07/05 Cooper AMPS 311 +2 261 +4 232 PMPS 363 +2 361

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Good morning! I have a few questions, and I will try my best to keep this concise.

Cooper had an accident yesterday which he hasn't done in awhile. I was able to quickly get him to his litterbox, and he peed a lot. Now, I know this is an issue with unregulated diabetes; however, he has not had this problem in quite awhile. He still drinks and pees more often than is normal for sure, but not to this excessive amount for at least a few weeks. I suppose that isn't that long, really, hah.

This morning, another accident and another veritable lake of urine. (Side note and possibly unrelated: I did go ahead and test for ketones--since I had more than enough to work with--, and it was normal.)

Could this simply be because he is still unregulated and is regressing? I was actually leaning more toward UTI, not sure what made me think that. He has had them before, years ago. I planned on making a vet appointment for him today (since yesterday was a holiday) regardless, so I suppose we will see. I just wanted to get anyone else's opinion because I'm worried about my little kitto. He can't seem to catch a break lol.

Also, his pre-shot number this morning was lower than usual. Which is good, but also made me question a bit. Could this be due to me giving a snack last night at +1 to try to mitigate the quick drop that he often gets at +2? Maybe that is why it did not bounce back up so high this morning?

Sorry for the myriad questions! Again, I am going to make a vet appointment and I hope to be able to get him in ASAP. Thank you in advance to anyone able to comment!
 
Good morning Gabrielle.
I regards to the peeing out of the box. I would definitely get him checked out for a UTI. FD cats are more prone to UTIs than other cats because of the excess glucose in the urine.
And it is excellent there were no ketones in the urine.
I don’t think he is regressing. Unregulated cats drink a lot and pee a lot.

The lower preshots last night and this morning could be the result of the increase in dose a couple of days ago.
And the snack at +1 could have helped as well. Keep doing what you are doing.

How is his appetite?
Have you thought about swapping to TR?
You are testing enough to do it and it looks as if you are only feeding wet food.
The benefit of doing TR is you can increase the dose after 3 days if needed. This can help not getting stuck on a dose that is not working for too long. And you have a better chance of getting Cooper regulated more quickly.
If you look at the top of the LLB page at the yellow stickies you will see the two dosing methods. Have a look at TR and see if it would suit you.
 
Good morning Gabrielle.
I regards to the peeing out of the box. I would definitely get him checked out for a UTI. FD cats are more prone to UTIs than other cats because of the excess glucose in the urine.
And it is excellent there were no ketones in the urine.
I don’t think he is regressing. Unregulated cats drink a lot and pee a lot.

The lower preshots last night and this morning could be the result of the increase in dose a couple of days ago.
And the snack at +1 could have helped as well. Keep doing what you are doing.

How is his appetite?
Have you thought about swapping to TR?
You are testing enough to do it and it looks as if you are only feeding wet food.
The benefit of doing TR is you can increase the dose after 3 days if needed. This can help not getting stuck on a dose that is not working for too long. And you have a better chance of getting Cooper regulated more quickly.
If you look at the top of the LLB page at the yellow stickies you will see the two dosing methods. Have a look at TR and see if it would suit you.

Oh, duh, I guess it could be due to me increasing his dose LOL. Yeah...I don't know why that didn't cross my mind. I am an overthinker, as you can see! :banghead: Or maybe an "under thinker" in this case, hah!

Yes, I am definitely thinking UTI so hopefully he'll feel better with some antibiotics.

His appetite is raging, as always. That has not changed. He acts like he is always starving, climbing up my legs as I prepare his food every time! I feed him 3 cans of Fancy Feast per day, but he is still very underweight.

I did read of the TR method when I first joined this new forum, but I was a bit intimidated to tell you the truth. As evidenced above, I tend to overthink and get anxious over small things lol. I just worry I would mess it up somehow. :confused:
 
We can help you settle into the TR dosing method. It’s always one day at a time and we are always here.
Try not to overthink things. Feline diabetes is a marathon not a race and it can’t be rushed otherwise it will go pear shaped.
Cooper is in charge of this dance, and you are just the one going along for the ride!
I was scared of TR in the beginning as well but it is a really good dosing method to get a cat into better numbers more quickly and safely.

He will be hungry until his BGs are more normal. Then he will start to put on weight.
How much does he weigh? when you go to the vet tomorrow ask him what Coopers ideal weight is. Then we can work out how much food he needs. Be thankful he has a good appetite. My Sheba always loved her food unless she was sick.
 
Yes, I definitely don't want to rush things! And to be fair, I was scared of home testing and all of this to begin with, so maybe I could get used to the TR method easier than I think. If it could be better for Cooper, I'm willing to at least try it! As long as you all are prepared for me popping up here a lot with questions--even more than I already am :p

I figured he would start to gain weight once I get him regulated. It does suck to see him so skinny, but at least he is still active and otherwise seems happy! I am honestly not 100% sure how much he weighs because I forgot how much the vet told me this past visit a few weeks ago. I think he used to be about 12ish pounds when he was healthy, if I remember correctly. He was never overweight and he's a smaller cat in general. I am going to a new vet since I didn't have a great experience with the last one. I will have them weigh him and ask about ideal weight.

Aw little Sheba, that's a cute name! Both of my kitties seem to eat regardless of how they are feeling, they are foodies for sure.
 
Back
Top