The reason we ask you to change is because it crashes on a lot phones and tablets.So I am not allowed to use this sheet here?
Just linking to your other post too - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-30-jaxon-pmps-10-7-3-16-1-6-15-9.249299/I believe that SS is one that crashes on certain devices... @Bandit's Mom would know for sure I think and could also switch your data over to a more stable SS - the SS here will also convert from mmol/L to mg/dL - because FDMB is based in the United States, we all "speak" in mg/dL. If you keep using that SS, you just may be limiting those who can help (i.e. those where the sheet doesn't crash on their device and those that "speak" in mmol/L).So I am not allowed to use this sheet here?
If you are worried about the effort involved in setting up a new SS, I can do it for you and copy all the data.That sheet looks IDENTICAL to my sheet. What is different about it?
My problem at the moment is that not only do I need to copy the data but I need to CONVERT it as well to the US units. My meter does NOT have the ability to change the units at all.If you are worried about the effort involved in setting up a new SS, I can do it for you and copy all the data.![]()
You don't need to do anything!My problem at the moment is that not only do I need to copy the data but I need to CONVERT it as well to the US units. My meter does NOT have the ability to change the units at all.
It will be needs to be our ss. Bhoona will fix it all later if you let her. She’s headed to bed now as she’s in India.Someone earlier said that the sheet would do the conversion, I do not see any sign of it doing that .... I enter the number and it is still in the units I entered
"If you are anywhere other than the US, please click on this link for the World Spreadsheet Template for HUMAN METERS:Found it .... it is NOT the one listed in the spreadsheet page had to hunt for it a bit .....
I got the same message when I first tried but I clicked on the "allow access" and now I can see the spreadsheet.I clicked on your link but it says I need permission to access.
No I have never done (nor had the vet do) a curve. The vet had originally only told me to test once a week ... once I got a meter that was working better (smaller sample size), I did it once a day for a week.Great. She fixed it. Have you been doing weekly curves? When you have time it would be supper helpful to input tests just for the last 2 weeks. If not that’s okay too. Besides amps and pmps are you getting one more test each cycle and if so around when. Many of us find it helpful to get a test around +2 and if lower than the pretest one more test later in the cycle. When does Jaxon usually nadir? How long has he been at the .50 dose?
That's a great list to follow! So we try to feed low carb (LC) - anything with 10% or less carbs - and most of us stick to 5% or lower. The Fancy Feast pates are great, affordable choices.Catinfo.net food lists
That's a great list to follow! So we try to feed low carb (LC) - anything with 10% or less carbs - and most of us stick to 5% or lower. The Fancy Feast pates are great, affordable choices.
If you don't have it already, you will also want to have some medium carb (MC) and high carb (HC) food on hand. MC food is 11-15% and HC food is >15%. Personally, I used Fancy Feast gravy lovers - chicken feast and turkey feast are 15% and beef feast is 20% (I used to buy the variety pack like this one - link). Honey and/or Karo syrup is good to have on hand to - here's a link to they "hypo kit" list - Jojo's Hypo Tool box
Sounds like you have a pretty good handle on foodI should note, the highlighted ones are ones from their list that I have (or am currently) feeding ... I am going to be switching to Friskies because he needs a larger amount of calories to maintain his current weight now that he is at the goal weight my vet wanted .... it is slightly higher than the weight loss calories and to keep it within budget, it is easier to switch to a food with (a) larger cans and (b) higher calories per can. I AM of course keeping to the LC choices from the lists I have
That's nice your vet has that list - mine had Jax on Hill's w/d (29% carb
). Also, as Jaxon becomes regulated, he should be able to process calories more efficiently so, in theory, his caloric intake will go down (my Jax loved food and believed every meal was his last sooo this was a hard battle for him
)honey works! glad you have it in case you ever need it!honey



I agree with Susanne. You have a good handle on this situation from the "get go" and it sounds like your vet is pretty knowledgeable about what is required with a diabetic cat. That is unusual. A lot of us on this site get really bad info from our vets. Glad you are prepared with the honey if your kitty ever drops low. I look forward to Jaxon's progress on this site. Can you tell us where you live? Just so we have people in the same time range to assist you when you need advice. I may have missed that.
Testing for ketones is a good idea regardless of dosing method; diabetic cats are more prone to them and they can develop very quickly - FWIW, I knew very little about them before Jax was diagnosed with diabetes. Here's some info on them - Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones - I also like this older page due to the graphic on it - Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood/Ketone Meters.test his keytones
Totally! Do you have syringes with half unit markings? Sorry if someone has asked this before...In Canada, I think you need the BD Ultrafine II (purple and yellow box) syringes.cause 0.5 units is quite hard to actually SEE in the syringe
Your instincts sound great! I always found it alarming vets don't advise to test but a human doctor would never ever say that to a patient.shoot blind
I'm sorry if something I said caused you to think you need another monitor. Your blood glucose monitor is greatI cannot afford to have to get another monitor.


I'm sorry if something I said caused you to think you need another monitor. Your blood glucose monitor is great
Are you perhaps confused because I mentioned urine ketone strips? They are pieces of paper you stick in a urine stream (or cup of urine) and then read the result based on thee color (usually within 10-15 seconds). I'll link one option from Walmart.ca - link - if you pick them up, read the instructions carefully as each brand is specific on how much time to wait before reading (if you wait too long, the color darkens, giving an inaccurate result). Hope that clarifies things![]()
Yup. You can get ketostix that can be used to test urine for ketones. Something like this:I thought you meant the ketone test monitors, I had heard about the strips .... do not know anything about them, are they anything like those test strips used for testing aquarium water (in how they work that is, that you dip them in a fresh urine sample and they change colour?