07/03 Zorro PMPS HI +3 272 Fast drop after increase

Zorro's mom

Member Since 2019
So I gave Zorro a generous or "fat" 3.5 units this evening, making it a fat 0.25u increase to his dose which I expected to be more than safe giving his high numbers of the past few days.
I was a bit shocked when I tested him at +3 and saw the massive drop. I had just given him 1oz raw prior to the test but then gave him 2 tsp FF Gravy Lovers to see if things can still be slowed down.
 
Zorro is a big dive and big bouncer like Sheba was.
Looking at the SS I see you have managed to stop the drop further after +3, but the damage had probably been done by then, and he will most likely bounce from that big drop. So you may have up to 6 cycles of higher numbers. Stick to the same dose and try giving some food at +2 each cycle to try and slow down the drop as Wendy suggested in a previous post. Start off with ordinary low carb and if that doesn't do it, try some higher carb food.
I used to have to feed early in the cycle with Sheba to get her into lower numbers safely without the big drops. It may take time. It will be a bit of trial and error but you will get there in the end. I found if Sheba dropped more than 75 (4) points in an hour she would bounce. Once you get down to lower numbers and he gets used to the lower numbers it should be better.
 
Thanks Bron, I gave some food at +2 this AM and will do the same this PM.
Was very pleased to see a yellow number at +9 today...goodness knows where he'll be in another 3 hrs' time but we'll take it as it comes.
I got some Weruva foods today but they're extremely pricey here in South Africa...but the whole gang of 4 loved it so it was worth it and will get it for the odd occasion every now and then :)
I'll also follow @Wendy&Neko 's tip about mixing a bit of low/med carb food into his raw food to see how that goes. If nothing else I think he'll appreciate the bit of flavour.
Today I realized that I should finally try to calm down about this all and focus on quality of life for our 12.5 year old boy. Since end Feb this year, when I "took charge" of his FD, I've been sleeping and eating terribly myself, jumping from method to method based on his numbers and my emotions and I'm starting to see it taking a toll on me and no doubt Zorro feels it too.
So anyway I also got him some Orijen dry boar treats to give (just one or two) prior to, and after, testing so that everything becomes more pleasant for him too.
Thanks for your support and help.
 
There is a thing we call New Dose Wonkiness, that some cats will do after an increase. It’s temporary higher numbers in the first few cycles. Looks like you are seeing that, and you can get a good sleep tonight. Looking after yourself, so you can look after Zorro is very important. You have to find time for the things you love, and use the opportunities, like bounces or NDW, to relax the testing and spend some you time. :bighug:
 
Back
Top