07/01 Jaxon AMPS 10.6 +3 16.5 +6 16.3

Allison K

Member Since 2021
First cycle of day 1, not sure if it is usual for it to be low just before shot and then rise towards mid point (maybe it is too soon for it to start to become a low point near mid cycle??)

See first post for the link to his sheet
 
Hi Allison,

Would you please add the link to his spreadsheet to your signature? Go to the top of this screen and click on "Allison K" then the pull down menu choose Signature. You can add the link there.

Also, because this is a US-oriented group, please add use mg/dL numbers in your thread title rather than mmoL/L (1 mmol/L = 18 mg/dL). This makes it easier for everyone to understand who might be trying to help you.
 
Hi - Great job home testing from the start and welcome the FD world :cat: Just linking to your other post too - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-30-jaxon-pmps-10-7-3-16-1-6-15-9.249299/

If could you add your SS to your signature, that would be great - then you don't have to post it every day :)

So I am not allowed to use this sheet here?
I believe that SS is one that crashes on certain devices... @Bandit's Mom would know for sure I think and could also switch your data over to a more stable SS - the SS here will also convert from mmol/L to mg/dL - because FDMB is based in the United States, we all "speak" in mg/dL. If you keep using that SS, you just may be limiting those who can help (i.e. those where the sheet doesn't crash on their device and those that "speak" in mmol/L).

When you have time, I'd read through the The Basics: New to the Group? Start here! sticky - it's A LOT of info. So just post your questions and lots of people can help!

And, FWIW, I'm not sure about your day 1 of data...sure does look a little inverted but personally I'd keep testing, post questions, and let the depot build unless a reduction is earned in which case you'd reduce. Have you had a chace to look at the dosing methods? If no dry food in the picture, the choice is yours; if there is dry food, you'll want to go with SLGS for safety.

Hope that helps some - hang in there - the learning curve is steep! Jaxon is so lucky to have you looking out for him!

 
First, NO kibble at all except his treat (Friskies Party Mix treats) for testing. Has not touched kibble since diagnosis in November
Second, I do not see a difference in the sheets, it is frustrating that I would need to maintain two google drive sheets. I am not sure what SS sheet is?
 
If you are worried about the effort involved in setting up a new SS, I can do it for you and copy all the data. :)
My problem at the moment is that not only do I need to copy the data but I need to CONVERT it as well to the US units. My meter does NOT have the ability to change the units at all.
 
My problem at the moment is that not only do I need to copy the data but I need to CONVERT it as well to the US units. My meter does NOT have the ability to change the units at all.
You don't need to do anything! :)

I will set up the spreadsheet according to our format and copy all the data for you. Our spreadsheet also has a US tab and the values from the World/mmol tab are AUTOMATICALLY converted to US mg/dl!

You will continue to enter data like you are doing now in the World tab.
 
Our ss (spreadsheet) will convert the numbers for you. I’m one of the ones that often helps and your ss will crash after I open it.

I can’t even get to it.
 
Someone earlier said that the sheet would do the conversion, I do not see any sign of it doing that .... I enter the number and it is still in the units I entered
 
Someone earlier said that the sheet would do the conversion, I do not see any sign of it doing that .... I enter the number and it is still in the units I entered
It will be needs to be our ss. Bhoona will fix it all later if you let her. She’s headed to bed now as she’s in India.
 
There it is converted to the sheet used on this forum.

For ease of US members, this is my converted data from this post and my previous post (which has an AMPS from BEFORE I started insulin) as well as my first readings after insulin

06/30 Jaxon AMPS 317 PMPS 193 +3 290 +6 286
07/01 Jaxon AMPS 191 +3 297 +6 293
 
Welcome, Allison and Jaxon. Good job with getting the spreadsheet set up (thanks Bhooma). There is a lot to learn but you will have no regrets joining this site. These people are amazing at helping us understand and navigate the feline diabetes and get our kitties into the the best numbers. I'm looking forward to following your journey too.
 
Great. She fixed it. Have you been doing weekly curves? When you have time it would be supper helpful to input tests just for the last 2 weeks. If not that’s okay too. Besides amps and pmps are you getting one more test each cycle and if so around when. Many of us find it helpful to get a test around +2 and if lower than the pretest one more test later in the cycle. When does Jaxon usually nadir? How long has he been at the .50 dose?
 
Great. She fixed it. Have you been doing weekly curves? When you have time it would be supper helpful to input tests just for the last 2 weeks. If not that’s okay too. Besides amps and pmps are you getting one more test each cycle and if so around when. Many of us find it helpful to get a test around +2 and if lower than the pretest one more test later in the cycle. When does Jaxon usually nadir? How long has he been at the .50 dose?
No I have never done (nor had the vet do) a curve. The vet had originally only told me to test once a week ... once I got a meter that was working better (smaller sample size), I did it once a day for a week.

I recently had to start feeding him 4 hrs apart (before starting insulin) because he was getting hungry between the meals when done 3 times a day. At that time, I was usually doing the test just at the 7am feeding (after a 8hr fast). The occasional PM test was when I could not get a test done in the morning so I did it in the afternoon. I am currently trying to get a test done every 3 hours, except overnight when I test up to +6. I have only done insulin since YESTERDAY (June 30) at 7pm EST. I also do not have a lot of strips at the moment (waiting on an order) so I cannot tests every 2 hours right now.

My vet prescribed 1 unit BID, I am doing 0.5 units as recommended in the dosing instructions on this forum (SLGS) because he is on LC wet food.

The data on the sheet is ALL the data I have gathered via home testing and the labs sheet is from when diagnosed
 
That is great that Jaxon is on l/c wet food. We will work with you. His numbers are not bad considering you are just starting insulin. The data you have gathered is very helpful. I'll let other more knowledgeable people advise you.
 
He was moved from his old kibble IMMEDIATELY .... at first I tried a food by Merrick but I could not afford to keep up with that one so switched to Fancy Feast (mainly pates, he prefers the fish ones but I have added some other flavors over the 6 months since diagnosis). The other group I follow on Facebook directed to the Catinfo.net food lists and my vet had given me a list of acceptable LC foods as well but no data, just the brand & flavors
 
Catinfo.net food lists
That's a great list to follow! So we try to feed low carb (LC) - anything with 10% or less carbs - and most of us stick to 5% or lower. The Fancy Feast pates are great, affordable choices.

If you don't have it already, you will also want to have some medium carb (MC) and high carb (HC) food on hand. MC food is 11-15% and HC food is >15%. Personally, I used Fancy Feast gravy lovers - chicken feast and turkey feast are 15% and beef feast is 20% (I used to buy the variety pack like this one - link). Honey and/or Karo syrup is good to have on hand to - here's a link to they "hypo kit" list - Jojo's Hypo Tool box
 
That's a great list to follow! So we try to feed low carb (LC) - anything with 10% or less carbs - and most of us stick to 5% or lower. The Fancy Feast pates are great, affordable choices.

If you don't have it already, you will also want to have some medium carb (MC) and high carb (HC) food on hand. MC food is 11-15% and HC food is >15%. Personally, I used Fancy Feast gravy lovers - chicken feast and turkey feast are 15% and beef feast is 20% (I used to buy the variety pack like this one - link). Honey and/or Karo syrup is good to have on hand to - here's a link to they "hypo kit" list - Jojo's Hypo Tool box

What I have in for hypo: honey, fancy feast with gravy (gravy lovers box). I do not have corn syrup (karo is a brand I believe) but I do usually have honey in the house for my medicinal teas (cannot use most cough medicines due to my own medical issues) ....

This is the list my vet gave me: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RmiUKv6YkXijtmaaDeBucHr8UwH3tnko/view?usp=sharing
 
I should note, the highlighted ones are ones from their list that I have (or am currently) feeding ... I am going to be switching to Friskies because he needs a larger amount of calories to maintain his current weight now that he is at the goal weight my vet wanted .... it is slightly higher than the weight loss calories and to keep it within budget, it is easier to switch to a food with (a) larger cans and (b) higher calories per can. I AM of course keeping to the LC choices from the lists I have
 
I should note, the highlighted ones are ones from their list that I have (or am currently) feeding ... I am going to be switching to Friskies because he needs a larger amount of calories to maintain his current weight now that he is at the goal weight my vet wanted .... it is slightly higher than the weight loss calories and to keep it within budget, it is easier to switch to a food with (a) larger cans and (b) higher calories per can. I AM of course keeping to the LC choices from the lists I have
Sounds like you have a pretty good handle on food :bighug: That's nice your vet has that list - mine had Jax on Hill's w/d (29% carb :facepalm:). Also, as Jaxon becomes regulated, he should be able to process calories more efficiently so, in theory, his caloric intake will go down (my Jax loved food and believed every meal was his last sooo this was a hard battle for him :joyful:)

honey works! glad you have it in case you ever need it!

and, FWIW, I'm not sure if you have had time to check the dosing methods yet but in both cases you'll hold the initial dose for 5-7 days while the depot builds (unless of course a reduction is earned).

You're doing great taking this all in and taking care of Jaxon :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree with Susanne. You have a good handle on this situation from the "get go" and it sounds like your vet is pretty knowledgeable about what is required with a diabetic cat. That is unusual. A lot of us on this site get really bad info from our vets. Glad you are prepared with the honey if your kitty ever drops low. I look forward to Jaxon's progress on this site. Can you tell us where you live? Just so we have people in the same time range to assist you when you need advice. I may have missed that.
 
I agree with Susanne. You have a good handle on this situation from the "get go" and it sounds like your vet is pretty knowledgeable about what is required with a diabetic cat. That is unusual. A lot of us on this site get really bad info from our vets. Glad you are prepared with the honey if your kitty ever drops low. I look forward to Jaxon's progress on this site. Can you tell us where you live? Just so we have people in the same time range to assist you when you need advice. I may have missed that.

I have had to ignore a few things my vet has said … they are adamant that I have to only feed him every 12 hours, and initially they were insisting that his dose be 1.5 units BID … I did read the dosing info on here, that is why he is only at 0.5 units BID. I will hold it for 5-7 days unless something drastic happens that requires I change the dose (also as instructed in the guides here). I looked at the TR method but as I have no way to test his keytones, I opted for the other method. The other thing I ignored them on is the need to test BEFORE each dose in addition to the +6 hour mark. I REFUSE to shoot blind and strongly disagreed with the tech/vet's insistence that cats are treated differently than humans in that regard.

The other advantages I had are (a) have 2 terms of practical nursing training and (b) have friends and family who are diabetics ... and (c) am insulin resistant myself so familar with the importance of testing blood sugar and just needed to learn how to do the testing on a cat :)
 
I understand as a depot insulin it is going to be a bit before I see the typical "curve" in his numbers becoming visible .... but I cannot worry that I am not actually giving him insulin (cause 0.5 units is quite hard to actually SEE in the syringe) .... since his numbers have not changed much at all in the 2 cycles I have been monitoring more closely
 
test his keytones
Testing for ketones is a good idea regardless of dosing method; diabetic cats are more prone to them and they can develop very quickly - FWIW, I knew very little about them before Jax was diagnosed with diabetes. Here's some info on them - Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones - I also like this older page due to the graphic on it - Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood/Ketone Meters.

You just need human urine ketone strips which you should be able to get at any pharmacy (ketostix is a popular brand but there are others); I think another Canadian member mentioned they got them at SaveOn but I'm sure there are other places you can find them. You then you have catch Jaxon in the act - Tips to catch and test a urine sample.

TR allows faster increases than SLGS - which means kitty spends less time in higher numbers and it helps to break through any glucose toxicity (i.e. where kitty thinks the higher numbers are "normal"); TR doesn't allow for dry food (which I understand you aren't feeding) whereas SLGS does. If you start with SLGS and want to change to TR (or vice-versa), you can - it's just not advised to mix the two dosing methods. Whichever one you choose, it's good practice to add it to your signature and then to the top of your spreadsheet.

cause 0.5 units is quite hard to actually SEE in the syringe
Totally! Do you have syringes with half unit markings? Sorry if someone has asked this before...In Canada, I think you need the BD Ultrafine II (purple and yellow box) syringes.

shoot blind
Your instincts sound great! I always found it alarming vets don't advise to test but a human doctor would never ever say that to a patient.
 
I cannot afford to have to get another monitor. I managed to get the one I am using because I have my own script for one and had not gotten a new one in 5+ years (it works fine for ME but sample size was larger and at the time I was having trouble getting a good sample consistently). I am working on a disability income at the moment, so funds are rather tight. Thankfully I have access to a low income vet and as others have said, my vet clinic is decent for MOST areas of the situation.
 
I cannot afford to have to get another monitor.
I'm sorry if something I said caused you to think you need another monitor. Your blood glucose monitor is great :bighug:

Are you perhaps confused because I mentioned urine ketone strips? They are pieces of paper you stick in a urine stream (or cup of urine) and then read the result based on thee color (usually within 10-15 seconds). I'll link one option from Walmart.ca - link - if you pick them up, read the instructions carefully as each brand is specific on how much time to wait before reading (if you wait too long, the color darkens, giving an inaccurate result). Hope that clarifies things :bighug:
 
I'm sorry if something I said caused you to think you need another monitor. Your blood glucose monitor is great :bighug:

Are you perhaps confused because I mentioned urine ketone strips? They are pieces of paper you stick in a urine stream (or cup of urine) and then read the result based on thee color (usually within 10-15 seconds). I'll link one option from Walmart.ca - link - if you pick them up, read the instructions carefully as each brand is specific on how much time to wait before reading (if you wait too long, the color darkens, giving an inaccurate result). Hope that clarifies things :bighug:

I thought you meant the ketone test monitors, I had heard about the strips .... do not know anything about them, are they anything like those test strips used for testing aquarium water (in how they work that is, that you dip them in a fresh urine sample and they change colour?
 
Realized you somewhat answered me before I asked .... sorry about that, when I clicked the link they do sorta look like those aquarium test strips, but are they accurate? I know the ones for aquariums are generally not ...
 
I thought you meant the ketone test monitors, I had heard about the strips .... do not know anything about them, are they anything like those test strips used for testing aquarium water (in how they work that is, that you dip them in a fresh urine sample and they change colour?
Yup. You can get ketostix that can be used to test urine for ketones. Something like this:
https://diabetesexpress.ca/products/bayer-ketostix

Here are Tips to catch and test a urine sample
 
Back
Top