Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question
Jill & Alex said:
--- we need to get zener's numbers down. they're simply too high. an increase is warranted.
Okay, I was getting worried about the numbers. Fortunately by peeing on the piddle pad I was able to test for ketones and it was negative!
Jill & Alex said:
--- we usually give petsitters a dose which can be accurately measured on a line, but given your sitter is a vet tech... i think the likelihood of an inaccurate dose is lessened. i would make up a sample syringe with colored water or juice... something colored so the sitter could compare her dose to the sample syringe.
I can do that. She is a vet tech and is the one who trained me on giving injections.
Jill & Alex said:
--- jess's (who is an ER vet tech) gave us guidelines for keeping nadirs in the 90 - 150 range, but it's clear we need to get more insulin in him to bring the numbers down.
So, should I be thinking about an increase tonight to 1.75?
Jill & Alex said:
--- i'm worried about keeping him at the same dose (ketones). six days is a long time to remain in high numbers.
I agree, it concerns me about leaving with him so high!
Jill & Alex said:
--- we can't count on him to eat well while you're gone. i'm wondering if you should give vet tech sitter instrux to give cypro routinely while you're gone so we know he's eating. i don't know if there are any drawbacks for using cypro on a regular basis. you should ask your vet for advice on this. is there a food that zener LOVES... even if it's dry food? if there's a food he'll eat, i'd have your sitter leave it out for him. eating is important and dry food is better than no food.
Yes, we can ask her to routine use cypro - about 1/4 a pill has been enough to keep him eating. The drawbacks for cypro are increased lethargy, which happens if his values are too high anyway. We have been leaving Zener's dry food out at night, so we can have the sitter leave that out too. He seems to like the BB tuna, but I often have to hand feed a little bit to get him started. If he is taking cypro, he is not nearly as picky and will eat better.
Jill & Alex said:
--- the inappropriate elimination *could be* from zener not feeling well because the numbers are high or it *could be* a UTI (inflammation or infection). has a sterile sample been drawn to check for infection recently?
No, he was last tested for infection, pancreas, kidneys, liver and all that over a month ago. Is the testing for the UTI something I should do before I leave? I can call my vet tomorrow (they are closed today for the holiday) and see if I can get him in there Tues or Wed before we leave.
Jill & Alex said:
--- a real positive for increasing the dose is the sitter is able to get a +6 during the day and will be there at night with zener. she'll be able to get a before bed time spot check to see where he's at.
Yes, she will take those values and can immediately check with the vet if there are any problems.
Jill & Alex said:
i didn't write down the preshot range i gave you to ask for advice before shooting. what was it? i could go find it, but i have house guests and you probably have the info handy. that range should probably be lowered.
180-210, because of his CH. His CH is quite mild.
Jill & Alex said:
i think we share the same concerns. if you elect to increase the dose, i would go ahead with the increase tonight (unless zener drops into low numbers at preshot time).
He has come down a little at his +3, still high in the 360s. Will get a +6 and +9, then his PMPS. Should I am for a 0.25 increase unless numbers are low?
Thanks for your thoughts! I feel the same way and it's much better when the expert dosers give me advice!