07/02 Baby G AMPS 346 +PMPS 314

babyg

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-30-baby-g-pmps-323-6-318.265261/

No difference yet, that I can see. I tested the hair clippers on myself and don't think they're going to cut well at all, so worried now if I'm going to be able to do this sensor thing myself today or not. I don't like increasing her dose without it. Going to try on her after her shot.
Honestly not sure I'm cut out for the quarter increases. Back in "the day," it was half units and that makes more sense to me unless a cat is pretty low to begin with. Even if I don't follow the method 100% I hope I can still share our diabetic journey on here and fellowship and talk about cat-related things.
 
RJ FD is a very challenging task to handle for all of us, most difficult is at the beginning when there is soo much information, such a steep learning curve and sooo many decisions to take, you are doing the best you can for your little fur baby :bighug::bighug:

if i can be of any help, it would be to assure you that the protocols and advice of this forum worked for our Chico, we understood what does the insulin do to him, what do his numbers mean, how to “read” them and when to change the dose. This got Chico regulated and into remission. I have seen a lot of other fur parents starting to understand the entire process thanks to the information and advice on this forum and tens of cats get regulated and into remission thanks to the same amazing people from here.

If you want to chose one opinion to follow, i can advice you with all my opened heart to take it from here. There are plenty of people on the forum that just don’t ask for advice on FD from their vets but keep on working with them on all the other issues. We were “lucky” in the sense that out vet at that time had zero understanding of FD and was very happy we found another source we could trust.
 
Wanted to add one more thing: the reason for the 0.25 increase is that for their doses this is a lot, it gives them more time to get used to better numbers hence less bouncing and you don’t risk skipping a good dose.
Just trust the process and it will show good results.

i see you follow SLGS, based on this dosing method you need to increase the day after tomorrow if you dont see better nadirs, don’t hold it for longer, really no added value except slowing down progress.
 
Honestly not sure I'm cut out for the quarter increases. Back in "the day," it was half units and that makes more sense to me unless a cat is pretty low to begin with. Even if I don't follow the method 100% I hope I can still share our diabetic
The 0.25 increases or decreases are not that hard to do , as long as you have the syringes with half unit markings
 
What's frustrating is that I feel like with all these increases this past month, ultimately her numbers are the same if not worse than they were on her long-held dose of 2 units twice a day that she was on for years. Her numbers today have majorly sucked.
Other than that, she's eating good and maintaining weight, so trying not to look solely at numbers as the sole measurement of her success.
 
Edited to add: just checked her ear and she's 314. Maybe the sensor is still reading a bit high.
Edited since shot now done. Going to try to get my mind now on things other than diabetes and take a breather. Will definitely check her throughout the night though.
Overall her numbers were the same if not better before I ever touched her doses to begin with. :confused: so yeah, I've now got a migraine and acid reflux from all this stress lol.
 
Last edited:
RJ just a reminder: FD is a marathon not sprint, as long as you increase the doses with the correct frequency you should get a good dose sooner, don’t read too much into every value.

in your spreadsheet you don’t have any values for over a week before the increase and then it looks like you raised to 3.25 for one cycle and then to 3.5. Is this just a mistake or what was the reason for this? You should chose one protocol and stick with it, Lantus likes consistency and needs time to show what a dose will do.
If you really don’t have any tests within last week, if i can ask you how did you decide to raise the dose?
 
RJ just a reminder: FD is a marathon not sprint, as long as you increase the doses with the correct frequency you should get a good dose sooner, don’t read too much into every value.

in your spreadsheet you don’t have any values for over a week before the increase and then it looks like you raised to 3.25 for one cycle and then to 3.5. Is this just a mistake or what was the reason for this? You should chose one protocol and stick with it, Lantus likes consistency and needs time to show what a dose will do.
If you really don’t have any tests within last week, if i can ask you how did you decide to raise the dose?
My spreadsheet has 2 tabs. Maybe you were looking at the sensor tab? The sensor failed so we didn't have one for a while.
The vet said to raise to 3.5. Two vets told me not to bother with quarter raises. Not saying they are correct, just what I was told.
I will update her spreadsheet again tonight but so far her numbers look even higher. She has been eating more dry, though. Not 100% sure what to make of it.
 
My spreadsheet has 2 tabs. Maybe you were looking at the sensor tab? The sensor failed so we didn't have one for a while.
The vet said to raise to 3.5. Two vets told me not to bother with quarter raises. Not saying they are correct, just what I was told.
I will update her spreadsheet again tonight but so far her numbers look even higher. She has been eating more dry, though. Not 100% sure what to make of it.
I don't agree with your vets about not increasing by 0.25 units
Are you using the Relion now and not the sensor?
I can tag Elise and Wendy for you , I have seen they has given you advice in the past
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Actually her numbers may have been better than I thought. Seems like the sensor is reading her higher. I'll check with the ear poke at +4 to see what I get.
I'm sure they'll also say the .25 and I think they have said that already, so it's ok.
I'm using both the relion and the sensor. I placed the sensor on for the 1st time myself yesterday. :)
 
Last edited:
How did that go? I'm going to do that for the first time soon. I've watched the vet doing it but am always nervous with new things.
I was very nervous too. It actually went a lot better than I thought, though a lot of it probably depends on how good of a patient your cat is lol. Mine actually enjoyed being shaved; she was just laying there relaxing, even purring. After I shaved her, I cleaned the area with the alcohol pad that comes with the sensor. Then I wiped the area with a Skin Tac wipe. The hard part was when I went to put the sensor on her. The moment she felt it on her skin as I was lining it up, she started getting ancy (I think she then realized what it was from when the vets did it). The pressure and sound of it snapping on made her want to run. I would suggest probably having someone there who can help hold your cat in place because I could have used the help with that part; it startles them. I didn't cover the sensor with anything afterwards. So far it's still on. I'll keep you all updated on how long it lasts.
Also, there's a Facebook group someone here referred me to that has videos and tips on how to apply the sensor. They're called Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats. Very helpful.
 
My spreadsheet has 2 tabs. Maybe you were looking at the sensor tab? The sensor failed so we didn't have one for a while.
The vet said to raise to 3.5. Two vets told me not to bother with quarter raises. Not saying they are correct, just what I was told.
I will update her spreadsheet again tonight but so far her numbers look even higher. She has been eating more dry, though. Not 100% sure what to make of it.
We have had several people here recently whose vets told them that you cannot even measure.25 units. That’s not correct of course.
 
Edited to add: just checked her ear and she's 314. Maybe the sensor is still reading a bit high.
Edited since shot now done. Going to try to get my mind now on things other than diabetes and take a breather. Will definitely check her throughout the night though.
Overall her numbers were the same if not better before I ever touched her doses to begin with. :confused: so yeah, I've now got a migraine and acid reflux from all this stress lol.
I have read that a newly placed Libre sensor will not give accurate readings for the first 24 hours or so.
 
I have read that a newly placed Libre sensor will not give accurate readings for the first 24 hours or so.
That could explain some of the variances. Sucks that they can be inaccurate the 1st day, considering one's lucky they last the whole 14. :rolleyes:
Just checked her ear and she's 301 vs sensor 342 at +6. This time the numbers are not too different sadly. :( I was hoping her numbers were better but so far nope. Tomorrow morning will make cycle 5 so fingers crossed.
Edited to add: what's probably not helping is the fact that she is now turning up her nose to the wet food and is eating basically all dry again. I'm still offering her both. I wish she would eat the wet and will keep working on transitioning her, but ultimately I know the most important thing is that she's eating period, and if that means she'll need more insulin because she wants the dry, then I'll just have to give her more to accommodate what she is willing to eat.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top