07/04/11 Zener PMPS 325; +2 328; +3 343 ATrak New dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Happy 4th to everyone!

Zener's condo 7/3/11

Yesterday's recap - it was a red day :YMSIGH:
07/03/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 321
+3 382
+6 438
PMPS 470
+3 398

This morning still red. Good news - Zener's appetite is much better, fortiflora doing the trick without cypro.

07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403

I will be leaving town mid-day Wednesday and returning mid-day the following Tuesday, so gone 6 days. Our pet/house sitter is a vet tech and will do AMPS, +6, and PMPS BG testing and knows how to handle problems if they arise. What dosing advice do you have for while we are traveling, should we keep Zener on the 1.5u or lower it?
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

When going away, it is best to keep your kitty safe---Zener's numbers are a little high, but let's see where he goes today, and then decide on the dose--Keeping the numbers higher would be safe,(But lower than they are right now) but our dosing helpers--Sienne, Libby & Jill could help you--Send them a PM..It maybe conceiveable that the dose could even be raised a little to make the numbers come down a bit--I would like to see him a little lower like yellow while you are away-- but that would entail dose increase----Hope you have a safe trip ! And please check with one of them--OK?
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

question, is your petsitter staying at your house? You said "housesitter" so that made me wonder. Do you think she'll be able to get him to eat?
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

Sienne and Gabby said:
Anne:

When are you leaving and for how long will you be gone?

I am leaving this Wednesday mid-day after his AMPS, +3 and +6. I will be back mid-day Tues around +6, so 7 days, 6 nights.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

Libby and Lucy said:
question, is your petsitter staying at your house? You said "housesitter" so that made me wonder. Do you think she'll be able to get him to eat?

My petsitter is staying at my house. She is a vet tech and works during the day, at a clinic about 10 minutes away. She will do his AMPS, shot, come back at +6, do his PMPS and stay the night. I am not sure about getting him to eat, it can be a challenge. She has stayed with him before about a month ago, and if he didn't eat she would give him an appetite stimulant. But I am a little concerned about his eating when we are away.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

Zener just had an episode of urinating inside on one of the piddle pads. His urination is definitely increased today. I was able to get a keto-diastick test and he was negative for ketones.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

Here's the latest:

07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

hi anne,

i have a few thoughts. if you weren't leaving town i would have already suggested a dose increase.

--- we need to get zener's numbers down. they're simply too high. an increase is warranted.

--- we usually give petsitters a dose which can be accurately measured on a line, but given your sitter is a vet tech... i think the likelihood of an inaccurate dose is lessened. i would make up a sample syringe with colored water or juice... something colored so the sitter could compare her dose to the sample syringe.

--- jess's (who is an ER vet tech) gave us guidelines for keeping nadirs in the 90 - 150 range, but it's clear we need to get more insulin in him to bring the numbers down.

--- i'm worried about keeping him at the same dose (ketones). six days is a long time to remain in high numbers.

--- we can't count on him to eat well while you're gone. i'm wondering if you should give vet tech sitter instrux to give cypro routinely while you're gone so we know he's eating. i don't know if there are any drawbacks for using cypro on a regular basis. you should ask your vet for advice on this. is there a food that zener LOVES... even if it's dry food? if there's a food he'll eat, i'd have your sitter leave it out for him. eating is important and dry food is better than no food.

--- the inappropriate elimination *could be* from zener not feeling well because the numbers are high or it *could be* a UTI (inflammation or infection). has a sterile sample been drawn to check for infection recently?

--- a real positive for increasing the dose is the sitter is able to get a +6 during the day and will be there at night with zener. she'll be able to get a before bed time spot check to see where he's at.


i didn't write down the preshot range i gave you to ask for advice before shooting. what was it? i could go find it, but i have house guests and you probably have the info handy. that range should probably be lowered.

i think we share the same concerns. if you elect to increase the dose, i would go ahead with the increase tonight (unless zener drops into low numbers at preshot time).

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403 ATrak Petsitter dose question

Jill & Alex said:
--- we need to get zener's numbers down. they're simply too high. an increase is warranted.

Okay, I was getting worried about the numbers. Fortunately by peeing on the piddle pad I was able to test for ketones and it was negative!

Jill & Alex said:
--- we usually give petsitters a dose which can be accurately measured on a line, but given your sitter is a vet tech... i think the likelihood of an inaccurate dose is lessened. i would make up a sample syringe with colored water or juice... something colored so the sitter could compare her dose to the sample syringe.

I can do that. She is a vet tech and is the one who trained me on giving injections.

Jill & Alex said:
--- jess's (who is an ER vet tech) gave us guidelines for keeping nadirs in the 90 - 150 range, but it's clear we need to get more insulin in him to bring the numbers down.

So, should I be thinking about an increase tonight to 1.75?



Jill & Alex said:
--- i'm worried about keeping him at the same dose (ketones). six days is a long time to remain in high numbers.

I agree, it concerns me about leaving with him so high!

Jill & Alex said:
--- we can't count on him to eat well while you're gone. i'm wondering if you should give vet tech sitter instrux to give cypro routinely while you're gone so we know he's eating. i don't know if there are any drawbacks for using cypro on a regular basis. you should ask your vet for advice on this. is there a food that zener LOVES... even if it's dry food? if there's a food he'll eat, i'd have your sitter leave it out for him. eating is important and dry food is better than no food.

Yes, we can ask her to routine use cypro - about 1/4 a pill has been enough to keep him eating. The drawbacks for cypro are increased lethargy, which happens if his values are too high anyway. We have been leaving Zener's dry food out at night, so we can have the sitter leave that out too. He seems to like the BB tuna, but I often have to hand feed a little bit to get him started. If he is taking cypro, he is not nearly as picky and will eat better.

Jill & Alex said:
--- the inappropriate elimination *could be* from zener not feeling well because the numbers are high or it *could be* a UTI (inflammation or infection). has a sterile sample been drawn to check for infection recently?
No, he was last tested for infection, pancreas, kidneys, liver and all that over a month ago. Is the testing for the UTI something I should do before I leave? I can call my vet tomorrow (they are closed today for the holiday) and see if I can get him in there Tues or Wed before we leave.

Jill & Alex said:
--- a real positive for increasing the dose is the sitter is able to get a +6 during the day and will be there at night with zener. she'll be able to get a before bed time spot check to see where he's at.
Yes, she will take those values and can immediately check with the vet if there are any problems.


Jill & Alex said:
i didn't write down the preshot range i gave you to ask for advice before shooting. what was it? i could go find it, but i have house guests and you probably have the info handy. that range should probably be lowered.
180-210, because of his CH. His CH is quite mild.

Jill & Alex said:
i think we share the same concerns. if you elect to increase the dose, i would go ahead with the increase tonight (unless zener drops into low numbers at preshot time).
He has come down a little at his +3, still high in the 360s. Will get a +6 and +9, then his PMPS. Should I am for a 0.25 increase unless numbers are low?

Thanks for your thoughts! I feel the same way and it's much better when the expert dosers give me advice!
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369 ATrak Petsitter dose ques

yes, i would increase to 1.75u tonight. if he likes BB tuna... stock up on it before you go. :-D
tuna, dry food... whatever it takes to get him to eat. we don't want him getting sick while you're gone.

if i were in your shoes, i would have him checked for a UTI before i left. you probably won't get the results before you leave, but your sitter can get them and start zener on an appropriate antibiotic if necessary.

i have to go (they're all waiting for me), but i will check back here before we go downtown for fireworks tonight.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369 ATrak Petsitter dose ques

Anne: good luck on the dosecrease. I hope his numbers come down for you. It's great that you have a PS that is comfy with doing what he needs so you can get away. Paws crossed the dosecrease will work for him soon.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369 ATrak Petsitter dose ques

Jill & Alex said:
yes, i would increase to 1.75u tonight. if he likes BB tuna... stock up on it before you go. :-D
tuna, dry food... whatever it takes to get him to eat. we don't want him getting sick while you're gone.

Okay, that's the plan! We have a couple of cases of the tuna, so we stocked up. And we will leave instructions with the pet sitter to use the cypro. Will also leave out dry food - it is a mixture of Wellness Core and Purina DM.

Jill & Alex said:
if i were in your shoes, i would have him checked for a UTI before i left. you probably won't get the results before you leave, but your sitter can get them and start zener on an appropriate antibiotic if necessary.
I will call our vet first thing in the morning when the office opens and ask to have him checked. They are really good at getting us in when it's urgent. Our pet sitter is a vet tech at this clinic so if we don't have results before we leave, she will get them and can start him on the appropriate meds.

Enjoy the fireworks! We won't be having any here because it is so dry, though our monsoon rain pattern is just starting so we may get mother nature's fireworks! Thanks so much :!: :!:
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369 ATrak Petsitter dose ques

Thanks for the good wishes Marje! We feel very lucky to have such a wonderful pet sitter! I'll keep posting on the board and on Zener's SS until we leave on Wednesday.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369; +6 349 ATrak

Here's the latest report:

07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
+6 349 Hungry - though at mid-point in cycle, I'm just happy he wants to eat!

Planning to increase to 1.75 u in PM. Will check numbers first though and post PMPS.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369; +6 349 ATrak

Anne:

Do you know if your vet tech/petsitter would be willing and/or interested in posting here? If you're willing to give her access to your account or if she'll create one for herself, if she has a question we may be able to help.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369; +6 349 ATrak

Hello Sienne, I can ask her if she would be willing to post here. I can certainly leave my user name and password for her. If not, she will be emailing me daily with his BG values and I can post them from where I will be, but will likely only post once a day. I will most likely see her tomorrow, since I am going to try to get Zener in to the vet to check for a UTI. I will let you know whether she is willing to post or not.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369; +6 349 ATrak

if zener's nadirs remain high through the week, you could always post from where you are to ask opinions about increasing the dose.
good luck with the increase!
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369; +6 349 ATrak

Thanks Jill, that will be the plan. We'll ask our pet sitter to email us the AMPS, +6 and PMPS each day. I can post from where I will be for advice and to keep everyone up on how Zener is doing with his moms away. He does like our pet sitter so he will not hide and will most likely eat okay for her. Our other cat, Tillie the Queen of Everything, will hide the entire time and only come out at night to eat. Thank goodness she is not the one with DM!

Will post PMPS and +3 after increased dose tonight. Hope you enjoy some lovely fireworks tonight!
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener AMPS 403;+3 369; +6 349;+11 299 ATrak

Been a good afternoon. Zener has been feeling pretty good and chasing Tillie a little!

07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
+6 349 Hungry - though at mid-point in cycle, I'm just happy he wants to eat!
+11 299

The big guy was begging for dinner and I am so glad that he wants to eat, I couldn't hold off on food until PMPS. Thought I would post this +11 and then look at what an ounce of his wet food does at the PMPS. Still planning the dose increase to 1.75 tonight unless his numbers really drop for some reason.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener PMPS 325 ATrak New dose

Just checked Zener's PMPS with food on board - BG was 325

Here's the day summary:
07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
+6 349 Hungry - though at mid-point in cycle, I'm just happy he wants to eat!
+11 299 - ate about an ounce of wet food
PMPS 325 - ate about an ounce of wet food - Gave new dose 1.75 u

I'll check him at +2 and +3 if needed. Crossing whiskers and paws this will help get us out of the reds and pinks!

We will have our pet sitter send us his BG values (AMPS, +6, PMPS) after she tests him and then I can post them on the message board while we are away.
 
Re: 07/04/11 Zener PMPS 325; +2 328 ATrak New dose

Here's the day summary:
07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
+6 349 Hungry - though at mid-point in cycle, I'm just happy he wants to eat!
+11 299 - ate about an ounce of wet food
PMPS 325 - ate about an ounce of wet food - Gave new dose 1.75 u
+2 328 - ate about 0.5 oz wet food, had to hand feed to get him going

Will get a +3 and post on here and Zener's SS. Hoping for a quiet night.

cat_pet_icon
 
Here's the last BG for the day:

07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
+6 349 Hungry - though at mid-point in cycle, I'm just happy he wants to eat!
+11 299 - ate about an ounce of wet food
PMPS 325 - ate about an ounce of wet food - Gave new dose 1.75 u
+2 328 - ate about 0.5 oz wet food, had to hand feed to get him going
+3 343 - not interested in eating

Looks like no dramatic drop so off to bed and start all over again tomorrow. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top