? 07-03 Panzer AMPS 238/177@+2.5/121@+7/100@+9.5/PMPS 95/137@+3/122@+4/147@+5/ Increase bouncingUTI?

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-102-9-lethargic-pmps-114-182-2-188-3.278758/

Okay what is going on with Panzer? Is he bouncing or should I increase to 3.5 units? Everytime I think okay I'm going to increase & then he's back in the greens?

I'm still not sure if he has a UTI again. Sometimes he meows before peeing, but he's not going back & forth between boxes. I have a little bit of $ now but the vet is closed until Wednesday morning. I have 2 houses to clean on Wednesday a deep clean on Thursday & 2 houses to clean on Friday. My bestie Laura is helping me on Wednesday & Thursday the 2 on Friday are small so I'm doing those by myself. The only thing the vet is going to do is ask for a clean catch & give antibiotics. I'm seriously thinking about getting the PUREVAX rabies vaccine for Panzer so I can take to the more high tech vet, but I don't have the $ right now for all of that.

My questions are: should I increase his dose & what antibiotic should I get if he has a UTI? The doxycycline that he's been on twice from clean catches is obviously not doing anything for him if he does still have high white blood cells & higher PH.(UTI) @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Larry and Kitties @Shelley & Jess
 
My personal opinion is that yes, you can increase if you want to because the greens that you have been seeing are 80s and 90s so if you want to see closer to 50 and if you can monitor when you begin the increase then go ahead. But be ready for lower greens. It sounds like you might be too busy to monitor a lot this week?
 
Now as to the possible UTI, I think you already know what I am going to say: get them to send it out for a culture and sensitivity test to see what the most appropriate antibiotic would be. But definitely first make sure they look under the microscope and actually see bacteria. Then if they do, will they send it out for a culture or is this something you cannot pay for at this time?
 
I can’t find Panzer’s old culture where they did the sensitivity testing. I know you sent it to me but that was a long time ago. I remember Doxy was the best choice, but I can’t remember which drugs were listed as not being useful or if there were other possibilities. Doxycycline is in the Tetracycline class of antibiotics. I would ask the vet what would be recommended as an alternative since the doxycycline doesn’t seem to be effective anymore.
 
Now as to the possible UTI, I think you already know what I am going to say: get them to send it out for a culture and sensitivity test to see what the most appropriate antibiotic would be. But definitely first make sure they look under the microscope and actually see bacteria. Then if they do, will they send it out for a culture or is this something you cannot pay for at this time?
They won't send it out for a culture because they don't send clean catches to be cultured & they don't do Cystocentesis because the vet said they do more damage than good. That's another reason I want to go back to the other vet. Panzer needs special needs care & although they don't require vaccines at my current vet they really can't properly care for him.
 
My personal opinion is that yes, you can increase if you want to because the greens that you have been seeing are 80s and 90s so if you want to see closer to 50 and if you can monitor when you begin the increase then go ahead. But be ready for lower greens. It sounds like you might be too busy to monitor a lot this week?
Yes it will be a busy week after July 4th, I will be able to monitor him in the evenings but not during the day. If I were to increase tonight though I can monitor his PMPS cycle & both cycles tomorrow. But I may not see any changes that soon in his numbers. Should I wait until Friday night to increase? I can monitor Saturday & Sunday both cycles as well as Friday PMPS cycle.
 
They won't send it out for a culture because they don't send clean catches to be cultured & they don't do Cystocentesis because the vet said they do more damage than good. That's another reason I want to go back to the other vet. Panzer needs special needs care & although they don't require vaccines at my current vet they really can't properly care for him.
It does sound like you need to go to the other vet. Hopefully, you can get the PUREVAX for him soon. I’m so sorry that this is happening. Poor Panzer. Well definitely ask the vet what they would recommend. If you can find the old culture info - let’s take a look at it and see if we can figure out an alternative (in case the vet isn’t helpful.)
 
Yes it will be a busy week after July 4th, I will be able to monitor him in the evenings but not during the day. If I were to increase tonight though I can monitor his PMPS cycle & both cycles tomorrow. But I may not see any changes that soon in his numbers. Should I wait until Friday night to increase? I can monitor Saturday & Sunday both cycles as well as Friday PMPS cycle.
You may feel more comfortable waiting then — your call. He isn’t having bad numbers now, but I do think you could get them a little better with careful management. Now here’s the thing though— Panzer is aware of what we are discussing about his dose. He may try to show you some fancy footwork now! “Oh yeah, Mom! Watch me work!”
 
You may feel more comfortable waiting then — your call. He isn’t having bad numbers now, but I do think you could get them a little better with careful management. Now here’s the thing though— Panzer is aware of what we are discussing about his dose. He may try to show you some fancy footwork now! “Oh yeah, Mom! Watch me work!”
You may feel more comfortable waiting then — your call. He isn’t having bad numbers now, but I do think you could get them a little better with careful management. Now here’s the thing though— Panzer is aware of what we are discussing about his dose. He may try to show you some fancy footwork now! “Oh yeah, Mom! Watch me work!”
Yes he is having an active cycle today:p I tested him @+9.5 & he was @100 :p you just never know with him:smuggrin: he may be under 100 @ PMPS knowing him. He nadirs at all different times. I will wait until Friday to increase unless he's in the 50s for this cycle :D
 
You may feel more comfortable waiting then — your call. He isn’t having bad numbers now, but I do think you could get them a little better with careful management. Now here’s the thing though— Panzer is aware of what we are discussing about his dose. He may try to show you some fancy footwork now! “Oh yeah, Mom! Watch me work!”
I was right he's @95 @PMPS :D so technically with the data I got today PMPS is his nadir. This boy is like a roller coaster :D
 
So I got woke up unusually earlier than normal this morning 330am instead of between 4am-5am 6am is shot & feed time. I just get up & give them a piece of chicky & close my door & go back to sleep. When I got up at 550am to test feed & shoot, there was puke on the cat room floor it was watery with chicky in it. Not sure who did it, but I will look on the camera once I'm up for the day & find out. Spook has been acting off for a couple of days having to be coaxed to eat a couple of times. I did give them fancy feast turkey & giblets @+6 PMPS feeding last night & they haven't had it for months so maybe it was due to that idk, they both ate it. They both ate all of there AMPS meal & there baby food with probiotic. Spook gets S Boulardii probiotic & Panzer gets Proviable DC every morning & they both ate that. I decided to split a Cerenia pill between the 2 of them at AMPS feeding as well just incase the puker needs miritaz before their +7 AMPS feeding. They get a snack @+3 AMPS, so I will determine than whether or not to put miritaz on the pukers ear an hour before the +7 feeding. Hopefully it was just a one time thing & I won't have to medicate them again.
 
Hopefully it was just the FF turkey and giblets.
I hope so too. I watched the camera back from 330 until 550am & it just showed both of them using the litter boxes. So it must have happened between 1230am & 330am. Neither one of them have puked & both are eating. I couldn't find Panzer earlier & he ended up being under the couch, which he purposely goes under there in the am before I go to work because he knows if I can't find him before I leave I will break out the chicky :rolleyes: he's a smart little brat. He is acting a little off today though kinda like he doesn't feel good.
 
When I was looking on the camera yesterday to try & see who puked. I noticed Spook went back & forth between the litter boxes. I've since caught him doing the pain meow before peeing. I made it to the vet in time when I was done working & got 2 sterile bottles so I can get a clean catch from both Panzer & Spook, my poor boys. I have a deep clean tomorrow & they close at 1pm so I will be trying to get some urine for both of them hopefully Friday morning. I have 2 small houses that I'm cleaning by myself on Friday but I'm hoping to catch the urine in the am & take it up there in between cleaning houses. If not they are open until 6pm & I will be done way before that.
 
Panzer woke me up @+9.5 last night (230am after I went to bed @ 1am) so I tested him 187 gave him chicky laid back down wakes me up again @+10.5. Didn't give chicky & won't be anymore because he's waking me up knowing he's getting chicky. I used the bathroom shut my bedroom door & laid down until AMPS @ 6am! He's such a brat!!!
 
Last edited:
I increased Panzer's dose tonight. I only have one house to clean tomorrow now & it's a very small one that only takes 2hrs to clean. He's in the 200s & has been everytime I tested him today. Hopefully he won't get up in the 300s. I know it takes a bit for the depot so he will be fine. I will be testing tonight & tomorrow @+3 AMPS before I leave & should be back by +5 AMPS.
 
My personal opinion is that yes, you can increase if you want to because the greens that you have been seeing are 80s and 90s so if you want to see closer to 50 and if you can monitor when you begin the increase then go ahead. But be ready for lower greens. It sounds like you might be too busy to monitor a lot this week?
You were right I increased him yesterday at PMPS because I ended up only having to clean one small house today! He's on cycle 3 of 3.5 units & he's @ 62 @+3 PMPS @Suzanne & Darcy let's go greens...next test in 15mins @+4 :D
 
I got a clean catch from Panzer & he does have signs of an infection. I'm not going to go into the specifics right now because both my phone & my tablet need to be charged & I only got 3hrs of sleep last night so I am taking a nap. I will start a new post tomorrow & let you all know the results of his clean catch & what antibiotic we decided on. Hopefully @Suzanne & Darcy will be on tomorrow so I can get her input.
 
I got a clean catch from Panzer & he does have signs of an infection. I'm not going to go into the specifics right now because both my phone & my tablet need to be charged & I only got 3hrs of sleep last night so I am taking a nap. I will start a new post tomorrow & let you all know the results of his clean catch & what antibiotic we decided on. Hopefully @Suzanne & Darcy will be on tomorrow so I can get her input.
I'm here and I'll try to pop in tomorrow as well.
 
I see you had a great cycle of greens and then he's kinda back mostly in blue. I wouldn't make any more changes while he has a UTI. I would continue to monitor (as you always do!) and hope the antibiotics clear things up and also lower his numbers.
 
Back
Top