07/03/11 Zener PMPS 470; +3 398 ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's 07/02/11 Condo

Zener's yesterday recap
07/02/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 380
+4 329
+6 325
PMPS 330
+3 298

We had a nice long sleep last night and we all needed it. Zener woke me up at 3:15 for food, I thought, then realized he just wanted lovey time in the bed. Then again at 4:30 he woke his other mother up for food, even though there was some wet food still there - "oh, I didn't realize that was there, could you stir it for me a little?" I am just grateful that he is eating better! So a drama free evening was had by all.

AM shot moved forward 15 to get shifted to vet tech pet/house sitter work schedule starting Wednesday PM while we are away for 6 days. Right now we are shooting at 8 and will move it to 7:30, so we have 3 more days to get to that schedule. He ate just fine this morning after we took his AMPS and before and after his shot.

07/03/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 321

Will post throughout the day, and update Zener's SS. Hope you are all enjoying a nice holiday weekend! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

Good grief, it's one of those days. I think I've been posting on yesterday's topic instead of today's!

07/03/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 321
+3 382
+6 438

Zener has been steadily moving up with his BG values today. He has not been up in the 400s for over a week. Can anyone explain to me why this can happen? He ate well this morning at shot time, +1, +2 and +3.

We are moving his shot forward to accommodate our pet/house sitter's work schedule, so moved his shot forward by 15 minutes last night and 15 minutes this morning. Could this have anything to do with his BG values increasing today? It makes me nervous to think about leaving when he seems to be varying so much still.

nailbite_smile

Thanks!
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

I can't really give dosing advice, but this could still be bouncing from that blue 2 days ago. It can take up to 72 hours to clear.

Mainly giving you a bump up. Hang in there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

Thanks for the bump up! I don't think I quite understand about bounces yet, more reading required. confused_cat

Hanging in there.
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

If BG drops lower than a cat is used to, the liver will compensate and produce gluse/ hormones to raise the BG. It is part of an automatic protective response.
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

hi anne! just checking in with you and zener today. leave your "help going up?" in the subject line so more experienced eyes can comment on dosing. with you leaving on vacation on wednesday i'm not sure what the best thing to do is about changing doses.

as far as why his numbers are changing - they do that. isn't that a crummy answer, but it's the truth. you give the same food, the same dose of insulin, you keep the times the same, and voila! you get different numbers. it's a mystery to me. i think of it like my 13 year old daughters laughing one minute and slamming doors the next. insulin is a hormone.

i hope you're getting away to do something fun in those 6 days! :-D
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

Ann & Tess said:
If BG drops lower than a cat is used to, the liver will compensate and produce gluse/ hormones to raise the BG. It is part of an automatic protective response.

Ah, that's right. Zener has had one of these before. I didn't think about the drop to blue possibly causing another one! Thanks!
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321; +3 382+6 438 ATrak Help Going U

julie1220 said:
hi anne! just checking in with you and zener today. leave your "help going up?" in the subject line so more experienced eyes can comment on dosing. with you leaving on vacation on wednesday i'm not sure what the best thing to do is about changing doses.

Thanks for checking in. I will keep this header up. I was mostly concerned about his BG going up today. Jill had already advised me that going up in dose before traveling and with a housesitter is not a good idea, and may recommend actually going down a little. We'll see how he is doing tomorrow and Tuesday. Our house sitter is a vet tech so will do BG testing while we are gone.

julie1220 said:
as far as why his numbers are changing - they do that. isn't that a crummy answer, but it's the truth. you give the same food, the same dose of insulin, you keep the times the same, and voila! you get different numbers. it's a mystery to me. i think of it like my 13 year old daughters laughing one minute and slamming doors the next. insulin is a hormone.
Thanks for that. I needed a laugh! And I feel much better knowing that these things just happen no matter what we do.

julie1220 said:
i hope you're getting away to do something fun in those 6 days! :-D

Going back to Missouri and Arkansas to visit elderly family, in not the greatest of health. Will try to do at least a few fun things on the trip! Thanks so much :!:
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

It's certainly possible that this is a bounce. It's also possible that this is what we refer to as "new dose wonkiness (NDW)." Sometimes, when you raise a dose, within a cycle or two, rather than numbers going down, they temporarily go up.
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

just stopping in with our hopes that Zener comes down for you...

celi & binks
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

Sienne and Gabby said:
It's certainly possible that this is a bounce. It's also possible that this is what we refer to as "new dose wonkiness (NDW)." Sometimes, when you raise a dose, within a cycle or two, rather than numbers going down, they temporarily go up.

Thanks for this Sienne! I bookmarked this topic so when this happens again I can go read about it and not panic! I also read that moving the shot forward is in effect like raising the dose, so do you suppose that may be having an effect too?
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

mybuddybinks said:
just stopping in with our hopes that Zener comes down for you...

celi & binks

Thanks! He is acting like he feels okay, so I'm hoping this is a temporary blip.
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

I was all set to get a +10 and see if things were on the way down, but I forgot to take his food up when I left and he had eaten about an ounce of wet food. I'll go for a +11 and see if things are on the way down before his PMPS.

It has been hard for me to restrict food in the last part of his cycle if he is hungry, since appetite has been such a challenge. Currently, his weight is 13 lbs 6 oz and he's been holding that for a few days. The last two weeks he fluctuates between this and 13 lbs 9 oz. He got down as low as 13 lbs 1 oz before we went to wet food, and weight just a little under 15 lbs before his diagnosis.

Thanks to all for the information and the support!
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

I'm going to preface my answer by saying that every cat is different but moving a shot by 15 min. should not have an effect on numbers. If you've moved Zener's shot earlier, if Zenner is sensitive to time changes, an early shot is like a dose increase so his numbers would then be lower. So, I really don't think this is the case.
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener AMPS 321;+3 382;+6 438;ATrak HelpWhyBG Hi

Thanks Sienne, I still pretty new to all this and still trying to figure how why each and every little thing happens and what I did wrong or right, which is probably not possible. Will be checking BG again in about an hour. I'll post results on SS and here. Thanks again!
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener PMPS 470 ATrak Why BG Higher

07/03/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 321
+3 382
+6 438
PMPS 470

I suppose I shouldn't be freaking to see his PMPS up from his +6 as that would be expected. Still, the higher numbers did make me a bit anxious, though reading about about NDW resulting in a temporary increase is very helpful! Will get a +3 tonight before bed and hope for decreasing numbers.
nailbite_smile
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener PMPS 470 ATrak Why BG Higher

julie1220 said:
"hey zener! u-turn little buddy!" :lol:

Thanks Julie, I will pass your message along to Zener. He is feeling quite smug since he just caught a grasshopper!
 
Re: 07/03/11 Zener PMPS 470 ATrak BG Higher

Just did Zener's +3 and numbers on the way down, thank goodness.

07/03/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 321
+3 382
+6 438
PMPS 470
+3 398

He has been eating much better today, having eaten about two 3 oz cans of wet food today.

Now, I can get some sleep! I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top