday's Condo:
Sienne and Gabby said:
Dyana --

Do you think J.D. is still struggling with the pancreatitis?

Also, I couldn't tell from your SS how old your insulin is.

He's been getting Ondansetron and Pepcid since March when he was diagnosed. Is pancreastitis something that goes away?

I started the first pen from a box I bought via The Supply Closet through Craigslist on May 25th, so the pen is 41 days old. It was not shipped with ice, and who knows how it was handled by it's previous owner. I'll try a new pen, tonight.

Thanks for posting, because I feel like I need help :-|

J.D. hasn't eaten but a bite or two this morning, so I gave him some cypro along with his other meds.

I worked yesterday as a trade to get tomorrow off. So, I have a four day weekend coming up. I would like to increase his dose again tonight. I would give him some R right now, if I was going to be home today.


I hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. AMPS 477

Good morning,Dyana!
Wish I can help you! I think that insulin i lil to old and maybe last potency!
Hope with the new pen You gonna see better BG#s tomorrow.
I know it's easy to say 'don't worry to much"- but...it's only that i can offer with the best wishes for JD and You.
Have a nice and worry free day!
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. AMPS 477

Dyana, it is sometimes hard not to get discouraged but we in LL are here to support you and be your cheerleaders.

Come on, J.D., please eat some for your mamabean! I don't know much about pancreatitis, so unfortunately, I can't give advice about it, although my Cleo gets ondansetron and pepcid and it usually helps with her nausea problems. Sometimes, for some reason, it doesn't help and she needs to get a Cerenia shot. That always gets her back on track and gives her a better appetite.

Sending healing vines to J.D. and big hugs to you, Dyana.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. AMPS 477

Sending eating vines to JD :YMHUG:

I think it's a good idea to try a new pen tonight to see if that may be the reason for his higher numbers. Is he bothered by having his tummy examined? When Ella had acute pancreatitis, her belly was very sensitive and she didn't want to be touched or held.

Hoping it's just the pen and that he will come down nicely when used in conjunction with the dosecrease. It's nice that you have a four day weekend to spend with eachother:)

C'mon on down from the red floor JD and please eat a little for your bean.

Hope you have a good day at work Dyana:)
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. AMPS 477

Oh JD! Come on down from there. Hope the new pen helps! My pens last about 35 days tops. I get them from the Sam's club here so there is no shipping involved.

With the pancreatitis, I think it depends on if it was acute or chronic. Tarragon has had it twice and it was acute both times. However, the vet did say that they are more susceptible once they have had it and it can turn into chronic.

I would definitely start a new pen and maybe give him an increase since you will be home to monitor. Hugs to you Dyana! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. AMPS 477

ah JD - what are you dong up there. Come on down , it will make your bean happy. Wishing you good luck Dyana - I know how discouraging it can be sometimes. Nannie is one of those kitties that is difficult to manage, nothing is ever consistent with him. my discouragement and frustrations often run high too. I hope the new pen helps with the numbers. Enjoy your day today, and that long weekend!
 
We started a new pen tonight, and I increased his dose to what looks to me like a s0.75?
 
Dyana, so sorry you are going through this, it can be so frustrating, even when Daphne is low and then goes high, I still need to have answers, and when we don't have them, well, it just drives us crazy I guess. I don't know much about pancreatitis but I hope J.D.'s is the kind that goes aways.

Come up J.D. please, for your mombean. Good luck on the dosecrease!

Sending healing vines for J.D.s pancreas.
 
Daphne#5 said:
Dyana, so sorry you are going through this, it can be so frustrating, even when Daphne is low and then goes high, I still need to have answers, and when we don't have them, well, it just drives us crazy I guess. I don't know much about pancreatitis but I hope J.D.'s is the kind that goes aways.

Come up J.D. please, for your mombean. Good luck on the dosecrease!

Sending healing vines for J.D.s pancreas.

Thanks Barb. I'm hoping he comes down.

And, I'm hoping he has the type of pancreatitis that goes away, at least for long periods of time.

He just had his head buried in a food bowl, and ate all his 1st Dinner, so that's good.
 
Awww Dyana. I don't know anything about pancreatitis in felines. My dog had an acute case. He was extremely sick, and was hospitalized, and he still recovered.
I don't know about the chronic.
I'm glad J.D. ate tonight. I wrote in my condo how frustrating it is, when they won't eat.
Good luck with the new pen. I really hope it does the trick for J.D.
Thank you for visiting Check's condo. :smile:

Hugs to you Dyana. :YMHUG:
 
Well, thank goodness he came down out of that horrible red!

When Tawny was so sick last year they said pancreatitis but she appears to have made a full recovery but I didn't really learn much about it, she was so sick w/so many other things going on that I can't really say what Rx healed what or how long each issue lasted. At one point they said slight pancreatitis, then another they said it was pancreatitis, so I just can't help you much on that one.

I am so glad he ate finally tho! Maybe he thinks it's just too hot to eat, I know my one dog doesn't eat as much this time of year.

Come on down some more J.D. and give your Mama a break!
 
Hey, Dyana & J.D.,

Glad to see he's come down from the reds and hope the new pen does the trick! Sorry I don't know anything about pancreatitis, just stopped by to offer moral support. :RAHCAT C'mon J.D.!! and a BIG HUG!!!! :YMHUG:

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
I think you joined the pancreatitis group on Yahoo (or was it the assist feed)? I'd ask about giving the ondansatron and Pepsid on a daily basis. Some meds can cause a tolerance to build up. Either you need to take a break from the med or switch to something else. It may be worth asking about.
 
(((Dyana)))

I know it is frustrating and we all empathize. I'm sure that doesnt help much but we do care.

I wonder if it is the pen. I've had so many problems with lev pens .....as I get to the last 30 units or so, it just seems to fizzle. I have wondered if it could be the be the heat here and improper handling. So I'm hoping if your pens were not iced, that maybe it is that and JD will come down. And good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Hi Dyana
I am sorry that JD's numbers are so high
I hope he is feeling better
and I know how you feel
just take it one day at a time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top